yes, therapy helps!
The advantages (and disadvantages) of being excessively handsome

The advantages (and disadvantages) of being excessively handsome

May 6, 2021

Beauty is a concept that is always difficult to tackle . Each culture establishes the parameters of what it considers beautiful in each of the areas where beauty can play a role: not only in the world of art, but also in human beings.

Thus, certain facial, bodily and communicative features are associated, according to each culture and historical moment, with a greater beauty. Handsome individuals are those who, by social consensus, are seen as more desirable and physically attractive, and can be the focus of attention and comments much more frequently than other less graceful people.

Related article: "Does the physicist matter when it comes to flirting? 3 reflections on beauty"

Beautiful people: is everything positive?

A priori, it seems that being handsome only has advantages: greater attention, the benefits of the halo effect, and greater possibilities of relating to others, making a good impression. However, several investigations put some nuances and point out some negative aspects that "suffer" people with a beauty above average.


A series of scientific investigations have tried to know what are the advantages and disadvantages of being handsome or pretty . For example, a study published in Sociology Compass that was developed at the University of North Carolina analyzed the social impact of beauty in several historical stages, to later compare them with each other.

They found several surprising results. Beauty was not only an important factor in society in general, but it could predict several phenomena in people considered "very beautiful".

Advantages of being handsome

Of course, being physically attractive has a number of advantages for life. This is where we again refer to the halo effect. Beautiful people are benefited by this cognitive bias, which makes from their positive trait "beautiful", others perceive them as more generous, friendly and trustworthy . From a single positive feature, we tend to generalize the virtues in that same individual, although we do not have the necessary information to reach that hasty conclusion.


In this sense, the beautiful is also perceived socially as a sign of social status . Although it is clearly nonsense, the truth is that we tend to attribute qualities such as kindness or generosity to beautiful people, and to treat them in a more deferential and gentle way.

Although there are no scientific data to support it, there is a hypothesis, very widespread among the legal and judicial world, that says that beautiful people usually receive lighter sentences compared to ugly people , even if the circumstances of the crime could have been very similar.

Benefits caused by cognitive biases

In the same study by Walker and Frevert, other interesting data were reported. Physically attractive college students tended to be seen as more competent and smart than the less graceful.


All this excess of attention, approval and acceptance that beautiful people receive over time has an effect on their own personality. This is also an interesting question to analyze. They are usually individuals with more confidence in themselves , and even have better salaries (statistically speaking), according to one of the authors of the study. The difference in salaries between beautiful people and unattractive people could range between 10 and 20% in favor of the former.

Disadvantages of being handsome

Although we have discovered a few positive aspects of being physically attractive so far, in fact beauty can be an obstacle or a negative factor in other contexts .

Individuals who have suffered bullying, especially when they are sexually motivated, can account for it. This type of sexual harassment in the workplace especially attacks young and attractive women.

An investigation carried out in 1985 found that people usually leave a greater physical distance with beautiful people when they travel on the street . This has two readings: on the one hand it can be considered a kind of symbol of respect, but it can also be understood as a tendency to exclude attractive people. It is as if the handsome and handsome have a kind of upper halo that other people perceive as inaccessible.

In fact, psychologists and programmers of dating websites usually explain thatusers profiles that get more attention and appointments are not those with the most perfect and seductive photos . This could be explained by the principle of inaccessibility that we explained earlier: users with more "normal" photos can benefit from this greater psychological predisposition to want to meet people who seem accessible, even if they are not so beautiful.

Being handsome, a possible obstacle when looking for work

We have all faced at some time a job interview, an essential obstacle to access a good job.

In interviews, beauty can be an obstacle, especially if the interviewer is of our same sex . This could be due to a kind of unconscious protection against sexual competition, since a new worker with superior physical attributes can suppose some kind of unwanted competition. These are attitudes and decisions that operate at an intuitive level, but it is possible that in the business world there are certain reluctance to confer credibility to potential employees with great physical attractiveness.

Several conclusions and reflections on beauty

As we have seen, Beauty is a cultural construct that, whether we like it or not, has a significant impact on our day to day .

The important thing is not obsessed at any time by our physical appearance, we have been more or less graceful by Mother Nature. Knowing these scientific facts about the advantages and disadvantages of being handsome can help us to try to overcome the pitfalls we can suffer both if we are in one side and the other.


The Truth About Being "Attractive" (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les avantages (et les inconvénients) d'être excessivement beau

Les avantages (et les inconvénients) d'être excessivement beau

Mai 21, 2022

La beauté est un concept toujours difficile à aborder . Chaque culture établit les paramètres de ce qu’elle considère beau dans chacun des domaines où la beauté peut jouer un rôle: non seulement dans le monde de l’art, mais aussi chez l’être humain.

Ainsi, certains traits du visage, du corps et de la communication sont associés, selon chaque culture et chaque moment historique, à une plus grande beauté. Les personnes séduisantes sont celles qui, par consensus social, sont considérées comme plus désirables et plus attrayantes physiquement, et peuvent attirer l'attention et les commentaires beaucoup plus souvent que d'autres personnes moins gracieuses.

Article connexe: "Le physicien a-t-il une importance lorsqu'il s'agit de flirter? 3 réflexions sur la beauté"

Belles personnes: tout est-il positif?

A priori, il semble qu'être beau n'a que des avantages: une plus grande attention, les avantages de l'effet de halo et de plus grandes possibilités de relation avec les autres, ce qui donne une bonne impression. Cependant, plusieurs enquêtes ont mis en évidence certaines nuances et certains aspects négatifs qui "souffrent" d'une beauté supérieure à la moyenne.


Une série d'investigations scientifiques ont essayé de savoir quels sont les avantages et les inconvénients d'être beau ou joli . Par exemple, une étude publiée dans Sociology Compass, développée à l’Université de Caroline du Nord, a analysé l’impact social de la beauté à plusieurs stades de l’histoire, pour ensuite les comparer.

Ils ont trouvé plusieurs résultats surprenants. La beauté était non seulement un facteur important dans la société en général, mais elle pouvait aussi prévoir plusieurs phénomènes chez des personnes considérées comme "très belles".

Avantages d'être beau

Bien sûr, être attrayant physiquement présente de nombreux avantages pour la vie. C’est là que nous nous référons à nouveau à l’effet de halo. Les belles personnes bénéficient de ce biais cognitif, ce qui rend de leur trait positif "beau", les autres les perçoivent comme plus généreux, amical et digne de confiance . À partir d’un élément positif unique, nous avons tendance à généraliser les vertus chez ce même individu, bien que nous n’ayons pas les informations nécessaires pour parvenir à cette conclusion hâtive.


Dans ce sens, le beau est aussi perçu socialement comme un signe de statut social . Bien que cela soit clairement absurde, la vérité est que nous avons tendance à attribuer des qualités telles que la gentillesse ou la générosité à de belles personnes et à les traiter avec plus de déférence et de douceur.

Bien qu'aucune donnée scientifique ne le corrobore, il existe une hypothèse, très répandue dans le monde juridique et judiciaire, selon laquelle les belles personnes reçoivent généralement des peines plus légères que les personnes laides , même si les circonstances du crime auraient pu être très similaires.

Avantages causés par les biais cognitifs

Dans la même étude de Walker et Frevert, d’autres données intéressantes ont été rapportées. Les étudiants physiquement attrayants ont tendance à être perçus comme plus compétents et intelligents que le moins gracieux.


Tout cet excès d'attention, d'approbation et d'acceptation que les belles personnes reçoivent au fil du temps a un effet sur leur propre personnalité. C'est aussi une question intéressante à analyser. Ce sont généralement des individus qui ont plus confiance en eux , et même avoir de meilleurs salaires (statistiquement parlant), selon l’un des auteurs de l’étude. La différence de salaire entre les belles personnes et les personnes peu attrayantes pourrait aller de 10 à 20% en faveur des premières.

Inconvénients d'être beau

Bien que nous ayons découvert quelques aspects positifs de notre attrait physique jusqu’à présent, en fait, la beauté peut être un obstacle ou un facteur négatif dans d'autres contextes .

Les personnes qui ont été victimes d'intimidation, en particulier lorsqu'elles sont motivées sexuellement, peuvent en rendre compte. Ce type de harcèlement sexuel sur le lieu de travail attaque particulièrement les femmes jeunes et attirantes.

Une enquête menée en 1985 a révélé que les gens laissent généralement une plus grande distance physique avec de belles personnes quand ils se déplacent dans la rue . Cela comporte deux lectures: d'une part, cela peut être considéré comme une sorte de symbole de respect, mais cela peut aussi être compris comme une tendance à exclure les personnes attirantes. C'est comme si les beaux et beaux avaient une sorte de halo supérieur que les autres perçoivent comme inaccessible.

En fait, les psychologues et les programmeurs de sites de rencontre disent en général queLes profils d'utilisateurs qui retiennent plus l'attention et les rendez-vous ne sont pas ceux avec les photos les plus parfaites et les plus séduisantes . Cela pourrait s'expliquer par le principe d'inaccessibilité que nous avons expliqué plus haut: les utilisateurs avec des photos plus "normales" peuvent bénéficier de cette prédisposition psychologique plus grande à vouloir rencontrer des personnes qui semblent accessibles, même si elles ne sont pas si belles.

Être beau, un obstacle possible lors de la recherche d'un travail

Nous avons tous été confrontés à un moment à un entretien d'embauche, un obstacle essentiel pour accéder à un bon travail.

Dans les interviews, la beauté peut être un obstacle, surtout si l'interviewer est du même sexe. . Cela pourrait être dû à une sorte de protection inconsciente contre la compétition sexuelle, puisqu'un nouveau travailleur doté d’attributs physiques supérieurs peut supposer une sorte de concurrence non désirée. Ce sont des attitudes et des décisions qui fonctionnent à un niveau intuitif, mais il est possible que, dans le monde des affaires, il y ait une certaine réticence à conférer de la crédibilité à des employés potentiels avec un grand attrait physique.

Plusieurs conclusions et réflexions sur la beauté

Comme nous l'avons vu, La beauté est une construction culturelle qui, que cela nous plaise ou non, a un impact significatif sur notre quotidien .

L'important n'est à aucun moment obsédé par notre apparence physique, nous avons été plus ou moins gracieux de la part de Mère Nature. Connaître ces faits scientifiques sur les avantages et les inconvénients d'être beau peut nous aider à surmonter les pièges que nous pouvons subir si nous sommes d'un côté et de l'autre.


Top 8 des phrases que tu entends toujours quand tu es grand (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes