yes, therapy helps!
How to face the fear of marriage, in 5 tips

How to face the fear of marriage, in 5 tips

July 21, 2022

Fear of marriage is a more common phenomenon than it seems , and its harmful effects on the quality of life of those who suffer can be noticed for years.

In this article we will see several tips on how to face the fear of marriage and not let it add a dose of anguish to your life.

  • Related article: "Anuptophobia: the irrational fear of being single"

Fear of marriage: what to do?

Both the worries and the nerves before marriage are very common, but they are still phenomena that have more to do with the ritual itself and with the celebration of that special moment. But nevertheless, beyond these episodes of slight discomfort , there are those who fear not to the day of marriage itself, but to the life of married, to the phase of life that begins from that moment.


However, before addressing the problem of the anguish that is experienced when experiencing the fear of marriage, it must be clear that this phenomenon does not have to be something that appears in isolation in each individual: social influence counts, and a lot .

To some extent, the fear of marriage may be based on social pressure. Nobody is missing the fact that even today there is a strong "inertia" that leads us to assume that marriage is part of a life developed in a normal way, so that people of a certain age who do not establish this link are strange cases, sometimes even cause for contempt or ridicule.

Thus, the fear of marriage can be the result of the discomfort of feeling "predestined" to go through the altar even if there is no real will to marry or lead a life as a couple. Therefore, before considering whether the fear of marriage is in itself the problem, it is necessary to pay attention to the context in which we live , to know if what makes us feel bad has to do with the expectations that the rest of people have deposited in us.


That said, and assuming that it is a truly personal fear and not based on the pressures of our social circle, we can now move on to the councils.

1. If you do not have a partner ...

There are people who experience fear of marriage despite not having a partner. In these cases, what usually happens is that it is the influence of the rest that makes us assume that a day will come when we will have to compromise. What happens is that this influence does not have to be very obvious, and can even come through not specific people (friends, family, neighbors ...) but through the influence of the culture in which we live immersed .

Keep in mind that if you do not have a partner it does not make sense to be afraid of marriage. In practice, we must adapt as much as possible to those situations that we are really living, and not those that are imaginary or hypothetical. Whatever your circumstances, the fear of marriage will only give you extra concern that simply should not be there.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Absorbing relationships: what to do and how to recognize them"

2. Do not assume that it will go wrong again

In the field of love there are many emotions at stake, and that makes it relatively easy to go through psychologically painful experiences. As a result, there are people who develop fear of emotional commitments, and the fear of marriage is the clearest example of this type of links in which two people are committed to ensuring the other.


In these cases, it is good to modify those beliefs, since they create discomfort, on the one hand, and do not make us more realistic, on the other. The latter is like that because the love story of any person is never so broad as to have a representative sample that allows to know well "the people" in general. Each person is a world, and although it is true that there are psychological regularities, these can not be known by the simple fact of having had a dozen couples before.

3. Examine your material conditions

It is possible that circumstances have made the idea of ​​the wedding increasingly closer and that you do not feel able to move to that kind of life . But part of that concern may come from the fact that the lack of preparation is not psychological, but material.


If you lack the economic stability that allows you to safely launch into married life, you must first deal with those issues that have to do with your living conditions, of course in constant dialogue with your partner.

4. Analyze if it is a great qualitative leap

Although getting married is something of symbolic and legal importance, you should not assume a big change when defining the type of emotional behavior that unites you with your partner. The ideal is to get married when you already experience a degree of intimacy and commitment similar to that of the married couple.Otherwise, the fear that something will fail can cause you to experience stress simply because of the uncertainty.

5. Embraces new forms of commitment

Finally, you have to consider the possibility that, if you experience fear of marriage, this is because does not have enough preparation to live as a couple continuously . In this case, take seriously the task of learning those habits that life in common requires.



FEAR OF INTIMACY & the 5 Ways to Overcome it | Kati Morton - Love, Relationships, Dating & Sex (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment faire face à la peur du mariage, en 5 conseils

Comment faire face à la peur du mariage, en 5 conseils

Août 8, 2022

La peur du mariage est un phénomène plus répandu qu'il n'y parait , et ses effets néfastes sur la qualité de vie de ceux qui souffrent peuvent être remarqués pendant des années.

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs conseils pour faire face à la peur du mariage et ne pas le laisser ajouter une dose d’angoisse à votre vie.

  • Article connexe: "Anuptophobie: la peur irrationnelle d'être célibataire"

Peur du mariage: que faire?

Les inquiétudes et les nerfs avant le mariage sont très communs, mais ils restent des phénomènes qui ont plus à voir avec le rituel lui-même et avec la célébration de ce moment spécial. Cependant, au-delà de ces épisodes de légère gêne , il y en a qui ne craignent pas le jour du mariage, mais la vie du marié, la phase de la vie qui commence à partir de ce moment.


Cependant, avant d'aborder le problème de l'angoisse vécue lors de la peur du mariage, il est clair que ce phénomène ne doit pas nécessairement être quelque chose qui apparaît isolément chez chaque individu: l'influence sociale compte, et beaucoup .

Dans une certaine mesure, la peur du mariage peut être basée sur la pression sociale. Personne ne manque au fait qu’aujourd’hui encore une forte "inertie" nous porte à supposer que le mariage fait partie d’une vie développée de façon normale, de sorte que les personnes d’un certain âge qui ne s’établissent pas ce lien sont des cas étranges, parfois même cause de mépris ou de ridicule.

Ainsi, la peur du mariage peut être le résultat de la gêne ressentie par le sentiment "prédestiné" de passer par l'autel, même s'il n'existe aucune volonté réelle de se marier ou de mener une vie de couple. Par conséquent, avant de déterminer si la crainte du mariage est en soi un problème, il faut faire attention au contexte dans lequel nous vivons , savoir si ce qui nous rend mal à l’aise est lié aux attentes que le reste des gens a déposées en nous.


Cela dit, et en supposant qu'il s'agisse d'une peur vraiment personnelle et non basée sur les pressions de notre cercle social, nous pouvons maintenant passer aux conseils.

1. Si vous n'avez pas de partenaire ...

Il y a des gens qui ont peur du mariage sans avoir de partenaire. Dans ces cas, ce qui se produit habituellement, c’est que c’est l’influence du reste qui nous laisse supposer qu’un jour viendra où nous devrons faire des compromis. Ce qui se passe, c’est que cette influence ne doit pas forcément être évidente, et peut même venir de personnes non spécifiques (amis, famille, voisins…) mais à travers l'influence de la culture dans laquelle nous vivons immergé .

Gardez à l'esprit que si vous n'avez pas de partenaire, il ne sert à rien d'avoir peur du mariage. En pratique, nous devons nous adapter autant que possible aux situations que nous vivons réellement, et non à celles qui sont imaginaires ou hypothétiques. Quelles que soient vos circonstances, la crainte du mariage ne fera que vous inquiéter davantage et ne devrait tout simplement pas exister.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Absorber les relations: que faire et comment les reconnaître"

2. Ne présumez pas que ça va aller mal à nouveau

Dans le domaine de l’amour, de nombreuses émotions sont en jeu, ce qui facilite relativement les expériences psychologiquement douloureuses. En conséquence, certaines personnes développent une peur des engagements émotionnels et la peur du mariage est l'exemple le plus clair de ce type de liens dans lequel deux personnes s'engagent à assurer l'autre.


Dans ces cas, il est bon de modifier ces croyances, car elles créent une gêne, d’une part, et ne nous rendent pas plus réalistes, de l’autre. Ce dernier est comme ça parce que l'histoire d'amour d'une personne n'est jamais aussi vaste d'avoir un échantillon représentatif qui permet de bien connaître "les gens" en général. Chaque personne est un monde, et même s’il est vrai qu’il existe des régularités psychologiques, celles-ci ne peuvent pas être connues par le simple fait d’avoir eu une douzaine de couples auparavant.

3. Examiner vos conditions matérielles

Il est possible que les circonstances aient rapproché de plus en plus l’idée du mariage et que vous ne vous sentiez pas capable de passer à ce genre de vie . Mais une partie de cette préoccupation peut provenir du fait que le manque de préparation n’est pas psychologique, mais matériel.


Si vous ne disposez pas de la stabilité économique qui vous permet de vous lancer en toute sécurité dans la vie conjugale, vous devez d’abord régler les problèmes liés à vos conditions de vie, bien entendu en dialogue constant avec votre partenaire.

4. Analyser s'il s'agit d'un grand saut qualitatif

Bien que le mariage ait une importance symbolique et juridique, vous ne devez pas assumer un grand changement dans la définition du type de comportement émotionnel qui vous unit avec votre partenaire. L’idéal est de vous marier lorsque vous rencontrez déjà un degré d’intimité et d’engagement similaire à celui du couple marié.Sinon, la peur que quelque chose échoue peut vous amener à faire face au stress simplement à cause de l'incertitude.

5. Embrasse de nouvelles formes d'engagement

Enfin, vous devez envisager la possibilité que, si vous éprouvez la peur du mariage, c’est parce que n'a pas assez de préparation pour vivre en couple en permanence . Dans ce cas, prenez au sérieux la tâche d'apprendre les habitudes nécessaires à la vie en commun.



PEUR DE L'ENGAGEMENT : 5 ASTUCES INFAILLIBLES ! (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes