yes, therapy helps!
Cornelia de Lange syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Cornelia de Lange syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

May 2, 2024

Genetic mutations are responsible for generating an immense amount of changes or variations between people. However, when these alterations occur in a series of determined genes they can lead to the appearance of diseases or congenital syndromes.

One of these conditions is the Cornelia de Lange syndrome , which is expressed through a series of physical and mental characteristics. In this article its manifestations, causes and diagnosis will be described.

  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

What is Cornelia de Lange syndrome?

The Cornelia de Lange syndrome (SCdL) is a congenital multiple malformation disease that is characterized by being hereditary in a dominant way and for causing an alteration in the development of the child.


This syndrome manifests through a very characteristic facial phenotype , a delay in growth both prenatally and postnatally and by a disorder of intellectual development or cognitive deficits that may occur to a variable degree.

Also, in many occasions people suffering from Cornelia de Lange Syndrome also suffer some type of abnormality or malformation in their upper extremities.

Three types of phenotypes can be distinguished according to the intensity of the symptoms: the severe phenotype, the moderate phenotype and the mild phenotype.

According to the different investigations, the prevalence of this syndrome is an affected person in between 45,000 and 62,000 births . However, most cases of Cornelia de Lange occur in families with dominant inheritance patterns.


Finally, estimating life expectancy is a very complicated task since it can vary from one person to another depending on the severity of the syndrome and the associated pathologies.

Traditionally, The main cause of death was related to a poor diagnosis of the disease and of the associated pathologies. However, thanks to medical advances, both in diagnosis and in treatments, they have managed to change this.

Clinical features

Within the distinctive physical features of this disease we find a weight below normal at birth, being below 2.2 kg . approximately. As well as a development of slow growth, a short stature and presence of microcephaly.

As far as the facial phenotype is concerned, this usually presents united eyebrows and with pronounced angles, small nose, large eyelashes and thin lips in an inverted "V" shape.


Other common signs of Cornelia de Lange syndrome are:

  • Hirsutism .
  • Small hands and feet
  • Partial fusion of the second and third toe.
  • Curved little fingers.
  • Esophageal reflux .
  • Convulsions
  • Cardiac abnormalities
  • Cleft palate .
  • Intestinal abnormalities.
  • Hearing loss and sight.

With regard to behavioral symptoms, children with Cornelia de Lange usually present self-injurious behaviors such as nibbling on their fingers, lips and upper extremities.

Causes

The causes of the Cornelia de Lange syndrome are purely genetic. Within these genetic causes there are two types of mutations that can cause this condition.

The main genetic alteration that has Cornelia de Lange as a consequence is a mutation in the NIPBL gene . However, there are other cases of this syndrome caused by mutations in the SMC1A and SMC3 genes and, to a lesser extent, the mutations found in the HDAC8 and RAD21 genes.

The NIPBL gene has a primordial role in human development It is already responsible for coding the protein front. This protein is one of those responsible for controlling the activity of chromosomes during the division of cells.

Likewise, the protein front mediates in the tasks of other genes in charge of the fetus to develop normally, specifically those genes responsible for the development of the tissues that will later form the extremities and the face.

  • You may be interested: "Seckel syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Diagnosis

There is not yet an established protocol for the diagnosis of Cornelia de Lange syndrome, and it is necessary to resort to clinical data. However, the clarity and visibility of the symptoms make it relatively easy to diagnose .

Through the study of characteristic facial features, the evaluation of intellectual performance and the measurement of pondoestatural growth can be carried out an effective diagnosis of this syndrome.

Although this diagnosis is relatively simple, there are a number of difficulties when dealing with conditions with a mild phenotype. The phenotypes that involve difficulties at the time of diagnosis are:

Mild phenotype

They are not usually diagnosed until after the neonatal period. In these cases abnormalities are not shown in the extremities and both the general phenotype and intelligence are not very altered.

Moderate or variable phenotype

In these cases, the great variability in both features and expressions makes diagnosis difficult.

Through the study of characteristic facial features, the evaluation of intellectual performance and the measurement of pondoestatural growth can be carried out an effective diagnosis of this syndrome.

Due to these difficulties, the diagnosis during the prenatal period is only plausible in siblings of people affected by the disease, when there is some type of anomaly in the family members, in cases of hydrocephalus or in intrauterine development delays evident in the ultrasound

What options or needs do people with SDdL have?

As mentioned above, the degree of intellectual development of people with Cornelia de Lange can vary from one to another, each of them will have the ability to prosper according to their personal possibilities and to the aids and supports that provide their family and social environment .

Unfortunately, both language and communication in general tend to be severely affected. Even in the mildest cases, the evolution of these aspects can be seriously compromised.

Due to the needs of children with Cornelia de Lange it is advisable to provide them with a calm and relaxed environment, eliminating any element that may be disturbing, distressing or threatening to the child. In this way it will be avoided to reinforce the tendencies to the hyperactivity, the irritability and the self-aggressive behaviors .

The main objective when interacting or living with children with Cornelia de Lange syndrome is to perceive and feel through the child's conditions, without forcing them to perceive things as we perceive them.


Cornelia de Lange Syndrome - CRASH! Medical Review Series (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Cornelia de Lange: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Cornelia de Lange: causes, symptômes et traitement

Septembre 21, 2021

Les mutations génétiques sont responsables de générer une quantité énorme de changements ou de variations entre les personnes. Cependant, lorsque ces altérations se produisent dans une série de gènes déterminés, elles peuvent entraîner l’apparition de maladies ou de syndromes congénitaux.

Une de ces conditions est le syndrome de Cornelia de Lange , qui s’exprime à travers une série de caractéristiques physiques et mentales. Dans cet article, ses manifestations, ses causes et son diagnostic seront décrits.

  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Cornelia de Lange?

Le syndrome de Cornelia de Lange (SCdL) est une maladie de malformation multiple congénitale qui se caractérise par être héréditaire de manière dominante et pour altérer le développement de l'enfant.


Ce syndrome se manifeste par un phénotype facial très caractéristique retard de croissance prénatale et postnatale et par un trouble du développement intellectuel ou des déficits cognitifs pouvant survenir à des degrés divers.

En outre, les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Cornelia de Lange souffrent souvent d’un type d’anomalie ou de malformation des membres supérieurs.

Trois types de phénotypes peuvent être distingués en fonction de l'intensité des symptômes: le phénotype sévère, le phénotype modéré et le phénotype modéré.

Selon les différentes enquêtes, la prévalence de ce syndrome est une personne touchée entre 45 000 et 62 000 naissances . Cependant, la plupart des cas de Cornelia de Lange surviennent dans des familles caractérisées par un héritage dominant.


Enfin, l'estimation de l'espérance de vie est une tâche très compliquée, car elle peut varier d'une personne à l'autre en fonction de la gravité du syndrome et des pathologies associées.

Traditionnellement La principale cause de décès était liée à un mauvais diagnostic de la maladie et des pathologies associées. Cependant, grâce aux progrès de la médecine, tant dans le diagnostic que dans les traitements, ils ont réussi à changer cela.

Caractéristiques cliniques

Parmi les caractéristiques physiques distinctives de cette maladie, nous trouvons un poids inférieur à la normale à la naissance, étant inférieur à 2,2 kg . environ. Ainsi que le développement de la croissance lente, une petite taille et la présence de microcéphalie.

En ce qui concerne le phénotype du visage, cela présente généralement des sourcils unis et avec des angles prononcés, un petit nez, de grands cils et des lèvres minces en forme de "V" inversé.


Les autres signes courants du syndrome de Cornelia de Lange sont:

  • Hirsutisme .
  • Petites mains et pieds
  • Fusion partielle des deuxième et troisième orteils.
  • Petits doigts courbés.
  • Reflux oesophagien .
  • Convulsions
  • Anomalies cardiaques
  • Fente palatine .
  • Anomalies intestinales.
  • Perte auditive et vue.

En ce qui concerne les symptômes comportementaux, les enfants atteints de Cornelia de Lange présentent généralement des comportements d'automutilation, tels que des morsures aux doigts, aux lèvres et aux membres supérieurs.

Les causes

Les causes du syndrome de Cornelia de Lange sont purement génétiques. Parmi ces causes génétiques, il existe deux types de mutations pouvant causer cette maladie.

La principale altération génétique de Cornelia de Lange est une mutation du gène NIPBL. . Cependant, il existe d'autres cas de ce syndrome provoqués par des mutations des gènes SMC1A et SMC3 et, dans une moindre mesure, par des mutations trouvées dans les gènes HDAC8 et RAD21.

Le gène NIPBL joue un rôle primordial dans le développement humain Il est déjà responsable du codage du front des protéines. Cette protéine est l'une de celles qui contrôlent l'activité des chromosomes lors de la division des cellules.

De même, le front protéique intervient dans les tâches d'autres gènes responsables du fœtus pour se développer normalement, en particulier les gènes responsables du développement des tissus qui formeront plus tard les extrémités et le visage.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Syndrome de Seckel: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Diagnostic

Il n’existe pas encore de protocole établi pour le diagnostic du syndrome de Cornelia de Lange et il est nécessaire de recourir à des données cliniques. Cependant, la clarté et la visibilité des symptômes rendent le diagnostic relativement facile .

Grâce à l’étude des traits caractéristiques du visage, l’évaluation des performances intellectuelles et la mesure de la croissance pondérale est un diagnostic efficace de ce syndrome.

Bien que ce diagnostic soit relativement simple, il existe un certain nombre de difficultés s’agissant de conditions caractérisées par un phénotype léger. Les phénotypes qui entraînent des difficultés au moment du diagnostic sont:

Phénotype doux

Ils ne sont généralement diagnostiqués qu'après la période néonatale. Dans ces cas, les anomalies ne sont pas montrées aux extrémités et le phénotype général et l'intelligence ne sont pas très altérés.

Phénotype modéré ou variable

Dans ces cas, la grande variabilité des caractéristiques et des expressions rend le diagnostic difficile.

À travers l’étude des traits caractéristiques du visage, l’évaluation de la performance intellectuelle et la mesure de la croissance pondérale est un diagnostic efficace de ce syndrome.

En raison de ces difficultés, le diagnostic pendant la période prénatale n’est plausible que chez les frères et soeurs des personnes touchées par la maladie, lorsque les membres de la famille présentent une anomalie, en cas d’hydrocéphalie ou de développement intra-utérin. échographie

Quelles sont les options ou les besoins des personnes atteintes de SDdL?

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le degré de développement intellectuel des personnes atteintes de Cornelia de Lange peut varier d’un individu à l’autre, chacune d’elles ayant la capacité de prospérer en fonction de ses possibilités personnelles et de la aides et soutiens qui fournissent à leur famille et environnement social .

Malheureusement, la langue et la communication en général ont tendance à être gravement affectées. Même dans les cas les plus bénins, l'évolution de ces aspects peut être sérieusement compromise.

En raison des besoins des enfants atteints de Cornelia de Lange, il est conseillé de leur fournir un environnement calme et détendu, en éliminant tout élément pouvant gêner, angoisser ou menacer l'enfant. De cette manière on évitera de renforcer les tendances à l'hyperactivité, à l'irritabilité et aux comportements auto-agressifs .

L'objectif principal lors des interactions ou du contact avec des enfants atteints du syndrome de Cornelia de Lange est de percevoir et de ressentir l'état de l'enfant, sans le forcer à percevoir les choses telles que nous les percevons.


Ensemble - ProRaris, contre les maladies orphelines. (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes