yes, therapy helps!
Marriage or single life? 20 advantages and disadvantages

Marriage or single life? 20 advantages and disadvantages

May 9, 2021

Having a partner and forming a family: this is the goal and / or desire of a large number of people in the world. The idea of ​​marrying a stable partner is seen as normative at a social level, as if it were a universal aspiration shared by all human beings. In fact, the fact of to remain in single life has been a source of ridicule and derision for many centuries .

However, in today's society many people advocate staying single, proclaiming that it is not necessary to share your life with a partner to be happy and that it means great benefits and a freer life. And with that comes the controversial debate about what is better: Marriage or single life? Next we reflect on some aspects of this interesting question.


  • Maybe you're interested: "8 types of single: what kinds of single people are there?"

A complex question

Resolving the question that gives name to this article is not simple. First of all we are talking about something very subjective, being able to obtain different answers depending on the person you are asking. This is because each one has very different values, beliefs and needs.

In second place we must take into account that being single or married It may not depend on the will of the person to : there are many people who are single, not because they want to, but because they can not find who they can stop being with, despite wanting it with all their might, or because despite having a partner they do not have the means to coexist with it. It is also possible to find in different cultures cases of marriages in which their spouses have been forced to become spouses, which is a serious loss for them.


Finally, as to whether it is better to be single or married, why should there be one option that is clearly better than the other? The truth is that both options have their advantages and disadvantages, so determining what is better depends largely on the objectives that each person has been raised as vital goals. Below we present the positive and negative aspects presented by each of the options.

  • Related article: "Is it possible to be single and be happy? The 8 benefits of not having a partner"

Arguments in favor of marriage

Below we present some of the ideas that the statistics reflect in the comparison between married and single. In the case of married people, we find that statistics show a series of advantages with respect to singles.

A longer life

One of the most widely known arguments in favor of marriage in the dispute between each other is better to be single or married is that On average married people tend to live longer (about three concretely) than single women.


This information has been confirmed in different investigations. However, we must bear in mind that this effect does not have to be a consequence of the marriage itself, may be due to many other reasons and it is even possible that it is not that people are healthier because they get married, but that those who are healthier tend to get married

Stability: have a regular support framework

Although family of origin and friends are a great social support, married people enjoy a point of support more than share much of their lives with them. As long as we are talking about a healthy and well-connected relationship, having a partner is a protective element of stress . Although in turn can be the source of it, according to the relationship maintained between its components.

In any case, marriage also serves to regularize time and allows to establish predictable routines that, while they may become monotonous over time, can serve as support in times of stress.

Better prognosis for heart diseases

Especially in the case of women, it has been detected that in married people there is greater chance of survival to heart problems, as well as to other types of serious diseases.

It is a source of brain stimulation

With age, human beings tend to reduce contact with other people outside their closest circle. In this context, the existence of a couple it supposes a cognitive stimulation which acts as a protective factor against diseases such as Alzheimer's.

Greater amount of total economic resources

Being two at home allows economically have a greater amount of capital , which in turn implies a greater possibility of obtaining desired goods or services such as rent or the purchase of a house.

Social rights and privileges

Although today's society is dynamic and fluid, it is still configured under the assumption that citizens will tend to get married. They exist then a series of social, cultural and even legal benefits and economic ones designed for married couples of what singles can not benefit or those who have more difficult access (aid, adoptions, etc.).

Marriage: elements against

However, the comparison with singles has also established the presence of a series of disadvantages of marriage .

It can be a source of stress

Although as we said the couple is a protective factor of stress, depending on the situation in which the couple is in fact can be a source of it. Conflicting relationships or problems prolonged in time they can aggravate the state of stress , tension and frustration of a person. Everything depends on the dynamics that occur in the relationship.

The social circle tends to narrow

Although this does not happen in all cases and nowadays this trend has diminished, there has traditionally been a certain predisposition that in married people the obligations and the time dedicated to the couple in the case of married people, it causes a progressive distancing from the usual social circle, restricting socialization to the closest circle and to friendships in common. On the other hand, the relationship with the latter tends to be something deeper.

They tend to make life more sedentary and less healthy

Statistically it has been proven that having a stable partner usually correlates with a decrease in the level of physical exercise performed and the interest in maintaining the figure (thus reducing healthy behavior), as well as in a tendency to give up.

Less personal autonomy

The fact of sharing your life with someone makes you have to take into account how one's actions can affect the other person. In this sense, one's desires and desires must be reflected in order to maintain a common project , which can cause some to be delayed or modified.

The advantages of a single life

On the other hand, the life of a single person also reflects a series of advantages with respect to people who have contracted marriage, some advantages that we present below.

Greater level of physical exercise and health

It has been shown that on average, single people tend to perform a much higher level of sport, which apart from maintaining physical shape protects their health. In fact, singles register a lower number of cardiovascular diseases , although its survival rate is lower. Likewise, it has been shown that, as a general rule, they tend to have more stable and regular sleep cycles, sleeping better than married couples.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 psychological benefits of practicing physical exercise"

Greater level of autonomy

The single or single person has more free time and much more choice, as you do not have to stop and think about what another person wants like when you have a stable relationship. So the what, how, when and with whom to do something can be chosen more easily, without having to negotiate with anyone . This also implies that there is a greater option to pursue individual personal objectives.

Economic independence

It is possible that married people, having the financial support of the other, have a greater amount of capital. However, being in pairs involves the investment of much of it in common elements. The singles however are in this sense more independent, being able to distribute your money however you want without having to negotiate on what.

Live a more heterogeneous life

Married people usually live a more regular and stable life, with a greater number of fixed routines. However, single people they have more free time and can afford a greater amount of diverse experiences without having to plan them too early (beyond what other obligations require them). They can travel, play sports or dedicate themselves to their hobbies without having to give explanations to anyone.

Greater capacity for socialization

Although living as a couple does not eliminate socialization, single people are usually more open to establishing new relationships, getting to know more people and expanding their social circle. As well It is easier to maintain ties with friends and acquaintances , by not focusing their attention on the couple.

Facilitates the exercise of resilience

The fact of not having someone next to you to be able to rely on in case of need can be devastating. But nevertheless, forces the person to exercise resilience in a much more powerful way than before someone with such support.

  • Related article: "Resilience: definition and 10 habits to enhance it"

Disadvantages of being single

As with married people, being single is also a series of disadvantages that we have below.

Lower level of stability and support

As mentioned above, having a partner helps maintain a regular and relatively stable life, helping to focus efforts on specific points. Single people tend to have a higher level of freedom, but do not enjoy such a stable and relatively safe environment.

Having a stable partner and / or being married means having frequent contact with someone in whom, in principle, being able to support oneself in times of need. While family and friends can also be powerful support, single people do not enjoy this extra reinforcement .

Healthier, but at the same time more risky behavior

While they are more likely to play sports and generally care more, singles tend to perform more risky behaviors . The consumption of tobacco and drugs is more frequent, as well as the performance of high-risk sports or the practice of risky sexual relations.

Worst prognosis in the recovery of serious diseases

It has been shown that singleness, especially when it is involuntary, tends to be linked to a lower survival rate or recovery from serious disorders such as cardiovascular diseases.

Socially they are less taken into account

Society is structured around the concept of couple and family. Single people are going to find that a large part of the institutions offer different options and advantages that they can not access, or they find it more complex to do it.

Final score

The final conclusion of the question that gives rise to this article is that each of the options presents advantages and disadvantages both short and long term , depending on the answer of the question of each person, their personality, their values ​​and desires and the type of relationships that they have throughout their life.

Likewise, the data that we have reflected in the article are data extracted from different statistics, indicating only general trends. Not all married or single people live their marital status in the same way, so the elements cited are not true in all cases.


20 Advantages Of Being Single (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mariage ou vie de célibataire? 20 avantages et inconvénients

Mariage ou vie de célibataire? 20 avantages et inconvénients

Mai 11, 2021

Avoir un partenaire et fonder une famille: tel est l’objectif et / ou le désir d’un grand nombre de personnes dans le monde. L'idée d'épouser un partenaire stable est considérée comme normative au niveau social, comme s'il s'agissait d'une aspiration universelle partagée par tous les êtres humains. En fait, le fait de rester célibataire est une source de ridicule et de dérision depuis de nombreux siècles .

Cependant, dans la société d'aujourd'hui, beaucoup de gens préconisent de rester célibataires, en proclamant qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de partager votre vie avec un partenaire pour être heureux et que cela signifie de grands avantages et une vie plus libre. Et avec cela vient le débat controversé sur ce qui est meilleur: Mariage ou vie de célibataire? Nous examinons ensuite certains aspects de cette question intéressante.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "8 types de célibataires: quels types de célibataires existe-t-il?"

Une question complexe

Résoudre la question qui donne un nom à cet article n’est pas simple. Tout d’abord, nous parlons de quelque chose de très subjectif: pouvoir obtenir différentes réponses en fonction de la personne à laquelle vous vous adressez. En effet, chacun a des valeurs, des croyances et des besoins très différents.

En second lieu, il faut prendre en compte le fait d'être célibataire ou marié Cela peut ne pas dépendre de la volonté de la personne un : il y a beaucoup de célibataires, non pas parce qu'ils le veulent, mais parce qu'ils ne peuvent pas trouver qui ils peuvent cesser d'être, même s'ils le veulent de toutes leurs forces, ou parce qu'ils n'ont pas les moyens de coexister avec un partenaire. Il est également possible de trouver dans différentes cultures des cas de mariages dans lesquels leurs époux ont été contraints de devenir époux, ce qui représente une perte grave pour eux.


Enfin, quant à savoir s’il vaut mieux être célibataire ou marié, pourquoi devrait-il y avoir une option qui est clairement meilleure que l’autre? La vérité est que les deux options ont leurs avantages et inconvénients, afin de déterminer ce qui est mieux dépend en grande partie des objectifs que chaque personne a été soulevée comme des objectifs vitaux. Nous présentons ci-dessous les aspects positifs et négatifs présentés par chacune des options.

  • Article connexe: "Est-il possible d'être célibataire et heureux? Les 8 avantages de ne pas avoir de partenaire"

Arguments en faveur du mariage

Nous présentons ci-dessous certaines des idées reflétées par les statistiques dans la comparaison entre célibataire et marié. Dans le cas des personnes mariées, nous constatons que les statistiques montrent une série d’avantages par rapport aux célibataires.

Une vie plus longue

L’un des arguments les plus connus en faveur du mariage dans le litige est qu’il vaut mieux être célibataire ou marié, c’est que En moyenne, les personnes mariées ont tendance à vivre plus longtemps (environ trois concrètement) que les femmes célibataires.


Cette information a été confirmée dans différentes enquêtes. Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que cet effet ne doit pas nécessairement être une conséquence du mariage lui-même, peut-être pour de nombreuses autres raisons et il est même possible que les personnes ne soient pas en meilleure santé parce qu'elles se marient, mais que les personnes en meilleure santé tendent se marier

Stabilité: avoir un cadre de soutien régulier

Bien que la famille d'origine et les amis constituent un excellent soutien social, les personnes mariées bénéficient d'un point de soutien plus que de partager une grande partie de leur vie avec elles. Tant que nous parlons d’une relation saine et bien connectée, avoir un partenaire est un élément protecteur du stress . Bien que peut à son tour en être la source, en fonction de la relation maintenue entre ses composants.

Dans tous les cas, le mariage sert également à régulariser le temps et à établir des routines prévisibles qui, même si elles peuvent devenir monotones au fil du temps, peuvent servir de support en période de stress.

Meilleur pronostic pour les maladies cardiaques

Surtout dans le cas des femmes, il a été détecté que chez les personnes mariées, il y a plus de chances de survie problèmes cardiaques, ainsi que d’autres types de maladies graves.

C'est une source de stimulation cérébrale

Avec l’âge, les êtres humains ont tendance à réduire les contacts avec d’autres personnes en dehors de leur cercle le plus proche. Dans ce contexte, l'existence d'un couple il suppose une stimulation cognitive qui agit comme un facteur de protection contre des maladies telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Plus grande quantité de ressources économiques totales

Être deux à la maison permet économiquement avoir une plus grande quantité de capital , ce qui implique à son tour une plus grande possibilité d’obtenir les biens ou services souhaités tels que le loyer ou l’achat d’une maison.

Droits sociaux et privilèges

Bien que la société actuelle soit dynamique et fluide, elle est toujours configurée dans l'hypothèse où les citoyens auront tendance à se marier. Ils existent alors une série d'avantages sociaux, culturels et même juridiques et économiques conçus pour les couples mariés de ce que les célibataires ne peuvent pas bénéficier ou ceux qui ont un accès plus difficile (aide, adoptions, etc.).

Mariage: éléments contre

Cependant, la comparaison avec les célibataires a également établi la présence de une série d'inconvénients du mariage .

Cela peut être une source de stress

Bien que, comme nous l’avons dit, le couple soit un facteur de protection contre le stress, il peut en être une source en fonction de la situation dans laquelle il se trouve. Relations conflictuelles ou problèmes prolongés dans le temps ils peuvent aggraver l'état de stress , tension et frustration d'une personne. Tout dépend de la dynamique qui se produit dans la relation.

Le cercle social a tendance à se rétrécir

Bien que cela ne se produise pas dans tous les cas et que, de nos jours, cette tendance ait diminué, il existe traditionnellement une certaine prédisposition à ce que les personnes mariées les obligations et le temps consacrés au couple dans le cas des personnes mariées, cela provoque une distanciation progressive par rapport au cercle social habituel, en limitant la socialisation au cercle le plus proche et aux amitiés communes. D'autre part, la relation avec ce dernier a tendance à être plus profonde.

Ils ont tendance à rendre la vie plus sédentaire et moins saine

Statistiquement, il a été prouvé qu’avoir un partenaire stable est en corrélation avec une diminution du niveau d'exercice physique réalisés et l’intérêt de maintenir la silhouette (réduisant ainsi le comportement sain), ainsi que d’une tendance à abandonner.

Moins d'autonomie personnelle

Le fait de partager votre vie avec quelqu'un vous oblige à prendre en compte la manière dont nos actions peuvent affecter l'autre personne. En ce sens, ses désirs et ses désirs doivent être reflétés afin de maintenir un projet commun , ce qui peut en retarder ou en modifier certains.

Les avantages d'une vie unique

D'autre part, la vie d'une personne célibataire reflète également une série d'avantages par rapport aux personnes qui ont contracté le mariage, avantages que nous présentons ci-dessous.

Plus grande activité physique et santé

Il a été démontré qu'en moyenne, les célibataires ont tendance à pratiquer un niveau de sport beaucoup plus élevé, ce qui, outre le maintien de leur forme physique, protège leur santé. En fait les célibataires enregistrent un nombre inférieur de maladies cardiovasculaires , bien que son taux de survie soit inférieur. De même, il a été démontré que, en règle générale, ils ont généralement des cycles de sommeil plus stables et plus réguliers, dormant mieux que les couples mariés.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 avantages psychologiques de l'exercice physique"

Plus grande autonomie

Les célibataires ou les célibataires ont plus de temps libre et beaucoup plus de choix, car vous n'avez pas à vous arrêter et à penser à ce qu'une autre personne veut quand vous avez une relation stable. Ainsi, le quoi, comment, quand et avec qui faire quelque chose peut être choisi plus facilement, sans avoir à négocier avec personne . Cela implique également qu'il existe une plus grande possibilité de poursuivre des objectifs personnels individuels.

Indépendance économique

Il est possible que les personnes mariées, bénéficiant du soutien financier de l'autre, disposent d'un capital plus important. Cependant, être en binôme implique l’investissement d’une grande partie dans des éléments communs. Les célibataires sont cependant dans ce sens plus indépendants, être capable de distribuer votre argent comme vous le souhaitez sans avoir à négocier sur quoi.

Vivre une vie plus hétérogène

Les personnes mariées mènent généralement une vie plus régulière et stable, avec un plus grand nombre de routines fixes. Cependant, les célibataires ils ont plus de temps libre et peuvent se permettre une plus grande quantité d'expériences diverses sans avoir à les planifier trop tôt (au-delà de ce que les autres obligations exigent). Ils peuvent voyager, faire du sport ou se consacrer à leurs passe-temps sans devoir donner d'explications à qui que ce soit.

Plus grande capacité de socialisation

Bien que vivre en couple ne supprime pas la socialisation, les célibataires sont généralement plus disposés à nouer de nouvelles relations, à connaître plus de gens et à élargir leur cercle social. Aussi Il est plus facile de maintenir des liens avec des amis et des connaissances , en ne concentrant pas leur attention sur le couple.

Facilite l'exercice de résilience

Le fait de ne pas avoir quelqu'un à côté de vous sur lequel compter en cas de besoin peut être dévastateur. Cependant, oblige la personne à faire preuve de résilience d'une manière beaucoup plus puissante qu'auparavant quelqu'un avec un tel soutien.

  • Article connexe: "Résilience: définition et 10 habitudes pour l'améliorer"

Inconvénients d'être célibataire

Comme pour les personnes mariées, être célibataire est aussi une série de désavantages que nous avons ci-dessous.

Niveau inférieur de stabilité et de soutien

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, avoir un partenaire aide à maintenir une vie régulière et relativement stable, en aidant à concentrer les efforts sur des points spécifiques. Les célibataires ont tendance à avoir un niveau de liberté plus élevé, mais ne bénéficient pas d'un environnement aussi stable et relativement sûr.

Avoir un partenaire stable et / ou être marié signifie avoir des contacts fréquents avec quelqu'un en qui, en principe, pouvoir subvenir à ses besoins en cas de besoin. Si la famille et les amis peuvent également constituer un puissant soutien, les célibataires ne pas profiter de ce renforcement supplémentaire .

Un comportement plus sain, mais en même temps plus risqué

Bien qu’ils soient plus susceptibles de faire du sport et s’intéressent généralement plus à eux-mêmes, les célibataires ont tendance à adopter des comportements plus risqués . La consommation de tabac et de drogues est plus fréquente, de même que la pratique de sports à haut risque ou la pratique de relations sexuelles à risque.

Pire pronostic dans la récupération de maladies graves

Il a été démontré que la solitude, surtout lorsqu'elle est involontaire, tend à être lié à un taux de survie inférieur ou la récupération de troubles graves tels que les maladies cardiovasculaires.

Socialement, ils sont moins pris en compte

La société est structurée autour du concept de couple et de famille. Les célibataires vont constater qu’une grande partie des institutions offrent différentes options et avantages auxquels ils ne peuvent pas accéder, ou ils trouvent cela plus complexe de le faire.

Résultat final

La conclusion finale de la question à l'origine de cet article est que chacune des options présente des avantages et des inconvénients à court et à long terme , en fonction de la réponse à la question de chaque personne, de sa personnalité, de ses valeurs et de ses désirs et du type de relations qu’elle entretient tout au long de sa vie.

De même, les données que nous avons reflétées dans l'article sont des données extraites de différentes statistiques, indiquant uniquement les tendances générales. Tous les hommes mariés ou célibataires ne vivent pas leur statut matrimonial de la même manière, les éléments cités ne sont donc pas vrais.


Couple mixte : s’aimer malgré la différence - Je t'aime etc (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes