yes, therapy helps!
Psychology, Criminology and its link in Human Resources

Psychology, Criminology and its link in Human Resources

June 18, 2022

The area of ​​Human Resources (HR) It is one of the most important for any corporation in the private sector. Every organization must have an area like this, oriented to the correct management of human assets, and more specifically, to the workforce.

Selection, recruitment, training, training and the retention of talent are just some of the most important tasks in this area, which is often being directed by professionals in psychology, since they perfectly understand mental processes such as motivation, personal and interpersonal skills, needs ... factors among others that are closely related to the efficiency of human capital.


However, more and more companies are opting for include a criminologist within this area , since their knowledge about the criminal phenomenon is extremely useful. But, what exactly are the competencies of a criminologist in the area of ​​human resources?

  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

Clarifying what a criminologist does

A criminologist in HR? That they are not supposed to work for the prosecutor's offices and penitentiaries?

In the first place, it is necessary to clarify that the work of the criminologist is to analyze, study, quantify, and intervene about antisocial behaviors (that is, those that violate the common good and that generally transgress social norms) using the scientific method, understanding man as a biopsychosocial entity and, therefore, criminal behavior develops in a conjunction of these three aspects (social, biological and psychological).


Criminologist's tasks

Thus, some of the work of the criminologist are:

  • Determine why a person, or group transgresses the law, why the idea of ​​being sanctioned does not deter him and what were the factors that motivated him to commit the crime.
  • Mitigate the criminal opportunities of a person or population.
  • Evaluate the possible risk behaviors and do prophylaxis to prevent them from becoming a subsequent crime.
  • Quantify antisocial tendencies of a particular subject or group.

As crime is a universal and complex phenomenon , not only the public sector demands its collaboration but also the private sector, that is, the companies.

If you are interested in learning more about the criminologist's work, you may be interested in this article: "Criminology: the science that studies crimes and crimes."


Main areas where the criminologist can intervene

Once the work of the criminologist has been defined, now it's time to define what are your areas of development within the Human Resources department to better understand how you can perform your work:

  • Related to employment : includes all activities that have to do with the workforce, the attraction of talent and their training.
  • Based on the strengthening of labor relations : basically aims to solve labor problems and minimize friction between employees, promoting a pleasant work environment.
  • About personnel management : Basically it is about managing the human assets of the company in a way that is efficient and capable.

Competencies of the criminologist in HR

Within Human Resources departments, criminologists can intervene in the following processes:

Staff selection

There will be profiles within the template that will require go through much more delicate selection filters . For example, if we require someone who has access control to sensitive information, in such filters, the criminologist can intervene. In addition, in this process you will be able to determine the possible antisocial tendencies of the future candidate.

  • You may be interested: "Psychopathy: what happens in the mind of the psychopath?"

Staff training

Suppose a company is engaged in provide security services through the provision of security elements. Who better than a corporate criminologist (who took police organization as a career subject) to train this staff?

Monitoring and processing of dismissals

The dismissal of a person from the workforce can be an extremely complicated situation that even could put at risk the integrity of the company if it is not managed correctly.

The criminologist understands perfectly the definition of low criticism: the situation of abandonment of a member of the company whose dismissal could cause problems, for example, in the case of people who are dissatisfied with the organization or are dismissed for aggressive behavior and depending on of the level of access that the employee had, will have more sensitive information and privileged resources.

Application of psychometric tests

The criminologist has standardized tools that allow you to evaluate antisocial tendencies, tolerance to frustration, criminogenic threshold, criminal dangerousness, proclivity to dishonesty, abuse, etc. and that are extremely useful in the hiring process and staff permanence.

Labor conflicts

The criminologist can act as an intermediary in the resolution of conflicts for their knowledge of conciliation and arbitration .

Prevention of occupational hazards

His knowledge in risk assessment and management makes it a valuable element to mitigate objects and events that could harm employees .

Identification of criminogenic factors within the organization

The timely detection of the criminogenic factors to which each employee or each area is subject is an effective way to prevent future crimes against the corporation.

Staff research

You can work for determine absenteeism, determine responsibility for crimes committed by employees, to evaluate the social aspect of the candidate for a position, etc.

The criminologist and the psychologist in HR

Because it is important that the criminologist and the psychologist work together in the area of ​​Human Resources?

As the well-known saying goes, "the union makes the force" and is that as we have seen, the criminologist can become a valuable element in this area of ​​the company. This joint relationship must be seen as a valuable effort that can increase the performance of the company given that it will allow a productive and effective management of the human resources of the organization.

The psychologists who work and direct this department they must ensure an interdependent relationship with the criminologist since this will allow a better management of the staff within the corporation.

Given the both are experts in behavioral science , ensuring reciprocity between the knowledge that each one of them has, will allow a greater, better and deeper knowledge about the competences, skills, motivations, defects and needs of the workers and future candidates.

A correct management of human capital it is the first step towards a competitive company, given that it will not only be recognized by the international organizations that regulate and audit it, but also by the employees themselves; In turn, the value of this is increased in the market.


Psychopaths (Crime Psychology Documentary) - Real Stories (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Psychologie, criminologie et son lien en ressources humaines

Psychologie, criminologie et son lien en ressources humaines

Mai 11, 2021

Le domaine des ressources humaines (RH) C'est l'un des plus importants pour toute entreprise du secteur privé. Chaque organisation doit avoir un domaine comme celui-ci, orienté vers la gestion correcte des ressources humaines, et plus spécifiquement vers le personnel.

Sélection, recrutement, formation, formation et la rétention des talents ne sont que quelques-unes des tâches les plus importantes dans ce domaine, qui est souvent dirigé par des professionnels de la psychologie, car ils comprennent parfaitement les processus mentaux tels que la motivation, les compétences personnelles et interpersonnelles, besoins ... facteurs, entre autres, étroitement liés à l’efficacité du capital humain.


Cependant, de plus en plus d'entreprises optent pour inclure un criminologue dans ce domaine , car leur connaissance du phénomène criminel est extrêmement utile. Mais quelles sont exactement les compétences d'un criminologue dans le domaine des ressources humaines?

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Clarifier ce que fait un criminologue

Un criminologue en ressources humaines? Qu'ils ne sont pas censés travailler pour les parquets et les pénitenciers?

En premier lieu, il est nécessaire de préciser que le travail du criminologue est d’analyser, d’étudier, de quantifier et d’intervenir sur les comportements antisociaux (c'est-à-dire ceux qui violent le bien commun et qui transgressent généralement les normes sociales) en utilisant la méthode scientifique, en comprenant l'homme comme une entité biopsychosociale et, par conséquent, un comportement criminel se développe en conjonction de ces trois aspects (social, biologique et psychologique).


Tâches du criminologue

Ainsi, certains des travaux du criminologue sont:

  • Déterminez pourquoi une personne ou un groupe contrevient à la loi, pourquoi l'idée d'être sanctionné ne le dissuade pas et quels sont les facteurs qui l'ont motivé à commettre le crime.
  • Atténuer les opportunités criminelles d'une personne ou d'une population.
  • Évaluez les comportements à risque possibles et faites une prophylaxie pour éviter qu’ils ne deviennent un crime ultérieur.
  • Quantifier les tendances antisociales d'un sujet ou d'un groupe particulier.

Le crime étant un phénomène universel et complexe , le secteur public exige sa collaboration, mais aussi le secteur privé, à savoir les entreprises.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail du criminologue, cet article pourrait vous intéresser: "Criminologie: la science qui étudie les crimes et les crimes".


Principaux domaines d'intervention du criminologue

Une fois que le travail du criminologue a été défini, il est maintenant temps de définir quels sont tes axes de développement au sein du service des ressources humaines pour mieux comprendre comment vous pouvez effectuer votre travail:

  • Relatif à l'emploi : inclut toutes les activités liées à la main-d'œuvre, à l'attraction des talents et à leur formation.
  • Basé sur le renforcement des relations de travail : vise essentiellement à résoudre les problèmes de main-d’œuvre et à minimiser les frictions entre les employés, en créant un environnement de travail agréable.
  • A propos de la gestion du personnel : Il s’agit essentiellement de gérer les ressources humaines de l’entreprise de manière efficace et performante.

Compétences du criminologue en ressources humaines

Au sein des départements des ressources humaines, les criminologues peuvent intervenir dans les processus suivants:

Sélection du personnel

Il y aura des profils dans le modèle qui nécessiteront passer par des filtres de sélection beaucoup plus délicats . Par exemple, si nous avons besoin de quelqu'un qui contrôle l'accès aux informations sensibles, le criminologue peut intervenir dans de tels filtres. En outre, dans ce processus, vous serez en mesure de déterminer les tendances antisociales possibles du futur candidat.

  • Vous pourriez être intéressé: "Psychopathie: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit du psychopathe?"

Formation du personnel

Supposons qu'une entreprise est engagée dans fournir des services de sécurité par la fourniture d'éléments de sécurité. Qui mieux qu'un criminologue d'entreprise (qui a pris l'organisation de la police comme sujet de carrière) pour former ce personnel?

Surveillance et traitement des licenciements

Le licenciement d’une personne du marché du travail peut être une situation extrêmement compliquée que même pourrait mettre en péril l'intégrité de l'entreprise si ce n'est pas géré correctement.

Le criminologue comprend parfaitement la définition de «faible critique»: la situation d'abandon d'un membre de l'entreprise dont le licenciement pourrait poser problème, par exemple dans le cas de personnes insatisfaites de l'organisation ou licenciées pour comportement agressif et niveau d’accès que l’employé avait, aura des informations plus sensibles et des ressources privilégiées.

Application de tests psychométriques

Le criminologue a des outils standardisés vous permettant d'évaluer tendances antisociales, tolérance à la frustration, seuil criminogène, dangerosité criminelle, tendance à la malhonnêteté, abus, etc. et qui sont extrêmement utiles dans le processus d’embauche et la permanence du personnel.

Conflits de travail

Le criminologue peut jouer un rôle d'intermédiaire dans la résolution des conflits pour leur connaissance de la conciliation et de l'arbitrage .

Prévention des risques professionnels

Ses connaissances en évaluation et gestion des risques en font un élément précieux pour atténuer les objets et les événements. cela pourrait nuire aux employés .

Identification des facteurs criminogènes au sein de l'organisation

La détection rapide de les facteurs criminogènes auquel chaque employé ou chaque secteur est soumis est un moyen efficace de prévenir de futurs crimes contre la société.

Recherche du personnel

Vous pouvez travailler pour déterminer l'absentéisme, déterminer la responsabilité des crimes commis par les employés, pour évaluer l’aspect social du candidat à un poste, etc.

Le criminologue et le psychologue en ressources humaines

Parce que c'est important que le criminologue et le psychologue travaillent ensemble dans le domaine des ressources humaines?

Comme le dit le proverbe bien connu, "le syndicat fait la force" et, comme nous l'avons vu, le criminologue peut devenir un élément précieux dans ce secteur de l'entreprise. Cette relation commune doit être considérée comme un effort précieux pouvant augmenter les performances de l'entreprise, dans la mesure où elle permettra une gestion productive et efficace des ressources humaines de l'organisation.

Les psychologues qui travaillent et dirigent ce département ils doivent assurer une relation d'interdépendance avec le criminologue car cela permettra une meilleure gestion du personnel au sein de la société.

Étant donné que les deux sont des experts en science du comportement , assurer la réciprocité entre les connaissances que chacun d’entre eux permettra d’approfondir les connaissances, les compétences, les motivations, les défauts et les besoins des travailleurs et des futurs candidats.

Une gestion correcte du capital humain c'est le premier pas vers une entreprise compétitive, étant donné qu'elle sera reconnue non seulement par les organisations internationales qui la réglementent et l'audit, mais également par les employés eux-mêmes; À son tour, la valeur de ceci est augmentée sur le marché.


1- Vie de conférencière-auteur-consultante ★ L'horaire et la journée de travail! (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes