yes, therapy helps!
The 10 best universities in the world to study Psychology

The 10 best universities in the world to study Psychology

October 21, 2020

Those interested in the functioning of the mind and the reason for the behavior of people may decide to study Psychology, one of the most demanded of today.

Without a doubt, it is an attractive career, but a long one that requires a good dose of motivation. Thus, It is not only important to want to study the degree in Psychology, but also the place where you study and the companions with whom these years of learning are shared can make this trip more or less pleasant. The vast majority of people want to study the career in their country, but some prefer to go on an adventure and cross the border to train.

Are you one of those who are thinking of going away to study? Are you one of those people who likes to know new cultures and other ways of working? Have you ever considered which is the best university in the world to study Psychology? If you have asked yourself these questions or you have concerns about knowing how psychology is outside your territory, this article may interest you. However, the universities that are part of this ranking are quite expensive, so they are not available to everyone.


What are the best Spanish universities to study Psychology?

Before knowing the best universities of Psychology worldwide, we will review the best Spanish universities to study this career.

According to him QS World University Rankings by Subject 2015/16, which is responsible for making an annual list of the most prestigious universities in the world since 2011, The best Spanish university centers to study the Degree in Psychology are the following :

  1. Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM)
  2. Complutense University of Madrid (UCM)
  3. University of Barcelona (UB)
  4. Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB)
  5. University of Granada (UGR)
  6. University of Valencia (UV)
  7. University of Santiago de Compostela (USC)
  8. University of Seville (US)
  9. University of the Basque Country (UPV / EHU)
  10. University of Zaragoza (UniZar)
If you are interested in learning more about these universities, you can read our article: The 10 best universities to study Psychology in Spain

The best universities in the world to study Psychology

As for the best universities in the world to study Psychology, Below you can find the "top 10" of the best academic institutions around the globe to train you as a psychologist.


This list has also been made based on the criteria of the QS World University Rankings® 2015/16. You can see the evaluation criteria by clicking on this link.

10. Princeton University

This private university was founded in 1946 . It is located in the center of Princeton, in the United States, a town located between New York and Philadelphia. Princeton offers a welcoming university environment, with sports and cultural activities on its campuses, always without forgetting the excellence in teaching. Its high level of education is what makes it one of the best universities to study Psychology.

9. University College London

University College London, also known as UCL, is one of the most prestigious in the United Kingdom . It annually welcomes 35,000 students and is famous for its great tradition in research. Besides the Degree in Psychology, it is a university recognized internationally for the quality of its Masters. One of the most recognized is the Organizational Psychology.


8. University of Michigan

This university was founded in Detroit in 1817 , but after 20 years she was transferred to Ann Arbor. 40,000 students study at this university center. His teaching staff is of the highest level. These, in addition to being great professionals in their field, have received many awards and recognitions for their great work. The University of Michigan has a long tradition in research in neuropsychology.

7. University of California Berkeley (UCB)

This is one of the most famous university centers in the United States, and specifically, the Department of Psychology of this university has some of the best psychology professors in North America. Of doneor, has in its ranks four winners of the Pulitzer Prize and seven professors who won the Nobel Prize . Although US universities are really expensive, this university center has a scholarship program for qualified students.

6. Yale University

The faculty of Psychology at Yale University is located in New Haven, Connecticut and it is, without doubt, one of the most recognized universities in the country.This university center has been in operation since 1701, and currently there are more than 11,000 students who are part of its university programs. One of the most well-known psychologists of this university is Stanley Milgram.

Learn about the contributions of this great psychologist in our article: The Milgram Experiment: the danger of obedience to authority

5. University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

The University of California is one of the best known and has 4 large universities spread throughout the state of California. In the "top 10" appears that is located in Los Angeles, and is better known as (UCLA). His university work began in 1919, and today is famous for his research in neuroscience. On the other hand, the University of California at San Diego (UCSD) also carries out many important studies in this specialty. The neuropsychologist Ramachandran is one of its greatest exponents.

If you are interested in learning more about Ramachandran's work, we invite you to read our post: The ghost member and the mirror box therapy

4. University of Oxford

Another one of the mythical British universities . In fact, the University of Oxford is the oldest English-speaking university in the world. The exact date of its foundation is not known, although everything indicates that it began its activities around the year 1096. It is one of the universities with greater recognition in terms of experimental psychology.

3. Stanford University

Stanford University is located in Palo Alto, California , and is one of the most famous universities in the world. A lot of research has been done from this university, one of the best known is that of Philip Zimbardo , a classic of Social Psychology. The psychology department was inaugurated in 1892 and the facilities of this university have 17 research laboratories.

You can take a look at Zimbardo's research in our article: The Stanford Prison Experiment by Philip Zimbardo

2. University of Cambridge

Cambridge, together with Oxford, is one of the most recognized universities in the United Kingdom . All the professors of this university center are leaders in their specialty. In addition to the ranking on which this article is based, Cambridge is also the first of the British universities to study psychology in other recognized lists: Guardian's University Guide 2016: league table for psychology, The Times Good University Guide 2016 and the Complete University Guide 2016.

1. Harvard University

Harvard University is the most prestigious university in the world not only in the field of Psychology , but also in other disciplines. It is located in Boston, Massachusetts, and its beginnings as an academic institution date back to 1636, being the oldest university in the United States. More than 20,000 students attend their university years at Harvard (both undergraduate and graduate and master's degrees).


Top 10 Best Universities in the World for Psychology✔✔ (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 meilleures universités au monde pour étudier la psychologie

Les 10 meilleures universités au monde pour étudier la psychologie

Février 21, 2019

Ceux qui s'intéressent au fonctionnement de l'esprit et à la raison du comportement des gens peuvent décider d'étudier la psychologie, l'une des plus demandées aujourd'hui.

C’est sans aucun doute une carrière attrayante, mais longue qui demande une bonne dose de motivation. Pour lui, Il est non seulement important de vouloir étudier le degré en psychologie, mais aussi l'endroit où vous étudiez et les compagnons avec qui ces années d'apprentissage sont partagées peuvent rendre ce voyage plus ou moins agréable. La grande majorité des gens veulent étudier la carrière dans leur pays, mais certains préfèrent partir à l'aventure et traverser la frontière pour s'entraîner.

Êtes-vous de ceux qui envisagent de partir étudier? Êtes-vous de ceux qui aiment connaître de nouvelles cultures et d'autres méthodes de travail? Avez-vous déjà considéré quelle est la meilleure université au monde pour étudier la psychologie? Si vous vous êtes posé ces questions ou si vous ne savez pas comment la psychologie se situe en dehors de votre territoire, cet article peut vous intéresser. Cependant, les universités qui font partie de ce classement sont assez chères et ne sont donc pas accessibles à tous.


Quelles sont les meilleures universités espagnoles pour étudier la psychologie?

Avant de connaître les meilleures universités de psychologie du monde, nous passerons en revue les meilleures universités espagnoles pour étudier cette carrière.

Selon le Classement mondial des universités QS par sujet 2015/16, qui est chargé de dresser une liste annuelle des universités les plus prestigieuses au monde depuis 2011, Les meilleurs centres universitaires espagnols pour étudier le degré en psychologie sont les suivants :

  1. Université autonome de Madrid (UAM)
  2. Université Complutense de Madrid (UCM)
  3. Université de Barcelone (UB)
  4. Université autonome de Barcelone (UAB)
  5. Université de Grenade (UGR)
  6. Université de Valence (UV)
  7. Université de Santiago de Compostela (USC)
  8. Université de Séville (US)
  9. Université du Pays Basque (UPV / EHU)
  10. Université de Saragosse (UniZar)
Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ces universités, vous pouvez lire notre article: Les 10 meilleures universités pour étudier la psychologie en Espagne

Les meilleures universités au monde pour étudier la psychologie

En ce qui concerne les meilleures universités au monde pour étudier la psychologie, Vous trouverez ci-dessous le "top 10" des meilleures institutions académiques du monde entier pour vous former en tant que psychologue.


Cette liste a également été établie sur la base des critères de la QS World University Rankings® 2015/16. Vous pouvez voir les critères d'évaluation en cliquant sur ce lien.

10. Université de Princeton

Cette université privée a été fondée en 1946 . Il est situé dans le centre de Princeton, aux États-Unis, une ville située entre New York et Philadelphie. Princeton offre un environnement universitaire accueillant, avec des activités sportives et culturelles sur ses campus, toujours sans oublier l’excellence de l’enseignement. Son haut niveau d'éducation est ce qui en fait l'une des meilleures universités pour étudier la psychologie.

9. University College London

University College London, également connu sous le nom de UCL, est l'un des plus prestigieux du Royaume-Uni. . Il accueille chaque année 35 000 étudiants et est réputé pour sa grande tradition de recherche. Outre le diplôme en psychologie, il s'agit d'une université reconnue internationalement pour la qualité de ses masters. L'un des plus reconnus est la psychologie organisationnelle.


8. Université du Michigan

Cette université a été fondée à Détroit en 1817 , mais après 20 ans, elle a été transférée à Ann Arbor. 40 000 étudiants étudient dans ce centre universitaire. Son personnel enseignant est du plus haut niveau. En plus d'être d'excellents professionnels dans leur domaine, ils ont reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions pour leur excellent travail. L'Université du Michigan a une longue tradition de recherche en neuropsychologie.

7. Université de Californie à Berkeley (UCB)

Il s’agit de l’un des centres universitaires les plus célèbres des États-Unis et le Département de psychologie de cette université compte parmi les meilleurs professeurs de psychologie en Amérique du Nord. De faitou, a dans ses rangs quatre lauréats du prix Pulitzer et sept professeurs qui ont remporté le prix Nobel . Bien que les universités américaines soient très chères, ce centre universitaire offre un programme de bourses aux étudiants qualifiés.

6. Université de Yale

La faculté de psychologie de l’Université de Yale est située à New Haven, dans le Connecticut. et c'est sans aucun doute l'une des universités les plus reconnues du pays.Ce centre universitaire fonctionne depuis 1701 et compte actuellement plus de 11 000 étudiants inscrits à ses programmes universitaires. Stanley Milgram est l'un des psychologues les plus connus de cette université.

Découvrez les contributions de ce grand psychologue dans notre article: L'expérience de Milgram: le danger de l'obéissance à l'autorité

5. Université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA)

L'université de Californie est l'une des plus connues et compte 4 grandes universités réparties dans l'État de Californie. Dans le "top 10" apparaît qui se trouve à Los Angeles, et est mieux connu sous le nom (UCLA). Ses travaux universitaires ont commencé en 1919 et sont aujourd'hui célèbres pour ses recherches en neurosciences. Par ailleurs, l’Université de Californie à San Diego (UCSD) mène également de nombreuses études importantes dans cette spécialité. Le neuropsychologue Ramachandran est l’un de ses plus grands représentants.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail de Ramachandran, nous vous invitons à lire notre post: Le membre fantôme et la thérapie de la boîte à miroirs

4. Université d'Oxford

Une autre des mythiques universités britanniques . En fait, l'université d'Oxford est la plus ancienne université anglophone du monde. La date exacte de sa fondation n'est pas connue, bien que tout indique que ses activités ont débuté autour de 1096. C'est l'une des universités les plus reconnues en termes de psychologie expérimentale.

3. Université de Stanford

L'université de Stanford est située à Palo Alto, en Californie et est l’une des universités les plus célèbres au monde. De nombreuses recherches ont été effectuées dans cette université, l’une des plus connues est celle de Philip Zimbardo , un classique de la psychologie sociale. Le département de psychologie a été inauguré en 1892 et les installations de cette université comptent 17 laboratoires de recherche.

Vous pouvez consulter les recherches de Zimbardo dans notre article: L'expérience de la prison de Stanford par Philip Zimbardo

2. Université de Cambridge

Cambridge, avec Oxford, est l'une des universités les plus reconnues du Royaume-Uni. . Tous les professeurs de ce centre universitaire sont des leaders dans leur spécialité. Outre le classement sur lequel repose cet article, Cambridge est également la première des universités britanniques à étudier la psychologie dans d'autres listes reconnues: Guardian's University Guide 2016: classement pour la psychologie, Guide de l'Université Times Good 2016 et la Guide universitaire complet 2016.

1. Université de Harvard

L'université de Harvard est la plus prestigieuse université du monde non seulement dans le domaine de la psychologie , mais aussi dans d’autres disciplines. Elle est située à Boston, dans le Massachusetts, et ses débuts en tant qu’institution universitaire remontent à 1636. C’était la plus ancienne université des États-Unis. Plus de 20 000 étudiants étudient à Harvard pendant leurs études universitaires (diplômes de premier et deuxième cycles et maîtrises).


Étudier au Canada : à quoi penser avant de partir (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes