yes, therapy helps!
Tell me where you sit and I'll tell you how you are (environmental psychology explains it)

Tell me where you sit and I'll tell you how you are (environmental psychology explains it)

November 27, 2021

If we have suffered for something at Christmas, it has been for family lunches and dinners, one after the other. For this reason, the center of all the interactions at these parties is that table where we all meet , we catch up, eat, laugh and celebrate.

But not all the tables are the same, nor are all the places around. The spatial arrangement exerts different influences on people; in their level of participation and their nature. This is the object of study of environmental psychology and the psychology of groups, disciplines that have detailed what effects your position at the table produces.

Types of arrangements in space

As for a variety of arrangements in space, there are three classic: the focused , the sociologist and the sociópeta .


1. Focused

All seats are oriented in a specific direction. With this provision Attention is focused on a focus and the interaction between users is diminished ; the participation is from the focus to the users and vice versa. This is the typical orientation of the school classrooms, in which students are asked to attend the teacher and do not talk to each other.

2. Sociufuga

All seats are oriented towards the outside. When arranged like this, users turn their backs on each other, so interpersonal communication is limited . The little interaction that occurs in this disposition tends to be intrapersonal and directed to oneself. Although it is not usual, yes it is resorted to sociopathic dispositions, for example in some streams of psychoanalysis in which the patient has his back to the psychotherapist, facilitating introspection.


3. Sociópetas

All seats face inwards. This case is totally contrary; the users are oriented among themselves, facilitating interpersonal communication and taking it towards the intragroup . For processes of trust and cohesion, it is fundamental, because of the facilities it promotes for interaction and exchange. It is the most typical in our society in group meetings, where the focus is the same group.

Sociópeta Disposition: the most usual in daily life

Now, of all these provisions, the one that we find more in our daily life is the sociópeta .

We all meet at tables to be with friends, with family or at work meetings. This makes the sociópeta disposition the most influential in the areas of our lives and from which we can get the most out of knowing it. Within a sociópeta disposition depending on where you place yourself, you do not participate in the same way, nor with whom. If the orientation has its effects, so does the geometry.


Square

A square table has all four sides the same, so everyone has the same option to speak to the group and it does not seem that great differences are marked . However, it does influence smaller relationships, in dyads or triads. People who sit next to each other, that is, in adjoining seats, tend to cooperate, to give each other mutual reinforcement and to agree. On the other hand, in opposite seats, competition tends to favor, favoring disagreements and questions. Of course, as a disposition as in another, there is a greater degree of interaction than if we sit in the corners.

Rectangular

In the rectangular tables there are two narrower sides where the head effect occurs: by occupying this position, more status is conferred . In the head there is no such facility of communication as in the middle of the wide sides, since it limits the eye contact and costs more to see you. However, when talking, attention is attracted more easily, since the same leaks from the table direct the gaze towards the head and the person is facilitated as a focus. As for the broad sides, if someone is in the center, it shows that that person wants to get involved and interact. In contrast, those in the corner prefer to stay out, see what is cooked first and then intervene or not. Participant and initiator roles in the center and observer and follower in the corners are facilitated.

Circular

In circular arrangements the orientation of the seats does not change as drastically as in the more rigid geometric shapes, such as square and rectangular. Because of that, the above effects tend to decrease, for example, there is no location that denote higher status , nor a place in which one can take shelter, since all are equally exposed.However, there is the Steinzor effect, which tends to interact to a greater degree with the people one has in front, for having greater eye contact; So if you have something pending to say to someone, sit down, that will help you.

Other environmental factors

Other environmental factors of the group ecology may be temperature, which at high levels promotes irritability or noise as a cause of stress. Even the same size of a room can influence according to the number of people, since it is not the same being five, making the meeting in a large room or in a small room. But of all of them, the most controllable is where we sit and, who knows, maybe next Christmas we want to change places .


Tony Robbins: WHEN YOU FEEL STUCK IN LIFE (Tony Robbins Motivation) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dites-moi où vous êtes assis et je vous dirai comment vous allez (la psychologie environnementale l'explique)

Dites-moi où vous êtes assis et je vous dirai comment vous allez (la psychologie environnementale l'explique)

Janvier 22, 2021

Si nous avons souffert pour quelque chose à Noël, c’est pour les déjeuners et les dîners en famille, les uns après les autres. Pour cette raison, le centre de toutes les interactions à ces fêtes est cette table où nous nous rencontrons tous , nous rattrapons, mangeons, rions et célébrons.

Mais toutes les tables ne sont pas les mêmes, ni tous les lieux autour. La disposition spatiale exerce différentes influences sur les personnes; dans leur niveau de participation et leur nature. C’est l’objet d’étude de la psychologie de l’environnement et de la psychologie des groupes, disciplines qui ont détaillé les effets de votre position à la table.

Types d'arrangements dans l'espace

En ce qui concerne une variété d'arrangements dans l'espace, il y a trois classiques: concentré , le sociologue et la sociopeta .


1. ciblé

Tous les sièges sont orientés dans une direction spécifique. Avec cette disposition L'attention est focalisée sur un foyer et l'interaction entre les utilisateurs est diminuée ; la participation est centrée sur les utilisateurs et inversement. Il s’agit de l’orientation typique des salles de classe, dans lesquelles on demande aux élèves d’assister à l’enseignant et de ne pas se parler.

2. Sociufuga

Tous les sièges sont orientés vers l'extérieur. Quand arrangé comme ça, les utilisateurs se tournent le dos, la communication interpersonnelle est donc limitée . Le peu d'interaction qui se produit dans cette disposition a tendance à être intrapersonnelle et dirigée vers soi. Bien que ce ne soit pas habituel, oui, on a recours à des dispositions sociopathiques, par exemple dans certains courants de psychanalyse dans lesquels le patient tourne le dos au psychothérapeute, facilitant ainsi l'introspection.


3. Sociópetas

Tous les sièges sont tournés vers l'intérieur. Cette affaire est totalement contraire. les utilisateurs sont orientés entre eux, facilitant la communication interpersonnelle et l'amenant vers l'intragroupe . Pour les processus de confiance et de cohésion, il est fondamental, en raison des facilités qu’il favorise pour l’interaction et l’échange. C'est le groupe le plus typique de notre société dans les réunions de groupe, où l'accent est mis sur le même groupe.

Sociópeta Disposition: le plus courant dans la vie quotidienne

Maintenant, de toutes ces dispositions, celui que nous trouvons plus dans notre vie quotidienne est le sociópeta .

Nous nous rencontrons tous à table pour être avec des amis, en famille ou au travail. Cela rend la disposition sociópeta la plus influente dans les domaines de notre vie et à partir de laquelle nous pouvons tirer le meilleur parti de le savoir. Au sein d'une disposition sociópeta selon l'endroit où vous vous situez, vous ne participez pas de la même manière, ni avec qui. Si l'orientation a ses effets, il en va de même pour la géométrie.


Carré

Une table carrée a les quatre côtés identiques, donc tout le monde a la même option pour parler au groupe et il ne semble pas que de grandes différences soient marquées . Cependant, cela a une influence sur les petites relations, en dyade ou en triade. Les personnes assises les unes à côté des autres, c’est-à-dire dans des sièges adjacents, ont tendance à coopérer, à se renforcer mutuellement et à s’accorder. En revanche, dans les sièges opposés, la concurrence tend à favoriser, favorisant les désaccords et les questions. Bien sûr, en tant que disposition comme dans une autre, il existe un plus grand degré d’interaction que si nous restions assis dans les coins.

Rectangulaire

Dans les tables rectangulaires, l’effet de tête a deux faces plus étroites: en occupant cette position, plus de statut est conféré . Dans la tête, il n’existe pas de tels moyens de communication qu’au milieu des larges côtés, car cela limite le contact visuel et coûte plus cher de vous voir. Cependant, lorsque vous parlez, l'attention est attirée plus facilement, car les mêmes fuites de la table dirigent le regard vers la tête et la personne est facilitée. Quant aux grands côtés, si quelqu'un est au centre, cela montre que cette personne veut s'impliquer et interagir. En revanche, ceux du coin préfèrent rester à l'extérieur, voir ce qui est cuit en premier, puis intervenir ou non. Les rôles de participant et d'initiateur dans le centre et d'observateur et de suiveur dans les coins sont facilités.

Circulaire

Dans les configurations circulaires, l’orientation des sièges ne change pas aussi radicalement que dans les formes géométriques plus rigides, telles que les formes carrées et rectangulaires. À cause de cela, les effets ci-dessus ont tendance à diminuer, par exemple, il n'y a pas d'emplacement indiquant un statut supérieur , ni un lieu où s’abriter, tous sont également exposés.Cependant, il y a l'effet Steinzor, qui a tendance à interagir davantage avec les personnes qui se trouvent devant, pour un meilleur contact visuel; Donc, si vous avez quelque chose en suspens à dire à quelqu'un, asseyez-vous, cela vous aidera.

Autres facteurs environnementaux

D'autres facteurs environnementaux de l'écologie du groupe peuvent être la température, qui, à des niveaux élevés, favorise l'irritabilité ou le bruit en tant que cause de stress. Même la même taille d'une salle peut influencer en fonction du nombre de personnes, car ce n'est pas la même chose étant cinq, rendant la réunion dans une grande ou une petite pièce. Mais de tous, le plus contrôlable est où nous sommes assis et, qui sait, peut-être que nous voulons changer de place à Noël prochain .


Comment réussir son entretien d'embauche ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes