yes, therapy helps!
Rumination disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

Rumination disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 21, 2024

Rumination disorder is a rare alteration of health , and is included in the DSM 5 chapter on Eating Disorders and Food Intake (APA, 2013). The focus of the problem of this disorder is regurgitation, which is caused by a contraction of the stomach.

The term "rumination" comes from the Latin word ruminare, which means "chew the food bolus". It was mentioned in antiquity in the writings of Aristotle, and was clinically documented for the first time in the seventeenth century by the Italian anatomist Fabricus ab Aquapendende.

The name of this disorder is due to the analogous regurgitation of the herbivorous animals, the "rumination". In this article we will address its symptoms and its prevalence, as well as the causes that originate it and its treatment.


  • Related article: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

Symptoms of rumination disorder

The rumination disorder consists of Repeated regurgitation of food for a minimum period of one month . In addition, these regurgitated foods can be chewed again, swallowed, or spit by the person who suffers, without showing symptoms of disgust, repulsion or nausea.

In addition, rumination disorder does not occur only in the course of anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge eating disorder or avoidance / restriction disorder of food intake.

Regurgitation should be frequent, occurring at least several times a week, typically on a daily basis. Unlike involuntary vomiting that anyone can suffer (uncontrollable), regurgitation can be voluntary. Adults who suffer from it claim that they have no control over this disorder and that they can not stop.


The characteristic body position of the children who suffer from it is keeping the back tense and arched with the head back, making sucking movements with the tongue. They can give the impression of obtaining satisfaction from the activity of regurgitating. As a result of the activity, minors they may be irritable and hungry between episodes of rumination .

On the other hand, symptoms of malnutrition and weight loss may appear in adolescents and adults, especially when the regurgitation is accompanied by a voluntary restriction of the food intake produced by the social anxiety that generates them that other people can witness it (for example, they avoid breakfast at school for fear of vomiting and being seen) .

It should be noted that repeated regurgitation can not be attributed to an associated gastrointestinal condition or other medical condition , such as, for example, gastroesophageal reflux.


Prevalence

Although the prevalence data are inconclusive, it seems that occurs more frequently in babies, children and people with intellectual functional diversity .

The age of onset of rumination disorder in children is usually around 3 and 12 months. This food problem can produce severe symptoms of malnutrition in children, becoming potentially fatal.

Causes of rumination disorder

The rumination syndrome is a little known phenomenon, and several are speculations about the causes of regurgitation.

The most widely documented organic mechanism is that food intake generates gastric distension, which is followed by abdominal compression and the posterior relaxation of the lower esophageal sphincter (EEI). A cavity is created between the stomach and the oropharynx that leads to the partially digested material returning to the mouth.

People with this disorder have a sudden relaxation of the LES. While this relaxation may be voluntary (and learned, as in Bulimia), rumination itself remains generally involuntary. Patients often describe a sensation similar to the appearance of an eructation that precedes rumination.

The most important causes of rumination disorder are mostly of psychosocial origin . Some of the most common causes are: having lived in a psychosocial environment that is not very stimulating at the cognitive level, having received negligent care for the main figures of attachment (and even situations of abandonment), experiencing highly stressful events in their lives (such as some death). of a loved one, changes of city, separation by parents ...) and traumatic situations (child sexual abuse).

In addition, difficulties in the paternal-filial bond are considered as one of the most important predisposing factors in the development of this disorder in children and adolescents.

In both children and adults with intellectual deficits or other neurodevelopmental disorders, regurgitation behaviors seem to have a self-stimulating and calming function, similar to the function that repetitive motor behaviors such as balancing may have.

Treatment

The treatment will be different depending on the age and the intellectual capacity of the individual who presents it.

In adults and adolescents, biofeedback and relaxation or diaphragmatic breathing techniques after ingestion or when regurgitation occurs have been shown to be useful.


In children and in people with intellectual deficits the behavior modification techniques , including treatments that employ operant techniques, are those that have shown more efficacy.

Some examples are: withdraw attention to the child while performing the behavior we want to reduce and give primary reinforcements or unconditioned (affection and attention) or materials (a bauble) when it does not regurgitate. Other authors bet by putting an unpleasant taste (bitter or acid) on the tongue when it is starting the typical movements of rumination.

In the case of children, It is important that the family understands the disorder and learns some patterns of action Beware of problem behavior, and as is often advised in these cases, have a lot of patience. If the relationship between the parents and the child is not good, it is necessary to work on the emotional difficulties that may be keeping the problem.



What is RUMINATION SYNDROME? What does RUMINATION SYNDROME mean? RUMINATION SYNDROME meaning (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la rumination: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble de la rumination: symptômes, causes et traitement

Novembre 23, 2022

Le trouble de la rumination est une altération rare de la santé , et est inclus dans le chapitre DSM 5 sur les troubles de l'alimentation et les apports alimentaires (APA, 2013). Le problème de ce trouble est la régurgitation, provoquée par une contraction de l'estomac.

Le terme "rumination" vient du latin ruminare, qui signifie "mâcher le bol alimentaire". Il était mentionné dans l'Antiquité dans les écrits d'Aristote et fut cliniquement documenté pour la première fois au dix-septième siècle par l'anatomiste italien Fabricus ab Aquapendende.

Le nom de ce trouble est dû à la régurgitation analogue des animaux herbivores, la "rumination". Dans cet article, nous aborderons ses symptômes et sa prévalence, ainsi que les causes qui le provoquent et son traitement.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

Symptômes de trouble de la rumination

Le trouble de la rumination consiste en Régurgitation répétée de nourriture pendant une période minimale d'un mois . De plus, ces aliments régurgités peuvent être à nouveau mâchés, avalés ou crachés par la personne qui en souffre sans présenter de symptômes de dégoût, de répulsion ou de nausée.

En outre, le trouble de la rumination ne survient pas uniquement au cours de l'anorexie mentale, de la boulimie mentale, de l'hyperphagie boulimique ou du trouble d'évitement / restriction de la prise de nourriture.

La régurgitation doit être fréquente, se produire au moins plusieurs fois par semaine, généralement tous les jours. Contrairement aux vomissements involontaires que quiconque peut souffrir (incontrôlable), la régurgitation peut être volontaire. Les adultes qui en souffrent affirment qu’ils n’ont aucun contrôle sur ce trouble et qu’ils ne peuvent pas s’arrêter.


La position corporelle caractéristique des enfants qui en souffrent consiste à garder le dos tendu et cambré avec la tête en arrière, en effectuant des mouvements de succion avec la langue. Ils peuvent donner l’impression d’être satisfaits de l’activité de régurgitation. À la suite de l'activité, les mineurs ils peuvent être irritables et avoir faim entre les épisodes de rumination .

D'un autre côté, des symptômes de malnutrition et de perte de poids peuvent apparaître chez les adolescents et les adultes, en particulier lorsque la régurgitation s'accompagne d'une restriction volontaire de l'apport alimentaire produit par l'angoisse sociale qui les génère et que d'autres personnes peuvent en être témoins (par exemple, ils évitent le petit déjeuner à l'école de peur de vomir et d'être vus) .

Il convient de noter que les régurgitations répétées ne peut pas être attribué à un trouble gastro-intestinal associé ou à un autre problème médical comme par exemple le reflux gastro-oesophagien.


Prévalence

Bien que les données de prévalence ne soient pas concluantes, il semble que se produit plus fréquemment chez les bébés, les enfants et les personnes présentant une diversité fonctionnelle intellectuelle .

L'âge d'apparition du trouble de la rumination chez les enfants est généralement de 3 à 12 mois. Ce problème alimentaire peut produire des symptômes graves de malnutrition chez les enfants, devenant potentiellement fatal.

Causes du trouble de la rumination

Le syndrome de rumination est un phénomène peu connu et plusieurs spéculations portent sur les causes de la régurgitation.

Le mécanisme organique le plus largement documenté est que la prise de nourriture génère une distension gastrique, suivie d'une compression abdominale et la relaxation postérieure du sphincter oesophagien inférieur (EEI). Une cavité est créée entre l’estomac et l’oropharynx, ce qui permet au matériau partiellement digéré de retourner dans la bouche.

Les personnes atteintes de ce trouble subissent un relâchement soudain des ERP. Bien que cette détente puisse être volontaire (et acquise, comme dans le cas de la boulimie), la rumination elle-même reste généralement involontaire. Les patients décrivent souvent une sensation semblable à l'apparition d'une éructation qui précède la rumination.

Les causes les plus importantes de trouble de la rumination sont principalement d'origine psychosociale . Certaines des causes les plus courantes sont: avoir vécu dans un environnement psychosocial peu stimulant au niveau cognitif, avoir reçu des soins négligents pour les principales figures de l'attachement (et même des situations d'abandon), avoir vécu des événements très stressants dans leur vie (comme une mort). d’un être cher, changements de ville, séparation des parents ...) et de situations traumatiques (abus sexuel sur un enfant).

De plus, les difficultés liées au lien de parenté entre le père et la mère sont considérées comme l’un des facteurs prédisposants les plus importants dans le développement de ce trouble chez les enfants et les adolescents.

Chez les enfants et les adultes présentant des déficits intellectuels ou d’autres troubles du développement neurologique, les comportements de régurgitation semblent avoir une fonction d’auto-stimulation et d’apaisement, similaire à celle des comportements moteurs répétitifs tels que l’équilibrage.

Traitement

Le traitement sera différent selon l'âge et la capacité intellectuelle de l'individu qui le présente.

Chez l'adulte et l'adolescent, il a été démontré que le biofeedback et les techniques de relaxation ou de respiration diaphragmatique après ingestion ou en cas de régurgitation étaient utiles.


Chez les enfants et chez les personnes ayant un déficit intellectuel les techniques de modification du comportement , y compris les traitements qui utilisent des techniques opérantes, sont ceux qui ont montré plus d’efficacité.

En voici quelques exemples: attirer l’attention de l’enfant tout en adoptant le comportement que nous souhaitons réduire et donner des renforts primaires ou inconditionnels (affection et attention) ou des matériaux (une babiole) lorsqu’il ne régurgite pas. D'autres auteurs parient en mettant un goût désagréable (amer ou acide) sur la langue au début des mouvements typiques de rumination.

Dans le cas des enfants, Il est important que la famille comprenne le trouble et apprenne certains schémas d'action Méfiez-vous des comportements problématiques, et comme il est souvent conseillé dans ces cas, ayez beaucoup de patience. Si la relation entre les parents et l’enfant n’est pas bonne, il est nécessaire de s’attaquer aux difficultés émotionnelles susceptibles de le garder.


Articles Connexes