yes, therapy helps!
Psychoeducation in psychological therapy

Psychoeducation in psychological therapy

June 30, 2024

The effective psychological treatments for psychological disorders known today are very varied and contemplate different blocks or steps, in fact, each psychological therapy has its idiosyncrasy.

However, within the framework of cognitive-behavioral therapy, there is a fundamental element in the face of adequate psychological intervention in certain mental disorders: the tool of psychoeducation . In this article we will explain in a simple way what this resource is and in what psychological disorders it is used more frequently, as well as some practical examples of its application.

  • Related articles: "Types of psychological therapies"

What is psychoeducation?

The psychoeducation, always carried out by the professional in charge of the treatment, constitutes the prelude to many of the psychological treatments applied in the consultations and hospitals. This does not mean that psychoeducation has to be used only at the beginning of the therapeutic process, but that can be dosed to ensure that the problem is understood by the patient or the client (or group of patients).


Thus, psychoeducation consists in the explanation by the psychologist in charge of the treatment of different psychological and variable constructs that explain the problem of the patient or group of patients. In general, the disorder is explained (although in many cases it is not necessary to label the problem as a "disorder" facing the patient, but to explain the characteristics of the problem so that he or she understands it and can deal with it more adaptively), how does the disorder affect the patient's life? patient, frequent symptoms, what treatments exist, what can be done to improve, and so on.

Sometimes, we will call psychoeducation all technical information that we explain in therapy that we consider necessary for the improvement of the patient. For example, how we become depressed, what functional and dysfunctional anxiety is, how marijuana influences the cerebral level, what repercussions induced vomiting has on our body ...


  • Maybe you're interested: "10 tips to choose a good psychologist"

Tools used in this type of psychological intervention

Even though each professional usually develops his psychoeducational script in the face of the sessions with the patients, it is important to emphasize that the content of the explanation must be adapted to the level of understanding and understanding of the person, and in most cases the resources that we will see below are usually useful. .

The use of analogies and metaphors

As psychological phenomena are often complex, it is good to make comparisons with elements of everyday life.

The use of a blackboard or visual support

It is very useful to interact with the patient while the explanation is given. For example, asking questions and having the patient respond based on their own experience).

Provide a summary of what was explained in the session (or sessions) of psychoeducation

This is so that the person can take it home, read it quietly and ask any questions about it.


Finally, to facilitate the process of psychoeducation and complement it, psychologists recommend the reading of didactic manuals on some problems (not with the aim of reading self-help manuals, but in order to better understand what happens to them and work together in the sessions). The viewing of films, documentaries, etc. are also useful.

Why is psychoeducation so important?

Psychoeducation is therapeutic in itself. Some patients often report that after having been able to take advantage of the psychoeducation sessions and to understand what is happening to them, they disintegrate like a "balloon", they feel calmer, with better expectations. In fact, many of the people who suffer from anxiety reduce symptomatology by understanding the mechanisms and causes of it .

The level of uncertainty of many people is directly reduced, and the typical type questions are answered: what is happening to me? Am I going crazy? Do you have a "solution"? happens to me or to more people ?.

In addition, in some cases and depending on the capabilities of the person, only with giving some psychoeducational guidelines in a few sessions the person gets to understand the mechanisms that underlie their problem and put into practice new strategies, which is very interesting and often positive for the person.

It is usually especially effective in group sessions with people who have similar problems (p.eg, a group with panic disorder), since the fact of sharing similar experiences and feeling emotional support is a very comforting experience. It is a very important help in the development of individual therapy for these people.

In what types of psychological problems is used?

In general terms, psychoeducation can be very useful as an initial phase of treatment in most disorders or documented psychological problems. As an example, this is widely used among professionals in well-known disorders such as:

  • Anxiety disorders : panic disorder, selective phobia, social anxiety disorder, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder, anxiety disorder before the disease (hypochondria) ...
  • Bipolar disorder and related disorders.
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder.
  • Pathological mourning.
  • Eating Disorders : bulimia nervosa, anorexia nervosa, ortorexia ...
  • Sexual dysfunctions
  • Addictions .
  • Self-esteem problems: how low self-esteem is generated and maintained.

Practical examples

Next, we will briefly explain the contents that could be explained in a session of psychoeducation in anxiety disorders and post-traumatic stress disorder.

Psychoeducation in anxiety disorders

It is convenient to explain what anxiety is (emotional response to danger / threat), the objective pursued (protect the organism-at this point the use of analogies or metaphors would be positive), the relationship between anxiety and the autonomic nervous system, the activation process that follows our body at a physical level before a situation of danger and explanation of all body sensations (muscle tension, increased heart rate, acceleration of breathing, dry mouth, tremor in the legs ...).


How our body reacts to situations of "no danger" in which the brain misinterprets that there is a danger, how the first panic attack can occur , the role played by our interpretations of bodily sensations, etcetera. Obviously, depending on the anxiety disorder we must emphasize some concepts or others.

Psychoeducation in post-traumatic stress disorder

This explanation it will vary depending on the type and frequency of the trauma that the victim has suffered.

An explanation is given about the typical intrusive responses (why distressing memories or nightmares occur), the function that fulfills the persistent avoidance of memories or stimuli associated with the event, the cognitive and mood alterations related to the episode (how exaggerated beliefs about oneself are formed), the important alteration of the activation and reactivity associated with the traumatic event (why it feels hypervigilant all the time, to what are the outbursts of fury or irritable behavior, the alterations of the dream…).


Furthermore, it is convenient to explain the maintenance of PTSD, for example by means of a simple adaptation of the Horowitz model (1986) or the Lang model (1988).


Therapeutic Games for Teens : Psychology & Mental Health (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychoéducation en psychothérapie

Psychoéducation en psychothérapie

Juillet 28, 2022

Les traitements psychologiques efficaces pour les troubles psychologiques connus de nos jours sont très variés et envisagent différents blocs ou étapes. En fait, chaque thérapie psychologique a son idiosyncrasie.

Cependant, dans le cadre de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, une intervention psychologique adéquate dans certains troubles mentaux constitue un élément fondamental: l'outil de psychoéducation . Dans cet article, nous expliquerons de manière simple ce qu'est cette ressource et dans quels troubles psychologiques elle est utilisée plus fréquemment, ainsi que des exemples pratiques de son application.

  • Articles connexes: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Qu'est-ce que la psychoéducation?

La psychoéducation, toujours réalisée par le professionnel en charge du traitement, constitue le prélude à de nombreux traitements psychologiques appliqués dans les consultations et les hôpitaux. Cela ne signifie pas que la psychoéducation doit être utilisée uniquement au début du processus thérapeutique, mais que peut être dosé pour s'assurer que le problème est compris par le patient ou le client (ou groupe de patients).


Ainsi, la psychoéducation consiste en l'explication du psychologue en charge du traitement de différentes constructions psychologiques et variables expliquant le problème du patient ou du groupe de patients. En général, le trouble est expliqué (Bien que dans de nombreux cas, il ne soit pas nécessaire de qualifier le problème de "trouble" auquel le patient est confronté, mais d'expliquer les caractéristiques du problème afin qu'il le comprenne et puisse le gérer de manière plus adaptée), comment le trouble affecte-t-il la vie du patient? patient, symptômes fréquents, quels traitements existent, que peut-on faire pour s’améliorer, etc.

Parfois, nous appelons psychoéducation toutes les informations techniques que nous expliquons en thérapie et que nous considérons comme nécessaires à l'amélioration du patient. Par exemple, comment nous devenons déprimés, en quoi consiste l’anxiété fonctionnelle et dysfonctionnelle, comment la marijuana influence le niveau cérébral, quelles répercussions les vomissements induits sur notre corps ont-ils ...


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 conseils pour choisir un bon psychologue"

Outils utilisés dans ce type d'intervention psychologique

Bien que chaque professionnel développe habituellement son scénario psychoéducatif Lors des séances avec les patients, il est important de souligner que le contenu de l'explication doit être adapté au niveau de compréhension et de compréhension de la personne et que, dans la plupart des cas, les ressources décrites ci-dessous sont généralement utiles. .

L'utilisation d'analogies et de métaphores

Les phénomènes psychologiques étant souvent complexes, il est bon de faire des comparaisons avec des éléments de la vie quotidienne.

L'utilisation d'un tableau ou d'un support visuel

Il est très utile d'interagir avec le patient pendant que l'explication est donnée. Par exemple, poser des questions et demander au patient de réagir en fonction de sa propre expérience).

Fournir un résumé de ce qui a été expliqué lors de la session (ou des sessions) de psychoéducation

C’est pour que la personne puisse le ramener à la maison, le lire tranquillement et poser des questions à son sujet.


Enfin, pour faciliter et compléter le processus de psychoéducation, les psychologues recommandent la lecture de manuels didactiques sur certains problèmes (pas dans le but de lire des manuels d’entraide, mais pour mieux comprendre ce qui leur est arrivé et travailler ensemble pendant les séances). La visualisation de films, de documentaires, etc. est également utile.

Pourquoi la psychoéducation est-elle si importante?

La psychoéducation est thérapeutique en soi. Certains patients rapportent souvent qu'après avoir pu profiter des séances de psychoéducation et comprendre ce qui leur arrive, ils se désintègrent comme un "ballon", ils se sentent plus calmes, avec de meilleures attentes. En fait, beaucoup de personnes souffrant d'anxiété réduire la symptomatologie en comprenant les mécanismes et les causes de celle-ci .

Le niveau d'incertitude de beaucoup de gens est directement réduit et les questions types typiques sont répondues: qu'est-ce qui m'arrive? Suis-je en train de devenir fou? Avez-vous une "solution"? m'est arrivé ou à plus de gens?

En outre, dans certains cas et en fonction des capacités de la personne, donner seulement quelques directives psychoéducatives en quelques séances la personne comprend les mécanismes qui sous-tendent son problème et met en pratique de nouvelles stratégies, ce qui est très intéressant et souvent positif pour la personne.

Il est généralement particulièrement efficace lors de séances de groupe avec des personnes ayant des problèmes similaires (p.par exemple, un groupe avec un trouble panique), car partager des expériences similaires et ressentir un soutien émotionnel est une expérience très réconfortante. C'est une aide très importante dans le développement d'une thérapie individuelle pour ces personnes.

Dans quels types de problèmes psychologiques est utilisé?

De manière générale, la psychoéducation peut être très utile en tant que phase initiale du traitement dans la plupart des troubles ou des problèmes psychologiques documentés. À titre d’exemple, cette pratique est largement utilisée par les professionnels des troubles connus tels que:

  • Troubles anxieux : trouble panique, phobie sélective, trouble d'anxiété sociale, agoraphobie, trouble d'anxiété généralisée, trouble anxieux avant la maladie (hypocondrie) ...
  • Trouble bipolaire et troubles associés.
  • Trouble de stress post-traumatique.
  • Deuil pathologique.
  • Troubles de l'alimentation : boulimie nerveuse, anorexie mentale, ortorexie ...
  • Dysfonctionnements sexuels
  • Les dépendances .
  • Problèmes d'estime de soi: comment générer et maintenir une faible estime de soi.

Exemples pratiques

Nous expliquerons ensuite brièvement le contenu d’une séance de psychoéducation sur les troubles anxieux et le trouble de stress post-traumatique.

Psychoéducation dans les troubles anxieux

Il est pratique d'expliquer ce qu'est l'anxiété (réponse émotionnelle au danger / menace), l’objectif poursuivi (protéger l’organisme - à ce stade, le recours à des analogies ou à des métaphores serait positif), la relation entre anxiété et système nerveux autonome, suit notre corps à un niveau physique avant une situation de danger et une explication de toutes les sensations corporelles (tension musculaire, augmentation du rythme cardiaque, accélération de la respiration, bouche sèche, tremblements dans les jambes ...).


Comment notre corps réagit à des situations "sans danger" dans lesquelles le cerveau interprète à tort qu'il y a un danger, comment la première attaque de panique peut se produire , le rôle joué par nos interprétations des sensations corporelles, etc. Évidemment, en fonction du trouble anxieux, nous devons insister sur certains concepts.

Psychoéducation dans le syndrome de stress post-traumatique

Cette explication cela varie en fonction du type et de la fréquence du traumatisme que la victime a souffert.

Une explication est donnée sur les réponses intrusives typiques (pourquoi des souvenirs pénibles ou des cauchemars), la fonction qui remplit l'évitement persistant des souvenirs ou des stimuli associés à l'événement, les altérations cognitives et de l'humeur liées à l'épisode (comment se forment les croyances exagérées sur soi-même), l’altération importante de l’activation et de la réactivité associées à l’événement traumatisant rêve…).


En outre, il convient d’expliquer le maintien du SSPT, par exemple au moyen d’une simple adaptation du modèle de Horowitz (1986) ou du modèle de Lang (1988).


Manuel de psychoéducation - Troubles bipolaires (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes