yes, therapy helps!
Cranial nerves: the 12 nerves that leave the brain

Cranial nerves: the 12 nerves that leave the brain

May 9, 2021

In general, it can be said that the human brain communicates with almost all the nerves of the brain through the spinal cord.

Thus, for example, the information that reaches us about what we touch with our hands is picked up by nerves that run along the arm until we reach the spinal cord, and from there to the brain, from where the order to continue examining the object will be issued. This efferent order will also leave the brain through the spinal cord, and it will reach the corresponding arm through the nerve fibers that come out of it.

However, this is not a rule that is always fulfilled, since there are also some nerves that come directly from the brain, without being born in the spinal cord. It's about cranial nerves, or cranial nerves , which arise from the lower part of the brain and reach their target areas through small holes distributed at the base of the skull. From these orifices, the cranial pairs communicate with peripheral areas.


In addition, although it may seem strange, not all these cranial nerves have the function of reaching areas and organs that are in the head. Some extend to the neck and even the abdomen area.

How are the cranial pairs classified and distributed?

The cranial nerves they are so called because they are counted in pairs, as there is one on both the right and left sides of the brain . Thus, there are twelve cranial nerves pointing to the right hemisphere and another twelve pointing to the left, symmetrically.

Each pair is numbered with a Roman numeral according to whether the position from which they leave the brain more or less near the frontal zone. In fact, the cranial nerves can be grouped and classified into categories according to two criteria : the place from which they start and their function.


Cranial pairs classified according to their position

  • Starting from areas that are above the brainstem are the pairs I and II .
  • Starting from the mesencephalon (the upper part of the brainstem), there are cranial pairs III and IV .
  • Starting from the Varolio bridge (or trunk-bridge), there are cranial nerves V, VI, VII and VIII .
  • Starting from the medulla oblongata (in the lower part of the brainstem) are the nerves IX, X, XI and XII .

Cranial cranial classified according to their function

  • Sensitive : pairs I, II and VIII.
  • Related to the movements of the eyes (and its parts) and the eyelids: cranial nerves III, IV and VI.
  • Related to the activation of muscles of the neck and tongue : the cranial pairs XI and XII.
  • Mixed cranial nerves : the pairs V, VII, IX and X.
  • Parasympathetic fibers : nerves III, VII, IX and X.


What are the cranial nerves?

We will now know what are the cranial pairs one by one, and their main functions.

1. Olfactory nerve (cranial nerve I)

As its name suggests, this cranial nerve is dedicated to transmit specifically nerve information about what is detected through the sense of smell , and therefore it is an afferent fiber. It is the shortest of the cranial pairs, since its place of destination is very close to the area of ​​the brain from which it arises.

2. Optic nerve (cranial pair II)

It is also part of the afferent fibers, and is responsible for transmitting to the brain the visual information that is collected from the eye . It arises from the diencephalon.

3. Oculomotor nerve (cranial nerve III)

Also know as common ocular motor nerve, this cranial nerve sends orders to the majority of muscles that are involved in the movement of the eyes , and causes the pupil to dilate or contract.

4. Trochlear nerve, or pathetic nerve (cranial nerve IV)

Like the oculomotor nerve, this cranial pair deals with the movement of the eyes . In particular, it sends signals to the superior oblique muscle of the eye. The place from which this pair of nerves arises is the mesencephalon.

5. Trigeminal nerve (cranial nerve V)

It is one of the mixed cranial nerves, because It has both motor and sensory functions . In its facet of motor nerve, it sends orders to muscles in charge of performing the movements of mastication, while as sensory cranial nerve it gathers tactile, proprioceptive and pain information from several areas of the face and mouth.

6. Abducent nerve (cranial nerve VI)

This is another of the cranial nerves responsible for making the eye move . In particular, it is responsible for producing abduction, that is, the eye moves to the opposite side to where the nose is.

7. Facial nerve (cranial nerve VII)

It is one of the mixed cranial nerves. It is responsible for sending orders to facial muscles dedicated to creating facial expressions (allowing thus to socialize and communicate correctly) as to the lacrimal and salivary glands. It also collects taste data from the language.

8. Vestibulocochlear nerve (cranial nerve VIII)

It is one of the sensory cranial nerves, and collects information from the auditory zone . Specifically, it receives data relative to what is heard and to the position in which we are in relation to the center of gravity, which allows us to maintain balance.

9. Glossopharyngeal nerve (cranial nerve IV)

It is a sensitive and motor nerve and, as its name suggests, it has influence on both the tongue and the pharynx (the tube that connects the mouth to the stomach). It receives information from the taste buds of the tongue, but also sends orders to both the parotid gland (salivary gland) and neck muscles that facilitate the swallowing action.

10. Vagus nerve (cranial pair X)

This cranial pair takes orders to most of the pharyngeal and laryngeal muscles , sends nerve fibers from the sympathetic system to viscera that are in the area of ​​our abdomen and receives taste information that comes from the epiglottis. Like the glossopharyngeal nerve, it intervenes in the action of swallowing, so it has a lot of relevance given the importance of this vital function.

11. Accessory nerve (cranial nerve XI)

To this cranial pair also it is known as a spinal nerve .

It is one of the pure cranial nerves, and activates the trapezius and sternocleidomastoid muscles , that intervene in the movement of the head and shoulders, so that their signals are noticed in part of the upper part of the thorax. Specifically, it allows the head to be decanted to one side and to be able to lean backwards.

12. Hypoglossal nerve (cranial nerve XII)

Like the vagus nerve and the glossopharyngeal nerve, to ctiva muscles of the tongue and participates in the action of swallowing . Thus, it works together with cranial nerves IX and X to allow swallowing to be performed correctly, which is fundamental for the good state of the organism.

Bibliographic references:

  • Davis, M.C., Griessenauer, C.J., Bosmia, A.N .; Tubbs, R. S., Shoja, M. M. "The naming of the cranial nerves: A historical review". Clinical Anatomy 27 (1): pp. 14 - 19.
  • Müller, F and O'Rahilly R (2004). «Olfactory structures in staged human embryos». Cells Tissues Organs (Print) 178 (2): pp. 93 - 116.

  • Brainstem Anatomy 2 - Anterior Aspect with Cranial Nerves (May 2021).


    Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nerfs crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui quittent le cerveau

Nerfs crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui quittent le cerveau

Février 18, 2019

En général, on peut dire que le cerveau humain communique avec presque tous les nerfs du cerveau par la moelle épinière.

Ainsi, par exemple, les informations qui nous parviennent à propos de ce que nous touchons avec nos mains sont recueillies par des nerfs qui courent le long du bras jusqu'à la moelle épinière, et de là au cerveau, à partir desquels l'ordre de continuer à examiner l'objet sera émis. Cet ordre efférent quittera également le cerveau par la moelle épinière et atteindra le bras correspondant par les fibres nerveuses qui en sortent.

Cependant, ce n'est pas une règle qui est toujours remplie, car il y a aussi des nerfs qui viennent directement du cerveau, sans être nés dans la moelle épinière. Il s'agit de nerfs crâniens, ou de nerfs crâniens , qui proviennent de la partie inférieure du cerveau et atteignent leurs zones cibles par de petits trous répartis à la base du crâne. À partir de ces orifices, les paires crâniennes communiquent avec les zones périphériques.


En outre, bien que cela puisse paraître étrange, tous ces nerfs crâniens n’ont pas pour fonction d’atteindre les zones et les organes qui se trouvent dans la tête. Certains s'étendent jusqu'au cou et même à l'abdomen.

Comment les paires crâniennes sont-elles classées et distribuées?

Les nerfs crâniens on les appelle ainsi parce qu'on les compte par paires, car il y en a un à la fois du côté droit et du côté gauche du cerveau . Ainsi, douze nerfs crâniens pointant vers l’hémisphère droit et douze autres pointant vers la gauche, symétriquement.

Chaque paire est numérotée avec un chiffre romain selon que la position à partir de laquelle ils quittent le cerveau plus ou moins près de la zone frontale. En fait les nerfs crâniens peuvent être regroupés et classés en catégories selon deux critères : le lieu de départ et leur fonction.


Paires crâniennes classées selon leur position

  • À partir des zones situées au-dessus du tronc cérébral, se trouvent les paires I et II .
  • À partir du mésencéphale (la partie supérieure du tronc cérébral), il existe paires crâniennes III et IV .
  • À partir du pont Varolio (ou trunk-bridge), il existe des nerfs crâniens V, VI, VII et VIII .
  • À partir de la moelle oblongate (dans la partie inférieure du tronc cérébral) se trouvent les nerfs IX, X, XI et XII .

Crâne crânien classé selon sa fonction

  • Sensible : paires I, II et VIII.
  • Relatif aux mouvements des yeux (et ses parties) et les paupières: nerfs crâniens III, IV et VI.
  • Relatif à l'activation des muscles du cou et de la langue : les paires crâniennes XI et XII.
  • Nerfs crâniens mélangés : les couples V, VII, IX et X.
  • Fibres parasympathiques : nerfs III, VII, IX et X.


Quels sont les nerfs crâniens?

Nous allons maintenant savoir quelles sont les paires crâniennes une par une et leurs fonctions principales.

1. Nerf olfactif (nerf crânien I)

Comme son nom l'indique, ce nerf crânien est dédié à la transmission d’informations nerveuses spécifiques sur ce qui est détecté par l’odorat et, par conséquent, c’est une fibre afférente. C'est le plus court des couples crâniens, car son lieu de destination est très proche de la région du cerveau dont il est issu.

2. Nerf optique (paire crânienne II)

Il fait également partie des fibres afférentes et est responsable de la transmission au cerveau des informations visuelles recueillies par les yeux . Il provient du diencephalon.

3. Nerf oculomoteur (nerf crânien III)

Aussi appelé nerf moteur oculaire commun, ce nerf crânien envoie des ordres à la majorité des muscles impliqués dans le mouvement des yeux et provoque la dilatation ou la contraction de l’élève.

4. Nerf trachléaire ou nerveux pathétique (nerf crânien IV)

Comme le nerf oculomoteur, ce couple crânien traite du mouvement des yeux . En particulier, il envoie des signaux au muscle oblique supérieur de l'œil. Le mésencéphale est à l'origine de cette paire de nerfs.

5. nerf trijumeau (nerf crânien V)

C’est l’un des nerfs crâniens mixtes, car Il a à la fois des fonctions motrices et sensorielles . Sous sa facette de nerf moteur, il envoie des ordres aux muscles chargés d'exécuter les mouvements de la mastication, tandis que, comme nerf crânien sensoriel, il recueille des informations tactiles, proprioceptives et douloureuses de plusieurs zones du visage et de la bouche.

6. nerf abducent (nerf crânien VI)

Ceci est un autre des nerfs crâniens responsable de faire bouger les yeux . En particulier, il est responsable de l’abduction, c’est-à-dire que l’œil se déplace du côté opposé à celui du nez.

7. Nerf facial (nerf crânien VII)

C'est l'un des nerfs crâniens mixtes. Il est responsable de l'envoi des commandes aux muscles du visage dédiés à la création d'expressions faciales. (permettant ainsi de socialiser et de communiquer correctement) quant aux glandes lacrymales et salivaires. Il collecte également des données de goût de la langue.

8. Nerf vestibulocochléaire (nerf crânien VIII)

C’est l’un des nerfs crâniens sensoriels, et recueille des informations de la zone auditive . Plus précisément, il reçoit des données relatives à ce qui est entendu et à la position dans laquelle nous nous trouvons par rapport au centre de gravité, ce qui nous permet de maintenir l'équilibre.

9. Nerf glossopharyngé (nerf crânien IV)

C'est un nerf sensible et moteur et, comme son nom l'indique, il a une influence à la fois sur la langue et sur le pharynx (le tube qui relie la bouche à l'estomac). Il reçoit des informations des papilles gustatives de la langue, mais envoie également des ordres à la fois à la glande parotide (glandes salivaires) et aux muscles du cou qui facilitent la déglutition.

10. Nerf vague (paire crânienne X)

Cette paire crânienne prend les commandes à la plupart des muscles du pharynx et du larynx , envoie des fibres nerveuses du système sympathique aux viscères situés dans la région de notre abdomen et reçoit des informations sur le goût provenant de l’épiglotte. Comme le nerf glossopharyngé, il intervient dans la déglutition et revêt donc une importance toute particulière compte tenu de l’importance de cette fonction vitale.

11. nerf accessoire (nerf crânien XI)

A cette paire crânienne aussi il est connu comme un nerf spinal .

C’est l’un des nerfs crâniens purs, et active les muscles trapèze et sternocléidomastoïdien , qui interviennent dans le mouvement de la tête et des épaules, de sorte que leurs signaux sont perçus dans une partie de la partie supérieure du thorax. Cela permet notamment de décanter la tête d'un côté et de pouvoir se pencher en arrière.

12. Nerf hypoglossal (nerf crânien XII)

Comme le nerf vague et le nerf glossopharyngé, un ctiva muscles de la langue et participe à l'action de la déglutition . Ainsi, il collabore avec les nerfs crâniens IX et X pour permettre une déglutition correcte, essentielle au bon état de l'organisme.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Davis, M.C., Griessenauer, C.J., Bosmia, A.N .; Tubbs, R. S., Shoja, M. M. "La dénomination des nerfs crâniens: un historique". Anatomie Clinique 27 (1): pp. 14 - 19.
  • Müller, F et O'Rahilly R (2004). «Structures olfactives dans les embryons humains en plusieurs étapes». Cellules Tissus Organes (Imprimer) 178 (2): pp. 93 - 116.

  • ???? NE CONFONDEZ PLUS LES NERFS CRANIENS ! (part2) - DR ASTUCE (Février 2019).


    Articles Connexes