yes, therapy helps!
Pennyroyal: its 7 properties and health benefits

Pennyroyal: its 7 properties and health benefits

August 8, 2022

Today and throughout history, there are many infusions that have enjoyed great popularity among different cultures and population groups, using various herbs with useful medicinal properties to alleviate certain discomforts or generate alterations in our levels of activation or mood.

Tea or chamomile are probably the best known, as well as (although we do not usually stop to identify it as such) coffee. Another of the plants that are used for the realization of infusions is pennyroyal mint , which we are going to talk about throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant"

Pennyroyal mint: basic description

Poleo mint is the popular name we give to the "Mentha pulegium", a type of aromatic plant that like rosemary, oregano, sage or basil is part of the family of the lamiaceae. It is one of the best known forms of mint, which has been used for centuries in the Mediterranean and the East for multiple purposes, from as an insect repellent to flavoring through its use as a medicinal herb.


Pennyroyal is a plant that It has numerous properties that make it recommendable to help fight many discomforts and promote our well-being, but nevertheless some of its components can be toxic (especially pulegone). In general, the whole plant is usually used and consumed, although the most common is that the leaves are used to make infusions.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Thyme infusion: how to prepare it, and its health properties"

Healthy properties of this plant

There are many properties of pennyroyal that make it a useful herb in its multiple presentations, especially when used as an infusion. Among these beneficial properties, some of the main ones are the following .


1. It favors digestion and reduces intestinal discomfort

Pennyroyal is very useful in favoring the digestive process.

Specifically, it has a cholagogue effect, which implies that it generates the expulsion of bile from the gallbladder (something fundamental for the digestive process) and in turn facilitates the evacuation. Besides it is antispasmodic, decreasing sudden contractions or spasms that can occur viscerally . It also has the interesting property of facilitating the expulsion of gases, something that diminishes possible discomfort.

2. Stimulates the appetite

It has been observed that pennyroyal is a plant that has the ability to promote an increase in appetite and hunger, something that may be useful in those people who show little appetite (for example in the face of displeasure or depression).

3. Contributes to the regulation of the menstrual cycle

Pennyroyal has been shown to have an emenagological effect, which implies that the action of this plant may favor the expulsion of menstrual flow. This makes it useful in those people with alterations, dysregulations or stops of the menstrual cycle. The aforementioned antispasmodic effect also makes it easier for premenstrual syndrome to be less .


4. Facilitates exudation

Another useful property of this plant is the fact that it can contribute to lower fever and body temperature by causing an increase in sweating.

5. Antiseptic, antifungal and parasiticide

In addition to the above properties, another advantage of pennyroyal is that combat different bacteria and parasites, as well as some fungal species . In this way, it is often used both in infusion to take orally and to clean wounds externally or even as a mouthwash.

6. Helps fight against cold symptoms and mild respiratory disorders

Pennyroyal is also used both at the infusion and vaporized levels for the treatment of some conditions such as the common cold or bronchitis , since it has a mild antitussive effect and facilitates the expulsion of mucus. This is due to menthol, which has the same as the other plants of the mentha genus.

7. Relaxing

Stress and anxiety can be slightly lessened with an infusion of pennyroyal, which Helps to relax and facilitates rest and sleep .

Risks and contraindications

Although mint pennyroyal is a relatively popular herb and especially used when preparing infusions (in which case the low concentration of the components of this plant makes it generally not harmful), the fact is that may cause adverse effects on health .

Therefore, under certain conditions may be contraindicated, especially when excessive consumption occurs. The risk is usually higher when what is being used is the essential oil .

To begin with, keep in mind that this plant can be irritating, something that can generate burning and pain along the digestive tract. In addition, if consumed in excess it can generate from diarrhea to headaches, passing through gastrointestinal problems.

As more significant aspects we find the fact that mint pennyroyal can become toxic at the renal and hepatic levels, and its consumption should be avoided by people with insufficiency or problems related to these organs.

As well affects the absorption of iron , hindering it and decreasing its levels, and could even generate a hypoglycemia. That is why it is recommended that people with anemia not consume it.

further is contraindicated during pregnancy since it favors the appearance of contractions in the uterus, something that in high doses can end up by facilitating an abortion or a premature birth. Neither in lactation nor in children under two years of age.

Bibliographic references:

  • Batllori, L. (1990): Medicinal plants and plant drugs: Poleo. Offarm 9 (9): 97-98.
  • Muñoz, L.M., Alonso, M.T. and Santos, M.T. (1998). Spanish medicinal plants. Mentha Pulegium L. (Labiatae). (Poleo, pennyroyal). Stud.bot, 17. Editions Universidad de Salamanca.

Mint Leaves: Health Benefits and Uses (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pennyroyal: ses 7 propriétés et ses bienfaits pour la santé

Pennyroyal: ses 7 propriétés et ses bienfaits pour la santé

Novembre 28, 2022

Aujourd'hui et au cours de l'histoire, de nombreuses infusions ont acquis une grande popularité parmi les différentes cultures et groupes de population, utilisant diverses herbes aux propriétés médicinales utiles pour soulager certains malaises ou générer des altérations de nos niveaux de activation ou humeur.

Le thé ou la camomille sont probablement les mieux connus, ainsi que le café (bien que nous ne cessions généralement pas de l'identifier). Une autre des plantes utilisées pour la réalisation d’infusions est la menthe pennyroyale , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Camomille: 7 propriétés et avantages de cette plante"

Pennyroyal menthe: description de base

Poleo menthe est le nom populaire que nous donnons à la "Mentha pulegium", un type de plante aromatique qui, comme le romarin, l'origan, la sauge ou le basilic fait partie de la famille des lamiacées. C'est l'une des formes de menthe les plus connues, utilisée depuis des siècles en Méditerranée et en Orient à des fins multiples, du répulsif aux insectes à l'aromatisant en passant par son utilisation comme plante médicinale.


Pennyroyal est une plante qui Il a de nombreuses propriétés qui le rendent recommandable pour aider à lutter contre de nombreux malaises et promouvoir notre bien-être, néanmoins, certains de ses composants peuvent être toxiques (en particulier le pulegone). En général, la plante entière est habituellement utilisée et consommée, bien que le plus commun soit que les feuilles sont utilisées pour faire des infusions.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Infusion de thym: comment la préparer et ses propriétés bénéfiques pour la santé"

Propriétés saines de cette plante

Pennyroyal possède de nombreuses propriétés qui en font une herbe utile dans ses présentations multiples, en particulier lorsqu’il est utilisé en infusion. Parmi ces propriétés bénéfiques, les principales sont les suivantes: .


1. Il favorise la digestion et réduit les malaises intestinaux

Pennyroyal est très utile pour favoriser le processus de digestion.

En particulier, il a un effet cholagogue, ce qui implique qu’il génère l’expulsion de la bile de la vésicule biliaire (ce qui est fondamental pour le processus de digestion) et facilite ainsi l’évacuation. En plus c'est antispasmodique, diminuant les contractions soudaines ou les spasmes qui peuvent se produire viscéralement . Il a également la propriété intéressante de faciliter l’expulsion des gaz, ce qui diminue l’inconfort possible.

2. Stimule l'appétit

Il a été observé que le pennyroyal est une plante capable de stimuler l'appétit et la faim, ce qui peut être utile chez les personnes qui ont peu d'appétit (par exemple face au mécontentement ou à la dépression).

3. Contribue à la régulation du cycle menstruel

Il a été démontré que Pennyroyal a un effet éménagologique, ce qui implique que l'action de cette plante peut favoriser l'expulsion du flux menstruel. Cela le rend utile chez les personnes présentant des altérations, des dérèglements ou des arrêts du cycle menstruel. L'effet antispasmodique susmentionné rend également plus facile pour le syndrome prémenstruel d'être moins .


4. Facilite l'exsudation

Une autre propriété utile de cette plante est le fait qu’elle peut contribuer à réduire la fièvre et la température corporelle en provoquant une augmentation de la transpiration.

5. Antiseptique, antifongique et parasiticide

En plus des propriétés ci-dessus, pennyroyal présente un autre avantage: combattre différentes bactéries et parasites, ainsi que certaines espèces de champignons . De cette manière, il est souvent utilisé à la fois en perfusion pour prendre par voie orale et pour nettoyer les plaies à l’extérieur ou même en bain de bouche.

6. aide à lutter contre les symptômes du rhume et les troubles respiratoires légers

Pennyroyal est également utilisé aux niveaux de perfusion et de vaporisation pour le traitement de certaines conditions telles que le rhume ou la bronchite , car il a un léger effet antitussif et facilite l’expulsion du mucus. Cela est dû au menthol, qui a les mêmes propriétés que les autres plantes du genre mentha.

7. Détente

Le stress et l’anxiété peuvent être légèrement atténués par une infusion de pennyroyal, qui Aide à la détente et facilite le repos et le sommeil .

Risques et contre-indications

Bien que la menthe pennyroyal soit une plante relativement populaire et particulièrement utilisée pour préparer des infusions (auquel cas la faible concentration des composants de cette plante ne la rend généralement pas nocive), le fait est que peut avoir des effets néfastes sur la santé .

Par conséquent, certaines conditions peuvent être contre-indiquées, notamment en cas de consommation excessive. Le risque est généralement plus élevé quand on utilise l'huile essentielle .

Pour commencer, gardez à l'esprit que cette plante peut être irritante, ce qui peut générer des brûlures et des douleurs le long du tube digestif. En outre, si consommé en excès, il peut générer des diarrhées, des maux de tête et des problèmes gastro-intestinaux.

Parmi les aspects les plus significatifs, nous constatons que la menthe pennyroyal peut devenir toxique aux niveaux rénal et hépatique et que sa consommation devrait être évitée par les personnes souffrant d'insuffisance ou de problèmes liés à ces organes.

Aussi affecte l'absorption du fer , l'empêchant et diminuant ses niveaux, et pourrait même générer une hypoglycémie. C'est pourquoi il est recommandé aux personnes atteintes d'anémie de ne pas le consommer.

En outre est contre-indiqué pendant la grossesse puisqu'il favorise l'apparition de contractions dans l'utérus, ce qui, à fortes doses, peut finir par faciliter un avortement ou une naissance prématurée. Ni en lactation ni chez les enfants de moins de deux ans.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Batllori, L. (1990): Plantes médicinales et plantes médicinales: Poleo. Offarm 9 (9): 97-98.
  • Muñoz, L.M., Alonso, M.T. et Santos, M.T. (1998). Plantes médicinales espagnoles. Mentha Pulegium L. (Labiatae). (Poleo, pennyroyal). Stud.bot, 17. Editions Universidad de Salamanca.
Articles Connexes