yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of anticonvulsant drugs (antiepileptic drugs)

The 7 types of anticonvulsant drugs (antiepileptic drugs)

January 25, 2022

Anticonvulsant medications, such as carbamazepine, lamotrigine, gabapentin or valproate, are prescribed especially in cases of epilepsy. Some of them have also proven effective in the management of the symptoms of other psychological problems, such as bipolar disorder, anxiety, borderline personality disorder or neuropathic pain.

In this article we will describe the characteristics of the 7 main types of anticonvulsant or antiepileptic drugs : the carboxamides, the structural analogs of GABA, the triazines, the fatty acid derivatives, the benzodiazepines, the barbiturates and the bromides. Some are used today, while others have lost relevance.


  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What are anticonvulsants?

Anticonvulsant or antiepileptic drugs are a type of medication that is used primarily for treat seizures due to epileptic seizures or other causes . However, its uses are not limited exclusively to this symptom, but are increasingly prescribed to stabilize mood and reduce neuropathic pain.

Since there are many different anticonvulsants, it is not possible to describe a single mechanism of action. However, a significant proportion of these drugs reduce the electrochemical activity of the brain through its Interaction with neurotransmitter receptors such as GABA and glutamate .


Other antiepileptic drugs block the sodium or calcium channels controlled by voltage; this reduces the function of the neurotransmitters associated with seizures. There are also several anticonvulsant drugs whose mechanism of action continues to be unknown at present, although its effectiveness has been demonstrated.

In the case of epilepsy, these effects reduce the frequency with which neurons trigger electrochemical signals, which prevents the neural dysfunctions that cause seizures from spreading through the brain, significantly limiting the severity of epileptic seizures .

Some anticonvulsants are used to stabilize the mood in different psychological disorders. In this sense, the popularization of its use in cases of bipolar disorder, which is characterized by the alternation of periods of depression and mania, and borderline personality disorder, in which there is instability of emotions and identity.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Epilepsy: definition, causes, diagnosis and treatment"

Types of anticonvulsant drugs

Many different types of anticonvulsant drugs have been used since the use of potassium bromide to treat cases of "hysterical epilepsy" in the mid-nineteenth century. Currently, the use of these and other classic anticonvulsants, such as barbiturates and benzodiazepines, has been relegated to the background.

Nowadays the drugs of choice for the treatment of seizures They include carbamazepine and oxcarbazepine, which belong to the class of carboxamides, the structural analogs of GABA such as gabapentin and some other drugs, such as valproic acid and lamotrigine.

1. Carboxamides

Carbamazepine and oxcarbazepine are two of the most commonly used anticonvulsants nowadays. In addition to treating epilepsy, carbamazepine is prescribed in cases of neuropathic pain, while oxcarbazepine is used as a coadjuvant medication in bipolar disorder when the symptoms do not remit with the drugs of choice.

These carboxamides are considered to be some of the safest treatments for seizures. Its side effects are usually slight or mild, limited to dizziness, nausea, vomiting, headaches or drowsiness; rarely cause more serious adverse reactions.

2. Structural analogues of GABA

The drugs that they act in a similar way to the inhibitory neurotransmitter GABA they are called "structural analogs of GABA". The two most common anticonvulsants in this class are gabapentin, which is used to treat epilepsy, neuropathic pain and restless legs syndrome, and pregabalin, used in anxiety disorders and fibromyalgia.

  • Related article: "GABA (neurotransmitter): what it is and what role it plays in the brain"

3. Derivatives of fatty acids

The anticonvulsants derived from fatty acids, the most important of which is valproate or valproic acid, increase the availability of GABA in the nervous system or exert other agonist effects on it. As well block sodium and calcium channels controlled by voltage ; This results in an inhibition of brain activity.

4. Triazines

This class of antiepileptic drugs inhibits the release of excitatory neurotransmitters, mainly glutamate. Lamotrigine is part of this group and is used to treat bipolar disorder and different types of epileptic seizures: focal, tonic-clonic and those that appear as a result of Lennox-Gastaut syndrome.

5. Benzodiazepines

Benzodiazepines, a type of sedative, have for many decades been the most used psychotropic drugs to treat problems related to physiological hyperactivation and cognitive , such as anxiety, muscle tension and insomnia. Among the benzodiazepines used as anticonvulsants are clonazepam and clobazam.

  • Related article: "Benzodiazepines (psychodrugs): uses, effects and risks"

6. Barbiturates

In 1912, phenobarbital, a drug of the barbiturate class, began to be used to prevent and treat the symptoms of epilepsy. Since then, many anticonvulsants have been found to have less intense and interfering sedative effects, although barbiturates are still occasionally used for their rapid effect in relieving seizures.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Barbiturates: effects, mechanisms of action and toxicity"

7. Bromides

Sodium bromide was the first drug to be used to treat epilepsy . Its origin goes back to the year 1857, when Charles Locock suggested this application. They were replaced by barbiturates after the emergence of phenobarbital in 1912, but bromides are still used as anticonvulsants in veterinary medicine, especially in dogs.


Epilepsy - Types of Seizures (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types de médicaments anticonvulsivants (antiépileptiques)

Les 7 types de médicaments anticonvulsivants (antiépileptiques)

Juin 13, 2021

Les anticonvulsivants, tels que la carbamazépine, la lamotrigine, la gabapentine ou le valproate, sont prescrits notamment en cas d'épilepsie. Certains d'entre eux se sont également révélés efficaces dans la gestion des symptômes d'autres problèmes psychologiques, tels que le trouble bipolaire, l'anxiété, le trouble de la personnalité limite ou la douleur neuropathique.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques de les 7 principaux types de médicaments anticonvulsivants ou antiépileptiques : les carboxamides, les analogues structuraux du GABA, les triazines, les dérivés d’acides gras, les benzodiazépines, les barbituriques et les bromures. Certains sont utilisés aujourd'hui, d'autres ont perdu de leur pertinence.


  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Quels sont les anticonvulsifs?

Les anticonvulsivants ou antiépileptiques sont un type de médicament utilisé principalement pour traiter les crises dues à des crises d'épilepsie ou à d'autres causes . Cependant, ses utilisations ne se limitent pas exclusivement à ce symptôme, mais sont de plus en plus prescrites pour stabiliser l'humeur et réduire les douleurs neuropathiques.

Comme il existe de nombreux anticonvulsivants différents, il est impossible de décrire un mécanisme d'action unique. Cependant, une proportion importante de ces médicaments réduit l'activité électrochimique du cerveau par son Interaction avec les récepteurs de neurotransmetteurs tels que le GABA et le glutamate .


D'autres antiépileptiques bloquent les canaux sodiques ou calciques contrôlés par la tension; cela réduit la fonction des neurotransmetteurs associés aux crises. Il existe également plusieurs médicaments anticonvulsivants dont le mécanisme d'action reste inconnu, bien que son efficacité ait été démontrée.

Dans le cas de l'épilepsie, ces effets réduisent la fréquence à laquelle les neurones déclenchent des signaux électrochimiques, ce qui empêche les dysfonctionnements neuronaux à l'origine des crises de se propager à travers le cerveau, limiter significativement la gravité des crises d'épilepsie .

Certains anticonvulsifs sont utilisés pour stabiliser l’humeur dans différents troubles psychologiques. En ce sens, la vulgarisation de son utilisation en cas de trouble bipolaire, qui se caractérise par l’alternance de périodes de dépression et de manie, et de trouble de la personnalité limite, dans lequel règnent une instabilité des émotions et de l’identité.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Épilepsie: définition, causes, diagnostic et traitement"

Types de médicaments anticonvulsivants

De nombreux types de médicaments anticonvulsivants ont été utilisés depuis l'utilisation du bromure de potassium pour traiter les cas d '"épilepsie hystérique" au milieu du XIXe siècle. Actuellement, l’utilisation de ces anticonvulsivants classiques et d’autres, tels que les barbituriques et les benzodiazépines, a été reléguée au second plan.

Actuellement les médicaments de choix pour le traitement des convulsions Ils comprennent la carbamazépine et l'oxcarbazépine, qui appartiennent à la classe des carboxamides, les analogues structuraux du GABA tels que la gabapentine et certains autres médicaments, tels que l'acide valproïque et la lamotrigine.

1. Carboxamides

La carbamazépine et l'oxcarbazépine sont deux des anticonvulsivants les plus couramment utilisés Actuellement. En plus de traiter l'épilepsie, la carbamazépine est prescrite en cas de douleur neuropathique, tandis que l'oxcarbazépine est utilisée comme médicament coadjuvant dans le trouble bipolaire lorsque les symptômes ne disparaissent pas avec les médicaments de choix.

Ces carboxamides sont considérés comme l'un des traitements les plus sûrs contre les convulsions. Ses effets secondaires sont généralement légers ou légers, limités à des vertiges, des nausées, des vomissements, des maux de tête ou une somnolence. provoquent rarement des réactions indésirables plus graves.

2. Analogues structurels du GABA

Les drogues qui ils agissent de la même manière que le neurotransmetteur inhibiteur GABA on les appelle "analogues structuraux de GABA". Les deux anticonvulsifs les plus courants de cette classe sont la gabapentine, utilisée pour traiter l'épilepsie, la douleur neuropathique et le syndrome des jambes sans repos, et la prégabaline, utilisée dans les troubles anxieux et la fibromyalgie.

  • Article connexe: "GABA (neurotransmetteur): de quoi s'agit-il et quel rôle joue-t-il dans le cerveau"

3. Dérivés d'acides gras

Les anticonvulsivants dérivés d'acides gras, dont le plus important est le valproate ou l'acide valproïque, augmentent la disponibilité du GABA dans le système nerveux ou exercent d'autres effets agonistes sur celui-ci. Aussi bloquer les canaux sodiques et calciques contrôlés par la tension ; Cela se traduit par une inhibition de l'activité cérébrale.

4. Triazines

Cette classe de médicaments antiépileptiques inhibe la libération de neurotransmetteurs excitateurs, principalement du glutamate. La lamotrigine fait partie de ce groupe et est utilisée pour traiter le trouble bipolaire et différents types de crises d'épilepsie: focale, tonico-clonique et ceux résultant du syndrome de Lennox-Gastaut.

5. Benzodiazépines

Les benzodiazépines, un type de sédatif, sont depuis de nombreuses décennies les médicaments psychotropes les plus utilisés pour traiter problèmes liés à l'hyperactivation physiologique et cognitif comme l’anxiété, la tension musculaire et l’insomnie. Parmi les benzodiazépines utilisées comme anticonvulsivants, il y a le clonazépam et le clobazam.

  • Article connexe: "Benzodiazépines (psychodrugs): usages, effets et risques"

6. Barbituriques

En 1912, le phénobarbital, un médicament de la classe des barbituriques, a commencé à être utilisé pour prévenir et traiter les symptômes de l'épilepsie. Depuis lors, de nombreux anticonvulsivants ont montré des effets sédatifs moins intenses et moins gênants, bien que les barbituriques soient encore parfois utilisés pour leur effet rapide dans le soulagement des crises convulsives.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Barbituriques: effets, mécanismes d'action et toxicité"

7. Bromures

Le bromure de sodium a été le premier médicament à être utilisé pour traiter l'épilepsie . Son origine remonte à l'année 1857, lorsque Charles Locock proposa cette application. Ils ont été remplacés par des barbituriques après l’émergence du phénobarbital en 1912, mais les bromures sont toujours utilisés comme anticonvulsivants en médecine vétérinaire, en particulier chez les chiens.


Antiépileptiques (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes