yes, therapy helps!
The 12 differences between eukaryotic cell and prokaryotic cell

The 12 differences between eukaryotic cell and prokaryotic cell

September 14, 2022

The cell is the smallest unit of life , and is a fundamental component to define us as living beings. Since its size is so small, it was not discovered until the microscope was invented.

It is from the nineteenth and twentieth that develops the cell theory, which explains that the cell is the structural unit of living beings and states that all living beings are made up of one or more cells. It is also considered a functional unit, since it carries out all the vital functions (nutrition, relation and reproduction). Likewise, the cell is the genetic unit, which contains the hereditary material and all come from another preexisting cell.

In this article you can find the main ones explained Differences that exist between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells .


  • You may be interested: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Different types of cells

Therefore, a cell can be defined as the structural, functional and genetic unit of all living beings, and can be classified in different ways. Mainly in prokaryotic (or prokaryotic) and eukaryotic (or eukaryotic) cells. The latter, in turn, can be classified into animal and plant cells, although also protozoa, algae and fungi are eukaryotic organisms .

The two large groups of cells (prokaryotes and eukaryotes) have similarities and differences. The first are unicellular organisms, which lack a defined or true cell nucleus and in which the DNA is dispersed through the cytoplasm . It's the bacteria. Eukaryotes are organisms composed of cells that have a true nucleus, delimited within a double lipid layer, and organized cytoplasm.


  • Related article: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Similarities between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells

While prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells are different in many ways, they also have certain similarities. Both contain genetic material, that is, DNA. They have a cell membrane that covers them. Their basic chemical structures are similar , because both are composed of carbohydrates, proteins, nucleic acid, minerals, fats and vitamins.

Both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells They contain ribosomes, which produce proteins . The two types of cells regulate the flow of nutrients and residual matter that enters and leaves the cells. They also reproduce, although in different ways. They need energy to survive, they contain cytoplasm inside the cells and a cytoskeleton. Both classes of cells have a lipid bilayer, known as the plasma membrane, which forms the boundary between the inner and outer side of the cell.


Differences between prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells

There are also certain differences between prokaryotic cells and eukaryotic cells. Scientists believe that eukaryotic cells evolved from prokaryotic cells.

But, what are these differences? In the following lines we explain them to you.

1. Core

While eukaryotic cells have a well-defined nucleus, prokaryotes do not. Genetic information is stored within the nucleus of eukaryotes .

2. Origin

It is estimated that prokaryotic cells have their origin around 3700 million years, instead, eukaryotic cells 2000 million years.

3. Size

Prokaryotic cells are smaller : 0.1-5.0μm in diameter. The largest eukaryotes: 10-100μm in diameter.

4. Cell organization

Prokaryotic cells are usually unicellular, whereas multicellular eukaryotes.

5. Genetic material

The genetic material of eukaryotes is stored in the nucleus; however, in the case of prokaryotic cells, it is dispersed throughout the cytoplasm. The DNA of prokaryotic cells are not associated with histones.

6. Composition of the plasma membrane

In eukaryotic cells, Plasma membranes contain sterols . In the case of prokaryotic cells, only in mycoplasmas.

7. Form of genetic material

In prokaryotic cells, the DNA is circular. Now, when it comes to eukaryotic cells, the DNA is linear and, as previously mentioned, it is associated with histone proteins.

8. Number of chromosomes

Prokaryotic cells have a single chromosome. However, eukaryotic cells present multiple chromosomes .

9. Plasmatic membrane

In prokaryotic cells the plasma membrane is composed of peptidoglycan or murein. In the case of eukaryotes, it is formed by phospholipids.

10. Organielos

Prokaryotic cells present an inner matrix with non-membranous organelles . Prokaryotic cells present membranous organelles in the cytoplasm (eg, Golgi apparatuses).

11. Reproduction

Reproduction in prokaryotic cells occurs by asexual reproduction, by binary fission. In contrast, in eukaryotic cells reproduction occurs by mitosis and meiosis.

12. Living organisms

Prokaryotic cells are bacteria , while prokaryotic cells are part of animals, plants, fungi, protozoa and algae.

Differences between animal and plant cells

Within the different types of eukaryotic cells we can find animal and vegetable cells, which although they show some similarities, are also different in some aspects.

As for the shared characteristics , both have a well-defined nucleus, where they host DNA. They also carry out similar production processes, in which mitosis and meiosis are included. Cellular respiration is necessary for energy, and they share some cellular components (Golgi apparatus, endoplasmic reticulum, ribosomes, etc.)

In reference to the differences, plant cells store energy in the form of starch , while the animal cells do so in the form of glycogen. The first tend to be larger than the second, and usually have a rectangular shape. While both have a cell membrane, the cell wall is only present in plant cells, algae, archaea and fungi. The cells of plants are able to synthesize all the essential amino acids, something that does not happen with animal cells.


Prokaryotic vs. Eukaryotic Cells (Updated) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 12 différences entre cellule eucaryote et cellule procaryote

Les 12 différences entre cellule eucaryote et cellule procaryote

Mai 20, 2019

La cellule est la plus petite unité de vie et constitue un élément fondamental pour nous définir en tant qu’êtres vivants. Comme sa taille est si petite, il n’a pas été découvert avant l’invention du microscope.

C'est à partir des XIXe et XXe siècles que se développe la théorie cellulaire, ce qui explique que la cellule est l'unité structurelle des êtres vivants et déclare que tous les êtres vivants sont constitués d'une ou de plusieurs cellules. Elle est également considérée comme une unité fonctionnelle, car elle remplit toutes les fonctions vitales (nutrition, relation et reproduction). De même, la cellule est l’unité génétique, qui contient le matériel héréditaire et provient d’une autre cellule préexistante.

Dans cet article, vous pouvez trouver les principales expliquées Différences existant entre les cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Différents types de cellules

Par conséquent, une cellule peut être définie comme l'unité structurelle, fonctionnelle et génétique de tous les êtres vivants, et peut être classée de différentes manières. Principalement dans les cellules procaryotes (ou procaryotes) et eucaryotes (ou eucaryotes). Ces dernières, à leur tour, peuvent être classées en cellules animales et végétales, bien que les protozoaires, les algues et les champignons sont également des organismes eucaryotes .

Les deux grands groupes de cellules (procaryotes et eucaryotes) présentent des similitudes et des différences. Les premiers sont des organismes unicellulaires, dépourvus de véritable noyau cellulaire et dans lesquels l'ADN est dispersé à travers le cytoplasme . C'est la bactérie. Les eucaryotes sont des organismes composés de cellules qui ont un vrai noyau, délimitées dans une double couche lipidique et un cytoplasme organisé.


  • Article connexe: "Types de cellules principales du corps humain"

Similitudes entre les cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes

Bien que les cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes soient différentes à bien des égards, elles présentent également certaines similitudes. Les deux contiennent du matériel génétique, c'est-à-dire de l'ADN. Ils ont une membrane cellulaire qui les recouvre. Leurs structures chimiques de base sont similaires , car les deux sont composés d’hydrates de carbone, de protéines, d’acides nucléiques, de minéraux, de lipides et de vitamines.

Cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes Ils contiennent des ribosomes, qui produisent des protéines . Les deux types de cellules régulent le flux de nutriments et de matières résiduelles entrant et sortant des cellules. Ils se reproduisent aussi, bien que de différentes manières. Ils ont besoin d'énergie pour survivre, ils contiennent un cytoplasme à l'intérieur des cellules et un cytosquelette. Les deux classes de cellules ont une bicouche lipidique, appelée membrane plasmique, qui constitue la limite entre les côtés interne et externe de la cellule.


Différences entre les cellules procaryotes et eucaryotes

Il existe également certaines différences entre les cellules procaryotes et les cellules eucaryotes. Les scientifiques pensent que les cellules eucaryotes ont évolué à partir de cellules procaryotes.

Mais, quelles sont ces différences? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous vous les expliquons.

1. Noyau

Les cellules eucaryotes ont un noyau bien défini, mais pas les procaryotes. Les informations génétiques sont stockées dans le noyau des eucaryotes .

2. origine

On estime que les cellules procaryotes ont leur origine vers 3700 millions d'années, alors que les cellules eucaryotes sont 2000 millions d'années.

3. taille

Les cellules procaryotes sont plus petites : 0.1-5.0μm de diamètre. Les plus grands eucaryotes: 10-100μm de diamètre.

4. Organisation de la cellule

Les cellules procaryotes sont généralement unicellulaires, alors que les eucaryotes multicellulaires.

5. Matériel génétique

Le matériel génétique des eucaryotes est stocké dans le noyau; cependant, dans le cas de cellules procaryotes, il est dispersé dans tout le cytoplasme. L'ADN des cellules procaryotes n'est pas associé aux histones.

6. Composition de la membrane plasmique

Dans les cellules eucaryotes, Les membranes plasmiques contiennent des stérols . Dans le cas de cellules procaryotes, uniquement dans les mycoplasmes.

7. Forme du matériel génétique

Dans les cellules procaryotes, l'ADN est circulaire. En ce qui concerne les cellules eucaryotes, l’ADN est linéaire et, comme mentionné précédemment, il est associé aux protéines histones.

8. Nombre de chromosomes

Les cellules procaryotes ont un seul chromosome. Cependant, les cellules eucaryotes présenter de multiples chromosomes .

9. membrane plasmatique

Dans les cellules procaryotes, la membrane plasmique est composée de peptidoglycane ou de murein. Dans le cas des eucaryotes, il est formé de phospholipides.

10. Organielos

Cellules procaryotes présent une matrice interne avec des organites non membraneuses . Les cellules procaryotes présentent des organites membraneuses dans le cytoplasme (par exemple, des appareils de Golgi).

11. Reproduction

La reproduction dans les cellules procaryotes s'effectue par reproduction asexuée, par fission binaire. En revanche, dans les cellules eucaryotes, la reproduction se fait par mitose et méiose.

12. Organismes vivants

Les cellules procaryotes sont des bactéries , tandis que les cellules procaryotes font partie des animaux, des plantes, des champignons, des protozoaires et des algues.

Différences entre les cellules animales et végétales

Parmi les différents types de cellules eucaryotes, on trouve des cellules animales et végétales qui, bien qu’elles présentent certaines similitudes, diffèrent également sous certains aspects.

Quant aux caractéristiques communes , les deux ont un noyau bien défini, où ils hébergent l’ADN. Ils effectuent également des processus de production similaires, qui incluent la mitose et la méiose. La respiration cellulaire est nécessaire à l’énergie, et ils partagent certaines composantes cellulaires (appareil de Golgi, réticulum endoplasmique, ribosomes, etc.).

En référence aux différences, les cellules végétales emmagasine l'énergie sous forme d'amidon , alors que les cellules animales le font sous forme de glycogène. Les premiers ont tendance à être plus grands que les seconds et ont généralement une forme rectangulaire. Alors que les deux ont une membrane cellulaire, la paroi cellulaire n'est présente que dans les cellules végétales, les algues, les archées et les champignons. Les cellules des plantes sont capables de synthétiser tous les acides aminés essentiels, ce qui n’arrive pas avec les cellules animales.


Biologie cellulaire: partie 1: Cellule Eucaryote et cellule Procaryote (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes