yes, therapy helps!
Piper: an endearing short on the ability to overcome

Piper: an endearing short on the ability to overcome

January 29, 2023

There are many media outlets that, in the summer of 2016, echoed "Piper", a story that illustrates the life of a breeding of sandpipers (a kind of common bird in humid areas) that ventures for the first time to look for food.

This work directed by Alan Barillaro has been considered by critics as one of the best short films of Disney Pixar.

Today, the team of the Institute of Psychological and Psychiatric Assistance Mensalus presents the award-winning work and share with us an interesting reflection about this work.

A short film that teaches us to improve ourselves day by day

There are many innate abilities that are reflected in this story, is not it?


True. According to Alan Barillaro, "This is a story about how to grow from the hand of courage in a world that seems big and intimidating."

The story exposes the courage necessary to overcome the fear that awakens uncertainty. This is something that often repeats itself in our lives: not knowing makes us feel insecure. Of course, in the unknown, we always have two options: show curiosity to live it or fear it to avoid it.

The capacity for improvement tells us that, after living the experience, we gain something more precious (learning) than what we lose ("comfort"). In this way the goal makes sense. Likewise, fear warns us of what we should protect ourselves from. Well, this system is functional as long as it allows us to continue and does not hide us inside the nest.


The short is revealing given that it manages to convey a range of emotions that we have all felt at some point in our lives ...

So is. Specifically, the concept of "feeling small" is very well illustrated. The producer explains: "I love playing with something that people know, like a beach, and giving a new perspective on how a bird that is only four inches off the ground might feel." A great success, without a doubt. It is exactly like that, sometimes, we can feel ourselves in unknown situations of which we augur hostility, difficulty and suffering.

It is exciting when the protagonist decides to dive into the water and discovers, in addition to the richness of the seabed, the benefit generated by their ability to collect food. How can we understand this message?

The bird, in addition to enjoying and feeling capable, connects with part of its identity associated with something that the rest of the birds of its species do.


This "doing as others" teaches him and reminds him who he is, forges the feeling of collective identity and, at the same time, reinforces the feeling of utility associated with the ability to get food and share it. All this "emotional pack" turns him into an autonomous being.

At the beginning we see how the mother exercises a very interesting function: accompany the child without solving the problem ...

Yes. This is another aspect of the short film: the space needed for growth. Without a doubt, it is not an easy position. Many parents can see their fears reflected in an idea: "If I leave you alone, will you learn?".

Piper's mother knows that her son needs to understand that food will not come to the nest, but that the only way to survive is by going for it. In fact, he does not leave him alone, he accompanies him from the example. The safety of the parents in this sense will facilitate or hinder the maturation process of the child. "Let fly" while remaining is the great recipe. A recipe that is not magic and, as all parents know, it is not an easy task

"To all the parents who, day after day, exercise the work of teaching and loving unconditionally".

Source of the short and the voice of the creator: www.usatoday.com


HOW TO ANALYZE PEOPLE ON SIGHT - FULL AudioBook - Human Analysis, Psychology, Body Language (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Piper: un short attachant sur la capacité à vaincre

Piper: un short attachant sur la capacité à vaincre

Mars 7, 2021

De nombreux médias ont fait écho à "Piper" à l'été 2016, une histoire qui illustre la vie d'un élevage de bécasseaux (une sorte d'oiseau commun dans les zones humides) qui s'aventure pour la première fois à la recherche de nourriture.

Ce travail réalisé par Alan Barillaro a été considéré par la critique comme l’un des meilleurs courts métrages de Disney Pixar.

Aujourd'hui, l'équipe de l'Institut d'assistance psychologique et psychiatrique Mensalus présente le travail primé et partagez avec nous une réflexion intéressante sur ce travail.

Un court métrage qui nous apprend à nous améliorer jour après jour

Il y a beaucoup de capacités innées qui sont reflétées dans cette histoire, n'est-ce pas?


Droit Selon Alan Barillaro, "Il s'agit d'une histoire sur la façon de passer de la main du courage dans un monde qui semble grand et intimidant."

L'histoire révèle le courage nécessaire pour surmonter la peur qui suscite l'incertitude. C'est quelque chose qui se répète souvent dans nos vies: ne pas savoir nous met mal à l'aise. Bien sûr, dans l'inconnu, nous avons toujours deux options: montrer la curiosité de le vivre ou craindre de l'éviter.

La capacité d'amélioration nous dit qu'après avoir vécu l'expérience, nous gagnons quelque chose de plus précieux (apprentissage) que ce que nous perdons ("confort"). De cette façon, l'objectif est logique. De même, la peur nous avertit de ce dont nous devrions nous protéger. Eh bien, ce système est fonctionnel tant qu'il nous permet de continuer et ne nous cache pas à l'intérieur du nid.


Le court métrage est révélateur puisqu'il parvient à transmettre une gamme d'émotions que nous avons tous ressenties à un moment donné de notre vie ...

C'est comme ca. Plus précisément, le concept de "se sentir petit" est très bien illustré. Le producteur explique: "J'aime jouer avec quelque chose que les gens connaissent, comme une plage, et donner une nouvelle perspective sur la manière dont un oiseau qui n'est qu'à quatre centimètres du sol pourrait se sentir." Un grand succès, sans aucun doute. C’est exactement comme cela, parfois, nous pouvons nous sentir dans des situations inconnues, augure de l’hostilité, des difficultés et de la souffrance.

C’est excitant lorsque le protagoniste décide de plonger dans l’eau et découvre, outre la richesse des fonds marins, les avantages générés par leur capacité à collecter des aliments. Comment pouvons-nous comprendre ce message?

L'oiseau, en plus de jouir et de se sentir capable, se connecte avec une partie de son identité associée à quelque chose que le reste des oiseaux de son espèce fait.


Ce "faire comme les autres" lui apprend et lui rappelle qui il est, forge le sentiment d'identité collective et renforce en même temps le sentiment d'utilité associé à la possibilité de se procurer de la nourriture et de la partager. Tout ce "paquet émotionnel" fait de lui un être autonome.

Au début, nous voyons comment la mère exerce une fonction très intéressante: accompagner l’enfant sans résoudre le problème ...

Oui, c’est un autre aspect du court métrage: l’espace nécessaire à la croissance. Sans aucun doute, ce n'est pas une position facile. Beaucoup de parents peuvent voir leurs peurs se refléter dans une idée: "Si je te laisse tranquille, apprendras-tu?".

La mère de Piper sait que son fils a besoin de comprendre que la nourriture ne viendra pas au nid, mais que le seul moyen de survivre est de s'en aller. En fait, il ne le laisse pas seul, il l'accompagne de l'exemple. La sécurité des parents dans ce sens facilitera ou entravera le processus de maturation de l'enfant. "Laisser voler" tout en restant est la bonne recette. Une recette qui n’est pas magique et, comme le savent tous les parents, ce n’est pas une tâche facile

"A tous les parents qui, jour après jour, exercent le travail d'enseigner et d'aimer sans condition".

Source du court métrage et de la voix du créateur: www.usatoday.com


Hors-série #6 : Roald Dahl - documentaire (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes