yes, therapy helps!
Conservative people: these 7 traits define them

Conservative people: these 7 traits define them

October 23, 2020

The conservative people are those who, in short, assume that until proven otherwise, the tradition dictates what are the rules to follow in a society. However, neither his interpretation of reality goes through such literal statements, nor does this idea serve to detect conservatism where it lives, something useful to know the way of being of individuals and groups.

In this article we will focus on the characteristics of conservative people .

  • Related article: "The philosophical theory of Edmund Burke"

The beliefs and traits of conservative people

Each country and culture harbors a different kind of conservatism, so it is important to keep in mind that conservative people are attending to several nuances.


However, there are a number of typical characteristics that are usually a good indicator of whether traditions have relevance to someone. Let's see them

1. Essentialist view of things

Conservative people tend to believe in essences, that is, in the idea that all things, animals, landscapes and people have an immaterial element that gives them identity.

From this perspective, it is not necessary to argue why certain things should continue to exist as they did so far, since to bet on the opposite option would be to go against the essences. This is usually reflected in the way they use language and, specifically, to his appeals to what is "natural" and "unnatural" , expressions that mean nothing beyond expressing opposition to a reform or recent alteration of something (examples: laws in favor of same-sex marriage, appearance of new technologies, etc.).


  • Related article: "The 4 types of ideology that exist, and the values ​​they defend"

2. Emphasis on the nuclear family model

For sociological reasons, in countries with a Western tradition, conservative people defend a model of coexistence based on the nuclear family, that is, one composed of husband, wife and sons and daughters. The reason is that, from this way of seeing things, it is the most balanced way of transmit the culture that must be inherited by future generations , although there is no evidence that this is the case.

3. Defense of gender roles

Another feature of conservative people is that they oppose any measure that promotes gender equality from a collectivist perspective, that is, from institutions and associations. The reason is, in part, the essentialism that we saw in the previous point, and in part the rejection of the possibility of their customs being questioned.


Thus, it is assumed that women have a role in managing family resources , as well as of breeding and reproduction, while man must have the material and financial power of the family.

On the other hand, homophobia is common among conservative people, going from extremes in which people are assaulted for their sexuality, to the defense that homosexuals should not be assaulted but should have fewer rights (adoption, kissing). public, etc.).

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to stop being homophobic and accept the difference"

4. Respect for the ancestors

The respect to the ancestors in what vertebra the concept of town or nation that contributes good part of the identity to the conservative people. This means that is born with certain responsibilities and obligations not with the rest of our fellow citizens, but also with those who have long since died but are connected to us by family ties.

5. Association between morality and religion

Conservative people, even those who are not practicing religious, defend the idea that the morality of society emanates from religion and that it is good that this is so. That means that it is assumed that believers in other religions or atheists do not have the same ability to discriminate between good and evil.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of religion (and their differences in beliefs and ideas)"

6. Nationalism

Nationalism is the idea that there is an unbreakable union between a people and a specific territory, and that everything that attempts against this union must be combated. This, which is also a consequence of the typically conservative essentialism, makes everything that is considered "foreign" only tolerated to certain limits by the simple fact of being one, on the one hand, and to try to suppress the customs of minorities belonging to cultures that historically have lived within the limits of what is considered "a single nation".

7. Defense of willpower

In conservatism, it is very common to assume that things occur due to the presence or absence of willpower, whether individual or collective.Therefore, the interpretation of reality responds more to what is believed to be legitimate than to what is believed that, put into practice, it can work, since it is assumed that if enough people want something, that will inevitably happen. .

It is an idea that appears at attribute human characteristics to society , as if intentions and desires were in themselves what makes social phenomena advance.


Liberal vs Conservative: 24 Hours Side By Side (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Peuple conservateur: ces 7 traits les définissent

Peuple conservateur: ces 7 traits les définissent

Octobre 25, 2021

Les conservateurs sont ceux qui, en résumé, supposent que, jusqu'à preuve du contraire, la tradition dicte quelles sont les règles à suivre dans une société. Cependant, ni son interprétation de la réalité ne passe par de telles déclarations littérales, ni cette idée ne sert à détecter le conservatisme où il vit, quelque chose d’utile pour connaître la manière d’être des individus et des groupes.

Dans cet article, nous allons nous concentrer sur les caractéristiques des conservateurs .

  • Article connexe: "La théorie philosophique d'Edmund Burke"

Les croyances et les traits des conservateurs

Chaque pays et chaque culture recourent à un type de conservatisme différent, il est donc important de garder à l'esprit que les conservateurs tiennent à plusieurs nuances.


Cependant, un certain nombre de caractéristiques typiques sont généralement un bon indicateur de la pertinence des traditions pour quelqu'un. Voyons les

1. Vision essentialiste des choses

Les conservateurs ont tendance à croire aux essences, c'est-à-dire à l'idée que tout, les animaux, les paysages et les hommes possèdent un élément immatériel qui leur donne une identité.

De ce point de vue, il n'est pas nécessaire d'argumenter pourquoi certaines choses devraient continuer à exister comme elles l'ont été jusqu'à présent, car miser sur l'option opposée reviendrait à aller à l'encontre des impératifs. Cela se reflète généralement dans la façon dont ils utilisent la langue et, en particulier, dans ses appels à ce qui est "naturel" et "contre nature" , expressions qui ne veulent rien dire au-delà de l’opposition à une réforme ou à une modification récente de quelque chose (exemples: lois favorables au mariage entre personnes du même sexe, apparition de nouvelles technologies, etc.).


  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d’idéologie existants et les valeurs qu’ils défendent"

2. Accent mis sur le modèle de famille nucléaire

Pour des raisons sociologiques, dans les pays de tradition occidentale, les conservateurs défendent un modèle de coexistence basé sur la famille nucléaire, c'est-à-dire composée d'un mari, d'une femme et de fils et de filles. La raison en est que, de ce point de vue, c’est le moyen le plus équilibré de transmettre la culture qui doit être héritée par les générations futures , bien qu'il n'y ait aucune preuve que ce soit le cas.

3. Défense des rôles de genre

Une autre caractéristique des conservateurs est qu’ils s’opposent à toute mesure favorisant l’égalité des sexes dans une perspective collectiviste, c’est-à-dire des institutions et des associations. La raison en est, en partie, l'essentialisme que nous avons vu dans le point précédent et en partie le rejet de la possibilité que leurs coutumes soient remises en question.


Ainsi, on suppose que les femmes jouent un rôle dans la gestion des ressources familiales , ainsi que d’élevage et de reproduction, alors que l’homme doit disposer du pouvoir matériel et financier de la famille.

En revanche, l'homophobie est fréquente chez les conservateurs, allant des cas extrêmes d'agression sexuelle, à la défense que les homosexuels ne doivent pas être agressés mais doivent avoir moins de droits (adoption, baisers). public, etc.).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment arrêter d'être homophobe et accepter la différence"

4. Respect des ancêtres

Le respect des ancêtres dans quelle vertèbre le concept de ville ou de nation qui contribue une bonne partie de l'identité au peuple conservateur. Ceci signifie que est né avec certaines responsabilités et obligations pas avec le reste de nos concitoyens, mais aussi avec ceux qui sont morts depuis longtemps mais qui sont liés à nous par des liens familiaux.

5. Association entre morale et religion

Les conservateurs, même ceux qui ne pratiquent pas de religion, défendent l'idée que la moralité de la société émane de la religion et que c’est bien qu’il en soit ainsi. Cela signifie que l'on suppose que les croyants d'autres religions ou les athées n'ont pas la même capacité de faire la distinction entre le bien et le mal.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

6. nationalisme

Le nationalisme est l’idée qu’il existe une union incassable entre un peuple et un territoire spécifique et que tout ce qui tente de l’attaquer doit être combattu. Ceci, qui est aussi une conséquence de l’essentialisme typiquement conservateur, fait que tout ce qui est considéré comme "étranger" n’est toléré que dans certaines limites par le simple fait d’être un, d’une part, et essayer de supprimer les coutumes des minorités appartenant à des cultures ayant historiquement vécu dans les limites de ce qui est considéré comme "une seule nation".

7. Défense de la volonté

Dans le conservatisme, il est très courant de supposer que les choses se produisent du fait de la présence ou de l'absence de volonté, individuelle ou collective.Par conséquent, l’interprétation de la réalité répond davantage à ce que l’on pense légitime, qu’à ce que l’on pense que, dans la pratique, cela peut fonctionner, puisqu’on suppose que si suffisamment de personnes veulent quelque chose, cela se produira inévitablement. .

C'est une idée qui apparaît à attribuer des caractéristiques humaines à la société , comme si les intentions et les désirs étaient en eux-mêmes ce qui fait avancer les phénomènes sociaux.


The Cross of the Moment; climate change documentary (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes