yes, therapy helps!
How to start a conversation with whoever you want, in 6 steps

How to start a conversation with whoever you want, in 6 steps

May 24, 2022

Connecting with others is basic and fundamental to have a satisfying life; but it is not always easy. And it is that, although it seems to be a lie, know how to start a conversation properly It can become a problem, in certain situations even for the most extroverted people.

Now, despite the fact that for many people this means leaving the comfort zone, the art of starting to talk with whomever we want is a skill that can be learned.

  • Related article: "15 interesting and fun conversation topics"

Learn how to start a conversation

Something as simple as knowing how to start a conversation spontaneously with someone we are interested in it can be what makes the difference between having a full social life or not having it . And there are people who are so afraid of this type of situation that they end up isolating themselves and having few friends, which in turn is a way to have a rather small social support network.


Next we will see some basic aspects about how to start a conversation.

1. Learn to tolerate failure

The first thing you have to be clear is that no matter how much you read, that will only help you to know what strategies to follow to face this facet of your social life; It is impossible to learn this kind of thing without having gone into practice. And that means that, necessarily, we will have to go through some uncomfortable situations to achieve a goal in the medium and long term much more beneficial than the slight discomfort that comes out of the comfort zone at the beginning.

There is no magic recipe that solves the question overnight without having to put effort into it. The key is to know how to make that effort productive.


2. Do not be a perfectionist with the moment

Almost any place is good to start a conversation, as long as the other person is not in a hurry. Sometimes, the fact of stopping to analyze if the context is propitious to approach someone and start a dialogue is just an excuse (masked under rationality) to let those opportunities pass.

3. At first, opt for questions

When you start practicing how to start conversations , the fact that you will probably feel nervous and a certain anxiety will limit your range of action. Therefore, it is good to recognize this small obstacle and act accordingly. And one way to do it is to make the moment of starting a dialogue short for oneself, and longer for the other person. That is to say: what we will do is pass on the responsibility of the dialogue to the other, through a question that the interlocutor must answer.


Now, for this to work, that question must give way to a response that is not short and that has a relative complexity. In this way, we will avoid that what we get back is a simple phrase of few words, and an awkward silence appears. The goal is for the other's response to allow us to comment on what has been said, and make the dialogue drift towards something else . Once this has been done, it is easier to feel comfortable with the situation.

4. Start with the easy

This is one of the classic recommendations of psychology, and it really works. If we approach very ambitious objectives at the beginning, we will most likely get frustrated and end up throwing in the towel. You have to self-educate yourself to see that initiating a conversation does not trigger unintended consequences , and for that it is good to start with people before whom we do not feel vulnerable, in spite of being relatively unknown people.

Little by little, we must go up the level of difficulty, leaving more and more of the comfort zone.

5. Learn to listen

Paradoxically, what causes discomfort when initiating a conversation with someone who imposes respect is not the fact of starting to speak, but what can happen right after, when it is time to act again after having seen the reaction of the other. Therefore, it is very important to learn to listen.

If we listen to what the other person says, distancing ourselves from the situation and concentrating our attention on the content of your message It is very easy for us to spontaneously come up with reflections, questions or appreciations that may be interesting to share.

Bearing in mind that when training basic social skills our role can not be very outgoing, it is good to adopt the role of someone who knows how to listen: everyone likes to feel that there is someone who pays attention to what is being said.

Therefore, it is important to learn to adopt active listening skills that facilitate this: maintain eye contact (directing the gaze towards the other person's face is sufficient, if we do it and we do not pay more attention to that aspect, we will achieve it spontaneously without our noticing and without obsessing with the subject), agree, do short comments, erc.

6. Give the answer centered on the message

At this point, we must limit ourselves to answering about what the other person has said, although already We can introduce other related ideas , or even personal experiences. Since the conversation has already been initiated, it can be derived to practically any direction, provided that everything starts from the intervention of the other person.


6 Psychological Tricks To Make People Like You IMMEDIATELY (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment démarrer une conversation avec qui vous voulez, en 6 étapes

Comment démarrer une conversation avec qui vous voulez, en 6 étapes

Juin 5, 2020

Se connecter avec les autres est fondamental et fondamental pour avoir une vie satisfaisante; mais ce n'est pas toujours facile. Et c'est que, même si cela semble être un mensonge, savoir comment démarrer une conversation correctement Cela peut devenir un problème, dans certaines situations, même pour les personnes les plus extraverties.

Maintenant, malgré le fait que pour beaucoup de gens, cela signifie quitter la zone de confort, l'art de commencer à parler à qui l'on veut est une compétence qui peut être apprise.

  • Article connexe: "15 sujets de conversation intéressants et amusants"

Apprenez à démarrer une conversation

Quelque chose d'aussi simple que de savoir commencer spontanément une conversation avec quelqu'un qui nous intéresse il peut être ce qui fait la différence entre avoir une vie sociale complète ou ne pas l'avoir . Et il y a des gens qui ont tellement peur de ce genre de situation qu'ils finissent par s'isoler et avoir peu d'amis, ce qui est un moyen d'avoir un réseau de soutien social plutôt petit.


Nous verrons ensuite quelques aspects de base sur la manière de démarrer une conversation.

1. Apprendre à tolérer l'échec

La première chose à préciser est que, peu importe le nombre de lectures que vous lisez, cela ne fera que vous aider à savoir quelles stratégies suivre pour faire face à cette facette de votre vie sociale; Il est impossible d'apprendre ce genre de chose sans s'être mis à la pratique. Et cela signifie que, nécessairement, nous devrons passer par des situations inconfortables atteindre un objectif à moyen et long terme bien plus avantageux que le léger inconfort qui se dégage de la zone de confort au départ.

Il n'y a pas de recette magique qui résout la question du jour au lendemain sans avoir à faire des efforts. La clé est de savoir comment rendre cet effort productif.


2. Ne soyez pas un perfectionniste avec le moment

Presque n'importe quel endroit est bon pour commencer une conversation, tant que l'autre personne n'est pas pressée. Parfois, le fait de cesser d'analyser si le contexte est propice à approcher quelqu'un et à entamer un dialogue n'est qu'une excuse (masquée sous la rationalité) pour laisser passer ces opportunités.

3. Au début, optez pour les questions

Quand vous commencez à vous entraîner à démarrer des conversations , le fait que vous vous sentiez probablement nerveux et qu’une certaine anxiété limite votre marge d’action. Il est donc bon de reconnaître ce petit obstacle et d’agir en conséquence. Et une façon de le faire est de faire en sorte que le début du dialogue soit court pour soi et plus long pour l’autre personne. C'est-à-dire: ce que nous allons faire, c'est passer la responsabilité du dialogue à l'autre, à travers une question à laquelle l'interlocuteur doit répondre.


Maintenant, pour que cela fonctionne, cette question doit céder le pas à une réponse qui n'est pas courte et qui a une complexité relative. De cette façon, nous éviterons que nous obtenions en retour une simple phrase de quelques mots et qu’un silence gênant apparaisse. L’objectif est que la réponse de l’autre nous permette de commenter ce qui a été dit, et faire dériver le dialogue vers autre chose . Une fois que cela est fait, il est plus facile de se sentir à l'aise avec la situation.

4. Commencez avec le facile

C’est l’une des recommandations classiques de la psychologie, et cela fonctionne vraiment. Si nous abordons des objectifs très ambitieux au début, nous serons probablement frustrés et finirons par jeter l'éponge. Vous devez vous auto-éduquer pour voir que engager une conversation ne provoque pas de conséquences inattendues et pour cela, il est bon de commencer par les personnes devant lesquelles nous ne nous sentons pas vulnérables, malgré le fait que nous sommes relativement inconnus.

Petit à petit, nous devons augmenter le niveau de difficulté en laissant de plus en plus de place dans la zone de confort.

5. Apprendre à écouter

Paradoxalement, ce qui gêne lorsqu’on entame une conversation avec une personne qui impose le respect n’est pas le fait de commencer à parler, mais ce qui peut arriver tout de suite après, quand il est temps d’agir après avoir vu la réaction du un autre Il est donc très important d'apprendre à écouter.

Si nous écoutons ce que dit l’autre personne, nous éloignons de la situation et concentrer notre attention sur le contenu de votre message Il est très facile pour nous de proposer spontanément des réflexions, des questions ou des appréciations qu’il peut être intéressant de partager.

Gardant à l'esprit que lorsque nous formons des compétences sociales de base, notre rôle ne peut pas être très extraverti, il est bon d'adopter le rôle de quelqu'un qui sait écouter: tout le monde aime sentir qu'il y a quelqu'un qui fait attention à ce qui se dit.

Par conséquent, il est important d'apprendre à adopter des compétences d'écoute active qui facilitent ceci: maintenir le contact visuel (diriger le regard vers le visage de l'autre personne suffit, si nous le faisons et si nous ne prêtons pas plus d'attention à cet aspect, nous le réaliserons spontanément sans que nous en prenions conscience et sans être obsédé par le sujet), d'accord, d'accord commentaires brefs, erc.

6. Donner la réponse centrée sur le message

À ce stade, nous devons nous limiter à répondre à ce que l’autre a dit, bien que déjà Nous pouvons introduire d'autres idées connexes , ou même des expériences personnelles. Comme la conversation a déjà été lancée, elle peut être tirée dans presque toutes les directions, à condition que tout commence à partir de l’intervention de l’autre personne.


Comment aborder des inconnus et démarrer une conversation intéressante (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes