yes, therapy helps!
False memory syndrome: types and causes of this phenomenon

False memory syndrome: types and causes of this phenomenon

September 16, 2022

The false memory syndrome is characterized by the presence of false memories which can appear both spontaneously and inducedly. It is a syndrome because it refers to a set of elements that are characteristic of a certain situation, in this case, the evocation of events whose existence is only recognized by the person who evokes them.

It is not a disease or a disorder , since it has not been recognized as a clinical category by specialized international organizations. However, the false memory syndrome has emerged in important ways in scientific and legal research, as a result of different controversies and controversies generated in these contexts. We will see below some details about the characteristics and history of the false memory syndrome.


  • Related article: Types of memory: how does memory store the human brain?

False memory syndrome: what is it?

In the nineteenth century, the first public hypotheses about false memories They were made by Sigmund Freud , who proposed that a repressed foundational trauma that occurred in childhood gave rise to the psychosomatic symptoms of the adult women he attended.

Later, Sigmund Freud himself modifies his theory and speaks of such memories as a series of fantasies underlying traumatic events, and offers an interpretation for this from his theory of psychosexual development.

Later and with the development of different psychotherapeutic approaches, a large part of the clinical approaches they were based on the belief that there was repressed trauma and likely to be remembered. That is, the intention was to reveal the traumatic experiences of childhood through different techniques, ranging from hypnosis to classical individual therapy.


With the passage of time, all of the above began to be widely questioned, due to the possibility of creating a suggestive environment where the person would end up by evoking memories of experiences that never happened, or evoke them in a distorted way.

The foregoing occurred partly as a consequence of studies on the functioning of our memory. For example, cognitive sciences have told us that, far from being a kind of hard disk that stores and hides memories, our memory is more of a reconstructive and reproductive system . It is not infallible, it is constructed and modified over time and through our own narratives, interactions and experiences; with which, it is subject to errors and distortions.

False memories: types and characteristics

A false memory, or a false memory, is any memory report in which there is a partial or total difference with the facts of interest (Pinchansky, Víquez and Zeledón, 2004). In other words, these are memories that are remembered even though they have not really occurred, or that have been distorted in an important way .


They are images of the past that lack objective existence (their existence can not be corroborated by the testimonies of third parties), but that a person can evoke assuring that they have occurred as reported. By the same it is about memories that can cause an important and significant emotional experience in those who report them. Its conformation does not necessarily depend on forgetting , although it may be closely linked to this.

There are two basic types of false memories, spontaneous memories and implanted memories.

1. Spontaneous

They are generated as a result of the internal operation of the memory, but said operation can be involuntarily evoked by outside influence , for example, by means of a request from someone external to clearly report any fact.

2. Implemented

They are the result of a person's exposure to false information, which is presented in a coherent and logical way with the knowledge schemes of the person. It originates from a third informative element , which can be a comment made by someone, or for example through a suggestive question.

In this case, the third informative element is presented with the intention of provoking or forcing the recognition of a false event. That is, false implanted memories, unlike spontaneous ones, are created voluntarily by someone who is not the person who reports them.

False memories implanted They were specially studied by the American psychologist Elizabeth Loftus . The results of their investigations had an important impact on the legal procedures of the penal system.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Elizabeth Loftus and the studies of memory: can false memories be created?"

Causes

Pinchanski, Víquez and Zeledón (2004) following Brainerd and Reyna (1995), tells us that the general mechanisms of conformation of false memories, as well as in true memories, depend mainly on the following elements:

  • The type of information that is memorized (common sense or complex information).
  • The way of memorization (oral, tactile, auditory, visual or combined).
  • The evaluation moment of memory (if it is immediate or after the event has happened).
  • The procedure to evoke recall (by recognition or by free recall).

In turn, said elements they depend on both cognitive and sociocultural mechanisms , where the rote production is conjugated with the power relations that are established in a specific context. For example, in the criminal context, the instruction of a lawyer or the public prosecutor to remember a certain event can be a trigger to create a false spontaneous memory.

Likewise, the psychiatrist Janet Boakes (1999), who is one of the pioneers in the studies on the false memory syndrome (especially in relation to the memories of child sexual abuse), suggests that this syndrome occurs to a great extent as a consequence of the suggestion produced in the psychotherapeutic context .

According to Boakes, many of the people who report recovering memories of a previous experience of sexual abuse, which can not be corroborated by elements external to the person, do so within a therapeutic process, which the author herself attributes to the influence of the practices, beliefs and influence of the professional.

Bibliographic references:

  • False Memory Syndrome Foundation (2018). Memory and reality. Retrieved August 15, 2018. Available at //www.fmsfonline.org.
  • Pinchanski, S., Víquez, E. and Zeledón, C. (2004). Memories imposed. Med. Leg. Costa Rica, 21 (2) [Online Version]. Retrieved August 15, 2018. Available at //www.scielo.sa.cr/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pid=S1409-00152004000200004.
  • Boakes, J. (1999). Complains of sexual misconduct. In Heaton-Armstrong, A., Shepherd, E. & Wolchover, D. Analyzing Witness Testimony. Blackstone Press: London.

What are False Memories (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de fausse mémoire: types et causes de ce phénomène

Syndrome de fausse mémoire: types et causes de ce phénomène

Septembre 12, 2022

Le syndrome des faux souvenirs est caractérisé par la présence de faux souvenirs qui peut apparaître à la fois spontanément et indûment. C'est un syndrome parce qu'il fait référence à un ensemble d'éléments caractéristiques d'une certaine situation, à savoir l'évocation d'événements dont l'existence n'est reconnue que par la personne qui les évoque.

Ce n'est pas une maladie ou un trouble , puisqu'il n'a pas été reconnu en tant que catégorie clinique par des organisations internationales spécialisées. Cependant, le syndrome de fausse mémoire est apparu de manière importante dans la recherche scientifique et juridique, à la suite de différentes controverses et controverses générées dans ces contextes. Nous verrons ci-dessous quelques détails sur les caractéristiques et l'historique du syndrome de la fausse mémoire.


  • Article connexe: Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke-t-elle le cerveau humain?

Faux syndrome de la mémoire: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Au XIXe siècle, les premières hypothèses publiques sur les faux souvenirs Ils ont été fabriqués par Sigmund Freud , qui a suggéré qu’un traumatisme fondamental refoulé survenu dans l’enfance était à l’origine des symptômes psychosomatiques des femmes adultes qu’il fréquentait.

Plus tard, Sigmund Freud modifie lui-même sa théorie et évoque de tels souvenirs comme une série de fantasmes sous-jacents à des événements traumatisants, et propose une interprétation à partir de sa théorie du développement psychosexuel.

Plus tard et avec le développement de différentes approches psychothérapeutiques, une grande partie des approches cliniques ils étaient basés sur la conviction qu'il y avait un traumatisme refoulé et susceptible d'être retenu. En d'autres termes, l'intention était de révéler les expériences traumatiques de l'enfance à travers différentes techniques, allant de l'hypnose à la thérapie individuelle classique.


Au fil du temps, tout ce qui précède a commencé à être largement remis en question, en raison de la possibilité de créer un environnement suggestif dans lequel la personne finirait par évoquer des souvenirs d'expériences qui ne se sont jamais produites ou les évoquer de manière déformée.

Ce qui précède s’est produit en partie à la suite d’études sur le fonctionnement de notre mémoire. Par exemple, les sciences cognitives nous ont dit que, loin d’être une sorte de disque dur qui stocke et cache des souvenirs, notre mémoire est plus d'un système de reconstruction et de reproduction . Ce n'est pas infaillible, il est construit et modifié avec le temps et à travers nos propres récits, interactions et expériences; avec lequel, il est sujet à des erreurs et des distorsions.

Faux souvenirs: types et caractéristiques

Un faux souvenir, ou un faux souvenir, est tout rapport de mémoire dans lequel il existe une différence partielle ou totale avec les faits intéressants (Pinchansky, Víquez et Zeledón, 2004). En d’autres termes, ce sont des souvenirs dont on se souvient même s’ils ne se sont pas réellement produits, ou que ont été déformés d'une manière importante .


Ce sont des images du passé qui manquent d’existence objective (leur existence ne peut pas être corroborée par les témoignages de tiers), mais qu’une personne peut évoquer en s’assurant qu’elles se sont produites comme il a été rapporté. De même, il s'agit de souvenirs pouvant causer une expérience émotionnelle importante et significative chez ceux qui les rapportent. Sa conformation ne dépend pas nécessairement de l'oubli , bien que cela puisse être étroitement lié à cela.

Il existe deux types de base de faux souvenirs, les souvenirs spontanés et les souvenirs implantés.

1. spontané

Ils sont générés à la suite du fonctionnement interne de la mémoire, mais ledit fonctionnement peut être involontairement évoqué par une influence extérieure , par exemple, à la demande de quelqu'un de l'extérieur pour signaler clairement tout fait.

2. mis en œuvre

Ils sont le résultat de l'exposition d'une personne à de fausses informations, qui sont présentées de manière cohérente et logique avec les schémas de connaissances de la personne. Il provient d'un troisième élément informatif , qui peut être un commentaire fait par quelqu'un, ou par exemple via une question suggestive.

Dans ce cas, le troisième élément informatif est présenté avec l'intention de provoquer ou de forcer la reconnaissance d'un faux événement. C'est-à-dire que les faux souvenirs implantés, contrairement aux souvenirs spontanés, sont créés volontairement par quelqu'un qui n'est pas la personne qui les rapporte.

Faux souvenirs implantés Ils ont été spécialement étudiés par la psychologue américaine Elizabeth Loftus . Les résultats de leurs enquêtes ont eu un impact important sur les procédures judiciaires du système pénal.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Elizabeth Loftus et les études de la mémoire: peut-on créer de faux souvenirs?"

Les causes

Pinchanski, Víquez et Zeledón (2004), à la suite de Brainerd et Reyna (1995), indiquent que les mécanismes généraux de conformation des mémoires fausses, ainsi que des mémoires vraies, dépendent principalement des éléments suivants:

  • Le type d'informations mémorisées (bon sens ou information complexe).
  • Le mode de mémorisation (oral, tactile, auditif, visuel ou combiné).
  • Le moment de l'évaluation de mémoire (si c'est immédiat ou après l'événement).
  • La procédure pour évoquer le rappel (par reconnaissance ou par rappel gratuit).

A leur tour, lesdits éléments ils dépendent à la fois de mécanismes cognitifs et socioculturels , où la production du coeur se conjugue avec les relations de pouvoir qui s’établissent dans un contexte spécifique. Par exemple, dans le contexte pénal, l’instruction par un avocat ou le procureur de se souvenir d’un événement donné peut être un élément déclencheur de la création d’une fausse mémoire spontanée.

De même, la psychiatre Janet Boakes (1999), l'une des pionnières dans les études sur le syndrome de fausse mémoire (en particulier en ce qui concerne les souvenirs d'abus sexuel sur un enfant), suggère que ce syndrome se produit dans une large mesure. en conséquence de la suggestion faite dans le contexte psychothérapeutique .

Selon Boakes, bon nombre des personnes qui signalent avoir retrouvé des souvenirs d'une expérience antérieure d'abus sexuel, qui ne peuvent pas être corroborées par des éléments extérieurs à la personne, le font dans le cadre d'un processus thérapeutique auquel l'auteur attribue elle-même l'influence des pratiques, des croyances et de l'influence du professionnel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fondation Faux Syndrome de Mémoire (2018). Mémoire et réalité. Extrait le 15 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.fmsfonline.org.
  • Pinchanski, S., Víquez, E. et Zeledón, C. (2004). Souvenirs imposés. Med. Leg. Costa Rica, 21 (2) [version en ligne]. Récupéré le 15 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.scielo.sa.cr/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pid=S1409-00152004000200004.
  • Boakes, J. (1999). Se plaint d'inconduite sexuelle. Dans Heaton-Armstrong, A., Shepherd, E. & Wolchover, D. Analyse du témoignage d'un témoin. Blackstone Press: Londres.

Faux souvenirs - 37 - e-penser (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes