yes, therapy helps!
The relationship between money and happiness

The relationship between money and happiness

November 29, 2022

Happiness is related to money . It's that simple, but with nuances. Some authors rush to assert that "money is not everything" or that "does not buy happiness". The first one could accept it, the second one needs an explanation. Established the connection between salary and personal well-being, experts suggest that there are levels and ranges of income to measure to what extent this is true.

On the other hand, if money is happiness, to what extent does income affect it? Is there any income limit that can not increase that happiness? A work published in the journal Nature reveals some curiosities. However, some psychologists, such as the American Charles Whitehead, remain skeptical about this issue and deny the conclusions of the study that will be discussed below.


  • Related article: "Is there a recipe for happiness?" Eduard Punset and Rojas Marcos respond "

Money does not buy happiness?

Socially is more than accepted that money does not give happiness. Moreover, in 2010 a study was published by the University of Victoria (New Zealand) that affirms, in effect, that money was equal to well-being but that, in no way, was it capable of "buying" doses of happiness. In this study, almost 500,000 interviews were conducted from some 70 countries around the globe. The conclusions were that Freedom and free time are above cumulative wealth when it comes to providing well-being.

Some believe that this was a deliberate study to calm the masses in times of economic crisis and a decline in the purchasing power of citizens worldwide. To put it in some way, this study was an emotional relief for those groups that were convinced that the Bill Gates and Amancios Ortega lived happier.


Well, they were not so wrong. Another joint study between Harvard University and Columbia (USA) contradicts the research of his ocean colleagues. It is more a semantic question. Money does not buy happiness, true, but it does helps to be able to invest in it in free time . What unequivocally distinguishes happy people from unhappy people is the time variable. If we have good income and we know how to manage leisure time with working life, we can have many more chances of being happy, while the population with less money has to accept precarious jobs of many hours or moonlighting in order to survive.

The problem is that conversely, the same does not happen. If we have little money but a lot of free time we can not invest in our well-being , we do not have enough resources to take advantage of free time. The logic is the following: the times without obligations minimize the effects of stress and anxiety, which increases happiness.


The limits between the money versus happiness relationship

To determine the correlation between happiness and money, sociologists and expert researchers in American human behavior Andrew T. Jebb, Louis Tay, Ed Diener and Shigehiro Oishi, conducted their study using the Gallup method. The Gallup Organization is specifically responsible for measuring, analyzing and studying the behavior of individuals to resolve issues of concern to society in general.

Having chosen the Gallup World Poll, the authors based themselves on a panel of 2 million people from around the world, controlling demographic factors that determine the income by area in which the data collection is done, in a random way to reduce the maximum any type of bias After the study, an enlightening result has been obtained: there is a threshold from which to earn more money does not provide more happiness. This limit ranges between $ 60,000 and 90,000 annual The figures that exceed that amount, are unable to generate more happiness or emotional stability.

Free time, unknown factor

Being a topic of extreme complexity to draw exact conclusions, each author who intervenes in this type of studies or research, tries to collect different variables and statements to support a more realistic thesis. For this, both Elizabeth Dunn, collaborator of the research of Columbia University, and Louis Tay, agree that the time factor is the mother of all unknowns

A parallel study was carried out to be able to specify this thesis. With a smaller number of participants, just over a thousand of them (and only in the United States), well-off people, billionaires and middle- or lower-middle class people were grouped, and more than half of the respondents said no. know about the advantage of investing in reducing stress by discharging other responsibilities that implies having more time for them.


Does More Money Equal More Happiness? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La relation entre argent et bonheur

La relation entre argent et bonheur

Septembre 11, 2022

Le bonheur est lié à l'argent . C'est aussi simple que cela, mais avec des nuances. Certains auteurs s'empressent d'affirmer que "l'argent ne fait pas tout" ou que "n'achète pas le bonheur". Le premier pourrait l'accepter, le second a besoin d'une explication. Établis le lien entre salaire et bien-être personnel, les experts suggèrent qu’il existe des niveaux et des fourchettes de revenus permettant de mesurer dans quelle mesure cela est vrai.

D'un autre côté, si l'argent est le bonheur, dans quelle mesure le revenu l'affecte-t-il? Y at-il une limite de revenu qui ne peut pas augmenter ce bonheur? Un travail publié dans la revue Nature révèle quelques curiosités. Cependant, certains psychologues, comme l’Américain Charles Whitehead, restent sceptiques sur cette question et démentent les conclusions de l’étude qui seront discutées ci-dessous.


  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il une recette du bonheur?" Eduard Punset et Rojas Marcos répondent "

L'argent n'achète-t-il pas le bonheur?

Socialement, il est plus qu'accepté que l'argent ne donne pas le bonheur. De plus, en 2010, l’Université de Victoria (Nouvelle-Zélande) a publié une étude qui affirme que l’argent équivaut au bien-être, mais qu’elle n’est en aucun cas capable d’acheter des doses de bonheur. Dans cette étude, près de 500 000 interviews ont été menées dans quelque 70 pays du monde. Les conclusions étaient que La liberté et le temps libre sont au-dessus de la richesse cumulative en matière de bien-être.

Certains pensent qu'il s'agissait d'une étude délibérée visant à calmer les masses en temps de crise économique et de diminution du pouvoir d'achat des citoyens du monde entier. En un sens, cette étude a constitué un soulagement émotionnel pour les groupes convaincus que Bill Gates et Amancios Ortega vivaient plus heureux.


Eh bien, ils ne se sont pas trompés. Une autre étude conjointe de l'Université Harvard et de Columbia (États-Unis) contredit les recherches de ses collègues de l'océan. C'est plus une question sémantique. L'argent n'achète pas le bonheur, c'est vrai, mais c'est le cas aide à pouvoir y investir du temps libre . Ce qui distingue sans équivoque les personnes heureuses des personnes malheureuses, c'est la variable temporelle. Si nous avons un bon revenu et que nous savons gérer le temps libre dans la vie active, nous aurons bien plus de chances d'être heureux, tandis que la population moins bien lotie devra accepter des emplois précaires de plusieurs heures ou au noir pour survivre.

Le problème est que, inversement, la même chose ne se produit pas. Si nous avons peu d’argent mais beaucoup de temps libre, nous ne pouvons pas investir dans notre bien-être , nous n’avons pas assez de ressources pour profiter du temps libre. La logique est la suivante: les moments sans obligations minimisent les effets du stress et de l'anxiété, ce qui augmente le bonheur.


Les limites entre la relation argent et bonheur

Pour déterminer la corrélation entre le bonheur et l'argent, des sociologues et experts du comportement humain américain Andrew T. Jebb, Louis Tay, Ed Diener et Shigehiro Oishi ont mené leur étude selon la méthode de Gallup. L’organisation Gallup est spécifiquement chargée de mesurer, d’analyser et d’étudier le comportement des individus afin de résoudre des problèmes intéressant la société en général.

Après avoir choisi le sondage Gallup World Poll, les auteurs se sont basés sur un panel de 2 millions de personnes du monde entier, contrôlant les facteurs démographiques qui déterminent le revenu par zone dans lequel la collecte de données est effectuée, de manière aléatoire pour réduire le maximum. tout type de biais Après l’étude, un résultat éclairant a été obtenu: il existe un seuil à partir duquel gagner plus d’argent ne procure pas plus de bonheur. Cette limite s'étend entre 60 000 et 90 000 $ annuelle Les chiffres qui dépassent ce montant sont incapables de générer plus de bonheur ou de stabilité émotionnelle.

Temps libre, facteur inconnu

Étant un sujet d’une extrême complexité pour tirer des conclusions exactes, chaque auteur qui intervient dans ce type d’études ou de recherches tente de collecter différentes variables et déclarations afin de soutenir une thèse plus réaliste. Pour cela, Elizabeth Dunn, collaboratrice des recherches de la Columbia University, et Louis Tay, conviennent que le facteur temps est la mère de tous les inconnus.

Une étude parallèle a été réalisée pour pouvoir préciser cette thèse. Avec un nombre de participants inférieur à un millier (et uniquement aux États-Unis), les personnes aisées, les milliardaires et les personnes de la classe moyenne inférieure ont été regroupées et plus de la moitié des répondants ont répondu non. connaître les avantages d'investir dans réduire le stress en assumant d'autres responsabilités cela implique d'avoir plus de temps pour eux.


L' ARGENT fait il le BONHEUR ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes