yes, therapy helps!
Perinatal depression: causes, symptoms and tips to overcome it

Perinatal depression: causes, symptoms and tips to overcome it

February 14, 2024

Pregnancy is a period marked by illusions, but also by suffering . Some mothers experience, shortly before or after childbirth, what is known as perinatal depression (DPN) .

This form of depression that can be especially tragic for both her and the child is a peculiar manifestation that requires a different treatment of major depression, as it has its own characteristics. We explain the keys to understand it and review the most effective treatments.

  • Recommended article: "Are there several types of depression?"

Perinatal depression, more than postpartum

For a while now, psychologists have expanded the definition of what was previously labeled as depression with postpartum initiation.


We know that depression can begin a few months before delivery and that it is the same phenomenon that will follow the mood of the mother during the year after giving birth.

Clinical description

Perinatal depression includes any minor or major depressive episode that occurs during pregnancy or within 12 months after delivery . There is a certain degree of uncertainty regarding the incidence of the disorder. Several studies agree on prevalence rates that range between 10-15%. However, when excluding studies where the diagnosis is based only on self-reports, rates of 6.5% to 12.9% are achieved. It is a global phenomenon, not exclusive to Western society.


symptom

Mothers who suffer from it feel extremely guilty, some even hate their child. They feel lonely and overwhelmed, they need help and they do not know how to ask for it. They are full of ruminative thoughts, sticky beliefs that they find very difficult to get rid of and that seriously obstruct their lives.

Women with perinatal depression are in a period of transition from role, from women to mothers , which is difficult to assume. Likewise, difficulties in communicating with a partner can further aggravate the feeling of being completely alone.

The severity of the disorder is not limited to how incapacitating it can be for the person who suffers it. Maternal perinatal depression is associated with a higher incidence of excessive crying in the child, colic, sleep problems, temperamental difficulties, worse self-regulation and more stress indicators. It is also associated with negative mother-child interactions, including detachment, withdrawal, intrusion, and hostility, as well as worse interpersonal functioning of the infant, insecure attachment, and high rates of behavioral and emotional problems.


The main risk factor for undergoing perinatal depression is inadequate social support. The danger is increased by different deficiencies in social support such as:

  • Not having someone similar with whom to talk openly.
  • Not having friends or intimate relationships.
  • Do not receive support without having to ask for it.
  • Feeling socially isolated

Treatment and advice

A very common characteristic in perinatal depression is that mothers feel ashamed of suffering from depression, so much so that they do not ask for help. For this, it is especially important to normalize perinatal depression .

Anyone can suffer an emotional disorder, especially during a difficult period such as pregnancy and the enormous change that involves in family life. The arrival of a child always marks a before and after.

1. Psychoeducation and activation

The first stone in overcoming perinatal depression is set when the mother understands what happens to her and why it happens. Once this is done, you can start planning a whole series of activities that will start it up and make it feel useful again.

2. Learning to be a mother

One of the main concerns of mothers with perinatal depression is not living up to and being a "bad mother" . The truth is that no mother learns by magic, and some people can cost more than others. In addition to attacking these thoughts, it will be vitally important that mothers learn to feel comfortable interacting with their baby.

A good way to achieve this may be to attend workshops that teach you how to play with your baby, how to handle difficult situations (incessant crying, tantrums, etc.) or problems when eating. Support groups can be very helpful when proposing alternative behaviors that promote the optimal relationship with the baby.

3. Working with the social support network and communication

Because perinatal depression is a markedly social disorder, it is vital to identify patterns of communication that are not working. It will be necessary for both the mother and the father to learn to relate and communicate what they think in a clear way and without accusations.If we achieve this we will achieve two things: that the mother can ask for and receive help, and stop feeling completely alone and overwhelmed.

The support groups are a very important network in this aspect . Being able to talk with other mothers who are going through the same process, sharing their own experiences and receiving advice from other women will make them feel sheltered and better prepared to face motherhood.

4. Role transitions

Motherhood is difficult to incorporate . Role change can mean the loss of personal meaning, from a working woman to a simple mother.

It will be very important to recover those activities that were part of the mother's identity. Identify those reinforcers that existed before the baby as the feeling of doing a good job or enjoy an afternoon with friends, as well as find opportunities within the new routine to incorporate them again.

Likewise, there may be a conflict between long-term goals (for example, between family and work). Sometimes it will be necessary to rethink the goals and restructure them to make them as harmonious as they are realistic.

5. Attacking maladaptive thoughts

As in any emotional disorder, we're going to have to work through cognitive techniques the thoughts that instead of helping , they anchor people in the depths of depression.

Mothers must learn to identify in what situations they appear and acquire strategies to get ahead of them or know how to neutralize them when they appear with more adaptive thoughts and adjusted to reality.

In addition, it is especially important to acquire the habit of thinking about problems only if it is to solve them. It is very easy to get stuck in the emotional discomfort caused by worries, but the only way out of these quicksand is to take a distance and remind yourself that in the face of a problem there is no other way out than to find a solution.


Updates on Postpartum Anxiety and Depression - Stanford Children's Health (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dépression périnatale: causes, symptômes et astuces pour la surmonter

Dépression périnatale: causes, symptômes et astuces pour la surmonter

Juin 13, 2021

La grossesse est une période marquée par les illusions mais aussi par la souffrance . Quelques mères éprouvent, peu avant ou après l’accouchement, ce que l’on appelle dépression périnatale (DPN) .

Cette forme de dépression qui peut être particulièrement tragique à la fois pour elle et pour l'enfant est une manifestation particulière qui nécessite un traitement différent de la dépression majeure, car elle possède ses propres caractéristiques. Nous expliquons les clés pour le comprendre et passons en revue les traitements les plus efficaces.

  • Article recommandé: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

Dépression périnatale, plus que post-partum

Depuis un certain temps, les psychologues ont élargi la définition de ce qui était auparavant appelé la dépression avec initiation post-partum.


Nous savons que la dépression peut commencer quelques mois avant l'accouchement et que c'est le même phénomène qui suivra l'humeur de la mère pendant l'année qui suit l'accouchement.

Description clinique

La dépression périnatale comprend tout épisode dépressif mineur ou majeur survenant pendant la grossesse ou dans les 12 mois suivant l'accouchement. . Il existe un certain degré d'incertitude concernant l'incidence de la maladie. Plusieurs études s'accordent sur des taux de prévalence compris entre 10 et 15%. Cependant, en excluant les études où le diagnostic repose uniquement sur des auto-évaluations, des taux de 6,5% à 12,9% sont atteints. C'est un phénomène mondial, pas exclusif à la société occidentale.


Les symptômes

Les mères qui en souffrent se sentent extrêmement coupables, certaines haïssent même leur enfant. Ils se sentent seuls et dépassés, ils ont besoin d’aide et ils ne savent pas comment le demander. Ils sont pleins de pensées ruminatives, de croyances tenaces qu’il leur est très difficile de se débarrasser et qui les gênent sérieusement.

Les femmes atteintes de dépression périnatale sont dans une période de transition du rôle, des femmes aux mères , ce qui est difficile à assumer. De même, des difficultés de communication avec un partenaire peuvent encore aggraver le sentiment d'être complètement seul.

La gravité de la maladie ne se limite pas à son incapacité pour la personne qui la subit. La dépression périnatale maternelle est associée à une incidence plus élevée de pleurs excessifs chez l'enfant, de coliques, de problèmes de sommeil, de troubles du tempérament, d'une plus grande auto-régulation et de plus d'indicateurs de stress. Il est également associé à des interactions négatives mère-enfant, y compris le détachement, le retrait, l'intrusion et l'hostilité, ainsi qu'un pire fonctionnement interpersonnel du nourrisson, un attachement insécurisé et des taux élevés de problèmes de comportement et affectifs.


Le principal facteur de risque de dépression périnatale est un soutien social insuffisant. Le danger est accru par différentes carences de soutien social telles que:

  • Ne pas avoir quelqu'un de semblable avec qui parler ouvertement.
  • Ne pas avoir d'amis ou de relations intimes.
  • Ne recevez pas de soutien sans avoir à le demander.
  • Se sentir isolé socialement

Traitement et conseil

Une caractéristique très commune dans la dépression périnatale est que les mères ont honte de souffrir de dépression, à tel point qu'elles ne demandent pas d'aide. Pour ça, il est particulièrement important de normaliser la dépression périnatale .

Toute personne peut souffrir d'un désordre émotionnel, en particulier pendant une période difficile telle que la grossesse et les énormes changements que la vie familiale implique. L'arrivée d'un enfant marque toujours un avant et un après.

1. Psychoéducation et activation

Pour surmonter la dépression périnatale, la première pierre est posée lorsque la mère comprend ce qui lui arrive et pourquoi cela se produit. Une fois que cela est fait, vous pouvez commencer à planifier toute une série d’activités qui le lanceront et le rendront utile à nouveau.

2. Apprendre à être mère

L'une des principales préoccupations des mères souffrant de dépression périnatale est de ne pas être à la hauteur et d'être une "mauvaise mère" . La vérité est qu'aucune mère n'apprend par magie et que certaines personnes peuvent coûter plus cher que d'autres. En plus d’attaquer ces pensées, il sera d’une importance vitale que les mères apprennent à se sentir à l’aise pour interagir avec leur bébé.

Pour ce faire, vous pouvez participer à des ateliers qui vous apprendront à jouer avec votre bébé, à gérer des situations difficiles (pleurs incessants, accès de colère, etc.) ou à rencontrer des problèmes pour manger. Les groupes de soutien peuvent être très utiles pour proposer des comportements alternatifs favorisant une relation optimale avec le bébé.

3. Travailler avec le réseau de soutien social et la communication

La dépression périnatale étant un désordre social marqué, il est essentiel d'identifier les schémas de communication qui ne fonctionnent pas. La mère et le père devront apprendre à raconter et à communiquer ce qu'ils pensent de manière claire et sans accusations.Si nous y parvenons, nous obtiendrons deux choses: que la mère puisse demander et recevoir de l'aide et cesser de se sentir complètement seule et dépassée.

Les groupes de soutien constituent un réseau très important à cet égard. . Etre capable de parler avec d'autres mères qui suivent le même processus, de partager leurs propres expériences et de recevoir des conseils d'autres femmes leur permettra de se sentir à l'abri et mieux préparées à affronter la maternité.

4. Transitions de rôles

La maternité est difficile à intégrer . Le changement de rôle peut signifier la perte de signification personnelle, d’une femme qui travaille à une simple mère.

Il sera très important de récupérer les activités qui faisaient partie de l'identité de la mère. Identifiez ces renforcements qui existaient avant le bébé comme le sentiment de bien travailler ou passez un après-midi avec des amis, et trouvez des opportunités dans la nouvelle routine pour les incorporer à nouveau.

De même, il peut exister un conflit entre les objectifs à long terme (par exemple, entre la famille et le travail). Parfois, il sera nécessaire de repenser les objectifs et de les restructurer pour les rendre aussi harmonieux que réalistes.

5. Attaquer les pensées mésadaptées

Comme dans tout désordre émotionnel, nous allons devoir travailler à travers des techniques cognitives les pensées qu'au lieu d'aider , ils ancrent les gens au plus profond de la dépression.

Les mères doivent apprendre à identifier dans quelles situations elles apparaissent et à acquérir des stratégies pour les devancer ou savoir les neutraliser lorsqu'elles apparaissent avec des pensées plus adaptatives et adaptées à la réalité.

En outre, il est particulièrement important d’acquérir l’habitude de penser aux problèmes uniquement si c’est pour les résoudre. Il est très facile de rester coincé dans le malaise émotionnel causé par les inquiétudes, mais le seul moyen de sortir de ces sables mouvants est de prendre de la distance et de se rappeler que face à un problème, il n'y a pas d'autre solution que de trouver une solution.


Dépression du post-partum : comment en guérir ? (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes