yes, therapy helps!
How to feel good psychologically? 10 tips

How to feel good psychologically? 10 tips

July 14, 2024

Usually, most people spend most of their lives trying to improve a large part of the spheres of our lives. We want to feel better physically, improve our career or move up in our relationships and social circles.

But how many times do we stop to think about how we really feel on an emotional level? In psychological well-being we find the necessary strength to perform and improve in the rest of aspects of our life. So throughout this article we will offer a series of tips to feel good psychologically .

  • Related article: "Emotional health: 7 tips to improve it"

What is psychological well-being?

The concept of psychological well-being, as well as happiness, are notions that are very difficult to define or determine in a concise way. However, we can say that in both cases of dealing with abstract concepts that are characterized by being subjective states related to a feeling of well-being and general satisfaction .


Of course, the reasons or causes that generate this satisfaction are different in each one of the people and they adhere to the individual beliefs that each individual possesses in relation to what he himself understands by psychological well-being or happiness.

However, although as we have mentioned each person is distinguished by having different conceptions of what it is to feel good psychologically, there are a number of common points without which this psychological well-being is much more difficult to achieve. These dimensions were developed by the psychologist of the University of Pennsylvania, Carol Ryff, and consists of the following aspects:

  • Self-acceptance .
  • Positive relationships
  • Have a purpose in life.
  • Personal growth .
  • Autonomy.
  • Domain of the environment

As we can see all these aspects are likely to be worked and improved, so that achieving psychological well-being is within our reach. It is necessary to specify that, obviously, this will not always be easy, since external events or agents may appear that disturb this well-being and that we can not control.


However, even if we do not have control over these agents, we can determine and decide how to face them and what degree of consideration to give them, this being what will make the difference when it comes to maintaining our psychological well-being or not.

10 tips to achieve psychological well-being

As we mentioned at the beginning of the article, we are the only ones responsible for managing our happiness and our mental well-being, which makes us active agents capable of improving our psychological state.

Below we will see a series of tips or recommendations that we can practice for improve our psychological and emotional health . This does not mean that to achieve this we must make each and every one of these indications, since this psychological well-being is a totally subjective concept, we can choose those with which we feel more comfortable or identify ourselves more.


1. Learn to control our thoughts and emotions

We could say that this first point is about a universal recommendation valid for all types of people regardless of their character or personality .

Usually, our thoughts tend to be accompanied by emotions that turn them into positive or negative experiences. If we learn to control and effectively manage our thoughts and emotions we will achieve the necessary skills to improve our psychological well-being, this being the first step and the basis that facilitates the rest of our psychological work.

For this we can resort to traditional meditation exercises, as well as the practice of mindfulness exercises, which have been shown to be effective in achieving control of our thoughts and emotional well-being.

  • Related article: "Emotional regulation: this way we tame our state of mind"

2. Take a moment to feel grateful

Habitually, we tend to maintain an excessive fixation on problems and negative situations that we experience throughout the day. Therefore, we can find it particularly useful to spend a few minutes a day reflecting on the things that have happened to us throughout the day for which we can thank.

Although this may be difficult at first, with practice it will cost us less and less to identify small daily details by which we can feel grateful and satisfied. This habit will bring us a series of daily feelings of wellbeing that can be maintained throughout the week.

3. Put our lives in order

The excess of stress that we experience daily It is one of the great enemies of psychological well-being, since it gradually diminishes our sense of well-being and tends to increase if we do nothing to remedy it.

To solve this, it will be very useful to carry out an effective organization of our tasks throughout the day. This will help us to reduce the effect of unforeseen events and to experience a sense of control over our lives.

4. Sleep well

Sleep routines directly affect our mood so that harmful sleep habits will negatively affect our psychological well-being .

Therefore, it is essential to try to maintain some sleep habits in which we perform the recommended minimum hours of sleep, always with all the lights off and trying to diminish everything that interferes with our sleep, such as external noises or the sound of the mobile phone.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 basic principles for good sleep hygiene"

5. Improve diet and exercise

As described by the expression mens sana in corpore sano, caring for our body and finding a balance will help us achieve and maintain our psychological well-being. Contrary to what is popularly believed, the original meaning of the expression is related to the need to have a healthy mind and body in order to achieve well-being.

For this, it is essential to maintain a balanced diet that provides all kinds of nutrients, as well as exercise regularly, which will help us keep our body in shape and facilitate emotional balance .

6. Start a conversation with other people

Human beings are social animals, so Keeping close to other people usually has a positive effect on our mood . Dedicating a moment of our day to start a conversation with someone we know and thus increase our social relationships, will generate a very pleasant feeling of well-being and satisfaction.

7. Break the monotony

Although a certain degree of routine and monotony offer us a sense of security and control over our life that can be beneficial, the excess of this usually does not turn out to be so pleasant, being able to appear feelings like boredom, frustration or sadness.

To compensate, we can plan or establish small changes in our daily routine that may be stimulating , as well as keeping our mind open to the possibility of trying or experiencing new things that bring a little vivacity and dynamism in our lives.

8. Do something for another person

In psychology, the positive effect that the act of helping others exerts on our state of mind and on our psychological well-being is well known. Doing something for someone increases our levels of happiness and satisfaction, as well as brings a sense of utility and competence , it reduces the levels of stress and how it does not contribute something good to the society and the mood of the other person.

9. Perform artistic activities

It is not necessary to be an artistic prodigy to benefit from the positive effects that the realization of artistic activities has on our state of mind. Art, manifested in whatever form, increases our levels of dopamine and stimulates certain areas of our frontal cortex that provoke positive and pleasurable sensations .

10. Being in touch with nature

Finally, there are many studies that have related living or being close to nature or green areas with better levels of mental health and emotional well-being .

The connection with nature generates a positive impact on our mood. In addition, the simple fact of being exposed to sunlight helps us to increase vitamin D levels, which is directly related to the decrease of negative emotions such as sadness.


10 Psychological Tips That'll Help You Get Your Life Together (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment se sentir bien psychologiquement? 10 astuces

Comment se sentir bien psychologiquement? 10 astuces

Novembre 2, 2022

Habituellement, la plupart des gens passent la majeure partie de leur vie à essayer d’améliorer une grande partie de leur vie. Nous voulons nous sentir mieux physiquement, améliorer notre carrière ou progresser dans nos relations et nos cercles sociaux.

Mais combien de fois arrêtons-nous de penser à ce que nous ressentons réellement sur le plan émotionnel? Dans le bien-être psychologique, nous trouvons la force nécessaire pour agir et améliorer le reste de notre vie. Donc, tout au long de cet article, nous vous proposerons une série de conseils pour se sentir bien psychologiquement .

  • Article connexe: "Santé émotionnelle: 7 conseils pour l'améliorer"

Qu'est-ce que le bien-être psychologique?

Le concept de bien-être psychologique, ainsi que celui de bonheur, sont des notions très difficiles à définir ou à définir de manière concise. Cependant, on peut dire que, dans les deux cas, il s’agit de concepts abstraits caractérisés par le caractère d’états subjectifs liés à une sensation de bien-être et de satisfaction générale .


Bien sûr, les raisons ou les causes qui génèrent cette satisfaction sont différentes chez chacune des personnes et elles adhèrent aux croyances individuelles que possède chaque personne par rapport à ce qu'il comprend lui-même par bien-être psychologique ou bonheur.

Cependant, bien que, comme nous l'avons mentionné, chaque personne se distingue par des conceptions différentes de ce qu'il est de se sentir bien psychologiquement, il existe un certain nombre de points communs sans lesquels ce bien-être psychologique est beaucoup plus difficile à atteindre. Ces dimensions ont été développées par la psychologue de l'Université de Pennsylvanie, Carol Ryff, et comprennent les aspects suivants:

  • Acceptation de soi .
  • Relations positives
  • Avoir un but dans la vie.
  • Croissance personnelle .
  • Autonomie
  • Domaine de l'environnement

Comme nous pouvons le constater, tous ces aspects sont susceptibles d’être travaillés et améliorés, de sorte que la réalisation du bien-être psychologique est à notre portée. Il est nécessaire de préciser que, évidemment, cela ne sera pas toujours facile, car des événements ou des agents externes peuvent apparaître qui perturbent ce bien-être et que nous ne pouvons pas contrôler.


Cependant, même si nous n’avons pas le contrôle de ces agents, nous pouvons déterminer comment décider de les affronter et quel degré de considération leur accorder, ce qui fera la différence pour maintenir ou non notre bien-être psychologique.

10 conseils pour atteindre le bien-être psychologique

Comme nous l'avons mentionné au début de l'article, nous sommes les seuls responsables de la gestion de notre bonheur et de notre bien-être mental, ce qui fait de nous des agents capables d'améliorer notre état psychologique.

Nous verrons ci-dessous une série de conseils ou de recommandations que nous pouvons mettre en pratique. améliorer notre santé psychologique et émotionnelle . Cela ne signifie pas que pour y parvenir, nous devons faire chacune de ces indications, puisque ce bien-être psychologique est un concept totalement subjectif, nous pouvons choisir celles avec lesquelles nous nous sentons plus à l'aise ou nous identifions davantage.


1. Apprendre à contrôler nos pensées et nos émotions

On pourrait dire que ce premier point concerne une recommandation universelle valable pour tous les types de personnes indépendamment de leur caractère ou de leur personnalité .

Habituellement, nos pensées ont tendance à être accompagnées d'émotions qui les transforment en expériences positives ou négatives. Si nous apprenons à contrôler et à gérer efficacement nos pensées et nos émotions, nous acquerrons les compétences nécessaires pour améliorer notre bien-être psychologique, ce qui constitue la première étape et la base qui facilite le reste de notre travail psychologique.

Pour ce faire, nous pouvons recourir aux exercices de méditation traditionnels, ainsi qu’à la pratique des exercices de pleine conscience, qui se sont révélés efficaces pour contrôler nos pensées et améliorer notre bien-être émotionnel.

  • Article connexe: "Régulation émotionnelle: nous apprivoisons ainsi notre état d'esprit"

2. Prenez un moment pour être reconnaissant

Généralement nous avons tendance à maintenir une fixation excessive sur les problèmes et les situations négatives que nous expérimentons tout au long de la journée. Par conséquent, nous trouvons particulièrement utile de consacrer quelques minutes par jour à la réflexion sur les événements qui se sont produits tout au long de la journée et que nous pouvons remercier.

Bien que cela puisse être difficile au début, avec la pratique, il nous en coûtera de moins en moins pour identifier de petits détails quotidiens grâce auxquels nous pouvons nous sentir reconnaissants et satisfaits. Cette habitude nous apportera une série de sentiments quotidiens de bien-être qui peuvent être maintenus tout au long de la semaine.

3. Mettre de l'ordre dans nos vies

L'excès de stress que nous vivons au quotidien C'est l'un des grands ennemis du bien-être psychologique, car il diminue progressivement notre sentiment de bien-être et tend à augmenter si nous ne faisons rien pour y remédier.

Pour résoudre ce problème, il sera très utile de procéder à une organisation efficace de nos tâches tout au long de la journée. Cela nous aidera à réduire l'impact d'événements imprévus et à éprouver un sentiment de contrôle sur nos vies.

4. Dors bien

Les routines du sommeil affectent directement notre humeur de sorte que les mauvaises habitudes de sommeil vont nuire à notre bien-être psychologique .

Par conséquent, il est essentiel d'essayer de conserver certaines habitudes de sommeil dans lesquelles nous effectuons le nombre minimum d'heures de sommeil recommandé, toujours avec toutes les lumières éteintes et en essayant de réduire tout ce qui nuit à notre sommeil, comme les bruits extérieurs ou le son du téléphone portable.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 principes de base pour une bonne hygiène de sommeil"

5. Améliorer le régime alimentaire et l'exercice

Comme décrit par l'expression mens sana in corpore sano, prendre soin de notre corps et trouver un équilibre nous aidera à atteindre et à maintenir notre bien-être psychologique. Contrairement à ce que l’on pense généralement, le sens originel de cette expression est lié à la nécessité d’avoir un esprit et un corps en bonne santé pour parvenir au bien-être.

Pour cela, il est essentiel de maintenir une alimentation équilibrée qui fournit toutes sortes de nutriments, ainsi que des exercices réguliers, ce qui nous aidera à garder notre corps en forme et à rester en forme. faciliter l'équilibre émotionnel .

6. Entamer une conversation avec d'autres personnes

Les êtres humains sont des animaux sociaux, donc Rester proche des autres a généralement un effet positif sur notre humeur . Consacrer un moment de notre journée à engager une conversation avec une personne que nous connaissons et ainsi renforcer nos relations sociales générera un sentiment très agréable de bien-être et de satisfaction.

7. Briser la monotonie

Bien qu'un certain degré de routine et de monotonie nous offre un sentiment de sécurité et de contrôle sur notre vie bénéfique, son excès ne s'avère généralement pas aussi agréable, car il peut apparaître des sentiments d'ennui, de frustration ou de tristesse.

Pour compenser, nous pouvons planifier ou établir de petits changements dans notre routine quotidienne qui peuvent être stimulants , tout en gardant notre esprit ouvert à la possibilité d'essayer ou d'expérimenter de nouvelles choses qui apportent un peu de vivacité et de dynamisme dans nos vies.

8. Faire quelque chose pour une autre personne

En psychologie, l’effet positif que l’acte d’aider les autres exerce sur notre état d’esprit et sur notre bien-être psychologique est bien connu. Faire quelque chose pour quelqu'un augmente nos niveaux de bonheur et de satisfaction, ainsi que apporte un sens d'utilité et de compétence , cela réduit les niveaux de stress et comment cela ne contribue pas de manière positive à la société et à l'humeur de l'autre personne.

9. Effectuer des activités artistiques

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'être un prodige artistique pour bénéficier des effets positifs de la réalisation d'activités artistiques sur notre état d'esprit. L’art, sous quelque forme que ce soit, augmente nos niveaux de dopamine et stimule certaines zones de notre cortex frontal qui provoquer des sensations positives et agréables .

10. Être en contact avec la nature

Enfin, de nombreuses études ont établi un lien entre la vie ou la proximité de la nature ou des espaces verts avec meilleurs niveaux de santé mentale et de bien-être émotionnel .

La connexion avec la nature génère un impact positif sur notre humeur. De plus, le simple fait d'être exposé au soleil nous aide à augmenter les niveaux de vitamine D, ce qui est directement lié à la diminution des émotions négatives telles que la tristesse.


[ À Savoir n°27 ] : 10 Conseils pour se sentir mieux | Disputes, Baisse de moral & Harcèlement (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes