yes, therapy helps!
Cariprazine: uses and side effects of this psychopharmaceutical

Cariprazine: uses and side effects of this psychopharmaceutical

August 10, 2022

Psychotic disorders, with schizophrenia as the main and most recognized representative, are one of the types of mental disorder that generates the greatest amount of suffering and functional alteration in the lives of people who suffer from it.

Finding a treatment that palliates the symptoms and maintains stability in these subjects has been the goal of a large amount of research from different disciplines. Pharmacology is one of them, having synthesized different substances that diminish or temporarily eliminate the psychotic symptomatology. We are talking about antipsychotics. One of them, approved in 2015, is Cariprazine .


  • Related article: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

Cariprazine as an antipsychotic

Cariprazine is a substance made and approved by the FDA in 2015, classified as an atypical antipsychotic . It is a substance with great effectiveness and developed for the purpose of suppressing or reducing psychotic symptoms, both at the level of symptoms that increase activity or add elements to the patient's usual functionality (called positive symptoms), such as hallucinations, delusions, restlessness or destructuring of thought.

However, this drug seems to be more effective than other drugs such as risperidone in the treatment of negative symptoms. A) Yes, has greater effect on those symptoms that reduce the level of activation of the patient , such as the poverty of thought or the apathy and anhedonia or inability to motivate or feel pleasure.


  • You may be interested: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

Mechanism of action

Cariprazine is considered an atypical or second generation antipsychotic. As such, it generates an affectation in brain neurochemistry by altering the dopaminergic and serotonergic systems. Unlike most antipsychotics, which block brain dopamine, cariprazine is considered a partial agonist of said neurotransmitter (ie, they generate an effect similar to what endogenous dopamine would have), something that has been associated with the improvement in the negative symptomatology generated by the deficit of this hormone at the mesocortical level.

Also, at the level of serotonin we find that it exerts different roles depending on the recipient in question. It acts as a partial agonist of the 5-HT1a receptor, which influences the reduction of dopamine synthesis in some brain areas, while acting as an antagonist of the 5-HT2a and 5-HT2b receptors (which on the other hand generates an increase in dopamine levels in the mesocortical pathway). Also also affects, although in a rather minor way, the noradrenergic and histaminergic system , something that can influence when generating side effects.


Main uses

The main indication that cariprazine has is schizophrenia , in which it seems to have a high level of effectiveness in the treatment of both positive and negative symptoms. It is also common in other disorders of the psychotic type, especially in those with delusions, agitation and hallucinations.

It has also been indicated for some cases of bipolar disorder. Specifically, its use has been approved in the presence of acute manic or mixed episodes, contributing to reduce the current level of hyperactivation and the excessively expansive mood.

Although it does not have such action yet, the possible application of this drug in cases of depression is still to be investigated (both unipolar and in the depressive episodes of bipolar disorder) or even in autism, similar to what happens with aripiprazole and risperidone.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Side effects and contraindications

Although very effective in the treatment of different conditions and mental disorders, cariprazine is a substance that can also generate different side effects and even be totally contraindicated (or require extreme regulation) for some specific population types.

Regarding side effects, It is usual to generate drowsiness and weight gain , being the most frequent and known symptoms. However, it can also cause agitation, dizziness, problems urinating or defecating, stomach problems such as indigestion, hypersalivation or blurred vision. In addition to this other more serious problems that may require medical attention is the possible experimentation of convulsions, muscular weakness, dark coloration of the urine (due to the problems of urination), loss of facial expression, falls, hyperthermia or alterations of consciousness, tachycardias , hyperglycemia and hypotension.

Some motor symptoms such as tremors and involuntary movements (such as those of dyskinesia) are also possible. As with the rest of antipsychotics or neuroleptics also we must be careful with the possible appearance of neuroleptic malignant syndrome , with deadly potential.

Regarding contraindications, as with many other antipsychotics, people with other pharmacological treatments should be especially careful with this medication, especially in the case of antidepressants, since there are a large number of medicinal substances that can interact with cariprazine. . Diabetic people should be especially careful, as it is common for this drug to generate elevations of blood sugar leading to hyperglycemia.

Likewise should be avoided by patients with cardiovascular disorders , who have suffered some type of stroke or who have dementia (multiplying the risk of mortality in this case). It should also be avoided during pregnancy, requiring a consultation with the doctor to assess alternatives, as it can be a risk for the appearance of malformations or alterations in the fetus.

Bibliographic references

  • Németh, G .; Laszlovsky, I .; Czobor, P. et al (2017). Cariprazine versus risperidone monotherapy for treatment of predominantly negative symptoms in patients with schizophrenia: a randomized, double-blind, controlled trial. Lancet.

Antipsychotics: Classification and Side Effects – Psychiatry | Lecturio (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cariprazine: usages et effets secondaires de ce psychopharmaceutique

Cariprazine: usages et effets secondaires de ce psychopharmaceutique

Septembre 7, 2022

Les troubles psychotiques, dont la schizophrénie est le représentant principal et le plus reconnu, sont l’un des types de troubles mentaux générant le plus de souffrances et d’altérations fonctionnelles dans la vie des personnes qui en souffrent.

Trouver un traitement qui pallie les symptômes et maintient la stabilité chez ces sujets a été l’objectif de nombreuses recherches dans différentes disciplines. La pharmacologie en est un, elle a synthétisé différentes substances qui diminuent ou éliminent temporairement la symptomatologie psychotique. Nous parlons d'antipsychotiques. L’un d’eux, approuvé en 2015, est Cariprazine .


  • Article connexe: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

Cariprazine comme antipsychotique

Cariprazine est une substance fabriquée et approuvée par la FDA en 2015, classée antipsychotique atypique . C’est une substance extrêmement efficace, développée dans le but de supprimer ou de réduire les symptômes psychotiques, aussi bien au niveau des symptômes qui augmentent l’activité ou ajoutent des éléments à la fonctionnalité habituelle du patient (appelés symptômes positifs), tels que des hallucinations, illusions, agitation ou déstructuration de la pensée.

Cependant, ce médicament semble être plus efficace que d'autres médicaments tels que la rispéridone dans le traitement des symptômes négatifs. Ainsi, a un effet plus important sur les symptômes qui réduisent le niveau d'activation du patient , comme la pauvreté de la pensée ou l'apathie et l'anhédonie ou l'incapacité de motiver ou de ressentir du plaisir.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

Mécanisme d'action

La cariprazine est considérée comme un antipsychotique atypique ou de deuxième génération. En tant que tel, il génère une incidence sur la neurochimie du cerveau en modifiant les systèmes dopaminergique et sérotoninergique. Contrairement à la plupart des antipsychotiques, qui bloquent la dopamine dans le cerveau, la cariprazine est considérée un agoniste partiel dudit neurotransmetteur (c’est-à-dire qu’elles génèrent un effet similaire à ce que la dopamine endogène aurait), ce qui a été associé à l’amélioration de la symptomatologie négative générée par le déficit de cette hormone au niveau mésocortical.

En outre, au niveau de la sérotonine, nous constatons que celle-ci exerce différents rôles en fonction du receveur en question. Il agit comme un agoniste partiel du récepteur 5-HT1a, qui influe sur la réduction de la synthèse de la dopamine dans certaines zones du cerveau, tout en agissant en tant qu'antagoniste des récepteurs 5-HT2a et 5-HT2b (qui, en revanche, entraîne une augmentation de la niveaux de dopamine dans la voie mésocorticale). Aussi aussi affecte, bien que de façon relativement mineure, le système noradrénergique et histaminergique , quelque chose qui peut influencer lors de la génération des effets secondaires.


Principales utilisations

La schizophrénie est la principale indication de la cariprazine. , dans lequel il semble avoir un haut niveau d'efficacité dans le traitement des symptômes tant positifs que négatifs. Il est également fréquent dans d'autres troubles de type psychotique, en particulier ceux atteints de délires, d'agitation et d'hallucinations.

Il a également été indiqué pour certains cas de trouble bipolaire. Plus précisément, son utilisation a été approuvée en présence d'épisodes maniaques aigus ou mixtes, contribuant à réduire le niveau actuel d'hyperactivation et l'humeur excessivement expansive.

Bien qu’il n’ait pas encore une telle action, l'application possible de ce médicament en cas de dépression reste à étudier (à la fois unipolaire et dans les épisodes dépressifs du trouble bipolaire) ou même dans l'autisme, similaire à ce qui se passe avec l'aripiprazole et la rispéridone.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Effets secondaires et contre-indications

Bien que très efficace dans le traitement de différentes conditions et de divers troubles mentaux, la cariprazine est une substance qui peut également générer des effets secondaires différents et même être totalement contre-indiquée (ou nécessiter une régulation extrême) pour certains types de population.

En ce qui concerne les effets secondaires, Il est habituel de générer de la somnolence et un gain de poids , étant les symptômes les plus fréquents et connus. Cependant, il peut aussi causer de l'agitation, des vertiges, des problèmes d'urination ou de défécation, des problèmes d'estomac tels qu'une indigestion, une hypersalivation ou une vision floue. En plus de ces autres problèmes plus graves qui peuvent nécessiter une attention médicale, il est possible d’expérimenter des convulsions, une faiblesse musculaire, une coloration foncée de l’urine (due à des problèmes de miction), une perte d’expression du visage, des chutes, une hyperthermie ou des troubles de la conscience, des tachycardies , hyperglycémie et hypotension.

Certains symptômes moteurs tels que les tremblements et les mouvements involontaires (tels que ceux de la dyskinésie) sont également possibles. Comme avec le reste des antipsychotiques ou des neuroleptiques, il faut être prudent avec l'apparition possible du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques , avec un potentiel mortel.

En ce qui concerne les contre-indications, comme avec beaucoup d'autres antipsychotiques, les personnes sous d'autres traitements pharmacologiques doivent être particulièrement prudentes avec ce médicament, en particulier dans le cas des antidépresseurs, car un grand nombre de substances médicamenteuses peuvent interagir avec la cariprazine. . Les personnes diabétiques doivent être particulièrement prudentes, car il est courant que ce médicament génère des élévations de la glycémie menant à une hyperglycémie.

De même à éviter chez les patients présentant des troubles cardiovasculaires , qui ont subi un type d'accident vasculaire cérébral ou une démence (multipliant le risque de mortalité dans ce cas). Il doit également être évité pendant la grossesse, ce qui nécessitera une consultation du médecin pour évaluer les solutions de remplacement, car cela peut entraîner l'apparition de malformations ou d'altérations du fœtus.

Références bibliographiques

  • Németh, G .; Laszlovsky, I .; Czobor, P. et al (2017). Cariprazine versus rispéridone en monothérapie pour le traitement des symptômes principalement négatifs chez les patients atteints de schizophrénie: essai contrôlé randomisé en double aveugle. Lancet.

Abilify (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes