yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the malaise of depression: what it is, and how it explains this disorder

The theory of the malaise of depression: what it is, and how it explains this disorder

May 26, 2024

In Spain, more than 2.4 million people suffer from depression in their day to day, this means that more than 5.2% of the Spanish population coexists with a feeling of acute anguish and sadness that interferes or makes it impossible to live their lives normally.

Despite the high incidence of this disorder or emotional condition, there are still major disagreements within the scientific community about the true cause of this. One of these these theories is the depression malaise theory , which we explain throughout this article.

  • You may be interested: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

What is the theory of the malaise of depression?

Also known as the inflammatory theory of depression, this explanatory model of endogenous depression disorders created by UK doctor and researcher Bruce G. Charlton In the year 2000, he tries to explain the origin of depression from a physical or organic point of view and not as a psychological reaction.


This theory begins with the idea that when our body is the victim of some kind of infection, our own organism emits an inflammation response by means of which a series of hemodynamic alterations are carried out, of the lymphatic levels and the release of a series of agents such as cytokines, neuropeptide histamine, etc., with the purpose of restoring the health of our body.

In addition, along with inflammation a psychological phenomenon known as Behavior of illness appears . This type of psychological response is characterized because the person experiences a series of feelings of tiredness, somnolence, anhedonia and cognitive alterations, all this symptomatology coincides with part of the clinical picture of major depression.


The origin of this behavior of disease would be in the effects that certain proteins, concretely the cytokines, whose levels increase before the appearance of a virus or infection, cause in our brain.

This association between physical or organic response of inflammation and psychological response is what suggests the theory of discomfort. According to this, endogenous depression is a pathological variety of disease behavior. By which the symptoms remain over time. Therefore, according to this theory, depression is caused by the effects of chronic and low-level organic inflation and by the chronic activation of the immune system.

Finally, Charlton himself proposes that the true effect of antidepressant drugs when it comes to alleviating the symptoms of the disease is in the analgesic effect that most of these have, so that by decreasing organic inflammation, symptoms of depression also decrease.


On what evidence is this explanation based?

Although at first it is somewhat complicated to believe that a depression is not caused by an external factor that provokes this response, the theory of discomfort is based on a series of empirical evidences that support it.

1. Coincidence of symptoms

As mentioned above, the symptoms of major depression coincide in many aspects with those of the disease behavior, which tends to appear when we suffer some kind of physical illness.

In these cases symptoms such as fatigue, decreased physical energy or feelings of anguish and sadness They appear with the objective that our body stays at rest and recovers as soon as possible.

2. The effect of cytokines

One of the physiological responses that our body provokes in the face of the threat of a disease is the increase of cytokines . This protein causes inflammation with the intention of transmitting to our body that it is in a state of alert or threat.

If we take into account that, habitually, in the disorders with depressive symptomatology the levels of cytokines are much higher than usual we can hypothesize a kind of relationship between these two factors.

Also, in the specific case of bipolar disorder, Cytokine levels decrease during episodes of mania or remission of depressive symptoms , so this reinforces this association.

3. Action of antidepressants

The antidepressant drugs exert an effect on the levels of the cytokines, specifically the decrease. Therefore, this reinforces the idea that the main cause of endogenous depression is in the effects that these proteins cause in the organism.

4. The inflammatory response system and depression

Some studies have shown that the inoculation in laboratory of substances or inflammatory agents, causes a series of symptoms typical of clinical pictures of depression and anxiety .

In addition, a clear relationship has been established between the activation of the inflammatory response system of our organism and depression; since it is continuously activated during this disorder.

The inflammatory response system works through the activation of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis, which affects the regulation of certain neurotransmitters such as serotonin and catecholamines, directly related to depression states.

5. Antidepressant action of anti-inflammatory drugs

Finally, some research has discovered that the administration of anti-inflammatory medication in some cases of endogenous depression not only significantly improves the symptoms of this, but also does so in greater proportion than some antidepressants.

What if there is depression but not inflammatory disease?

The main criticism of the explanatory model of the theory of malaise in depression is that there are a large number of cases in which a physical cause could not be found or signal of organic inflammation in the patient.

However, according to this theory, it is defended that the psychological stress processes can cause this inflammation just as any type of infection does, thus causing the symptoms of depression.

The experimentation of high levels of stress over a long period of time has been related to an increase in the levels of proinflammatory cytokines. Which, as we have explained previously, exert a direct effect on the levels of serotonin and other neurotransmitters related to depression.


OCD & Anxiety Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #29 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie du malaise de la dépression: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment explique-t-elle ce trouble

La théorie du malaise de la dépression: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment explique-t-elle ce trouble

Octobre 3, 2022

En Espagne, plus de 2,4 millions de personnes souffrent quotidiennement de dépression, ce qui signifie que plus de 5,2% de la population espagnole coexistent avec un sentiment d'angoisse et de tristesse aiguë qui gêne ou rend impossible la vie. Normalement

Malgré la forte incidence de ce trouble ou de cet état émotionnel, il existe toujours des désaccords importants au sein de la communauté scientifique sur la véritable cause de ce trouble. Une de ces théories est la théorie de la dépression malaise , que nous expliquons tout au long de cet article.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Quelle est la théorie du malaise de la dépression?

Aussi connu comme la théorie inflammatoire de la dépression, ce modèle explicatif des troubles de la dépression endogène créé par le médecin et chercheur britannique Bruce G. Charlton En l'an 2000, il tente d'expliquer l'origine de la dépression d'un point de vue physique ou organique et non comme une réaction psychologique.


Cette théorie commence avec l'idée que lorsque notre corps est victime d'une infection, notre propre organisme émet une réponse inflammatoire au moyen desquels sont effectuées une série d'altérations hémodynamiques, des niveaux lymphatiques et la libération d'une série d'agents tels que les cytokines, le neuropeptide histamine, etc., dans le but de restaurer la santé de notre corps.

En outre, avec l'inflammation un phénomène psychologique appelé comportement de la maladie apparaît . Ce type de réponse psychologique se caractérise par le fait que la personne ressent une série de sentiments de fatigue, de somnolence, d’anhédonie et d’altérations cognitives, toute cette symptomatologie coïncide avec une partie du tableau clinique de la dépression majeure.


L'origine de ce comportement de maladie serait dans les effets que certaines protéines, concrètement les cytokines, dont les niveaux augmentent avant l'apparition d'un virus ou d'une infection, provoquent dans notre cerveau.

Cette association entre la réponse physique ou organique de l'inflammation et la réponse psychologique est ce qui suggère la théorie de l'inconfort. Selon cela, la dépression endogène est une variété pathologique du comportement de la maladie. Par lequel les symptômes persistent dans le temps. Par conséquent, selon cette théorie, la dépression est causée par les effets de l’inflation organique chronique et de faible niveau et par l’activation chronique du système immunitaire.

Enfin, Charlton lui-même propose le véritable effet des antidépresseurs sur le soulagement des symptômes de la maladie. est dans l'effet analgésique que la plupart d’entre eux ont, de sorte qu’en diminuant l’inflammation organique, les symptômes de la dépression diminuent également.


Sur quelles preuves cette explication est-elle basée?

Bien qu'au début, il soit un peu compliqué de croire qu'une dépression ne soit pas causée par un facteur externe qui provoque cette réaction, la théorie de l'inconfort est basée sur une série de preuves empiriques qui la corroborent.

1. Coïncidence des symptômes

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, les symptômes de la dépression majeure coïncident à bien des égards avec ceux du comportement de la maladie, qui a tendance à apparaître lorsque nous sommes atteints d'une maladie physique.

Dans ces cas des symptômes tels que fatigue, diminution de l'énergie physique ou sentiment d'angoisse et de tristesse Ils apparaissent avec l'objectif que notre corps reste au repos et récupère le plus tôt possible.

2. L'effet des cytokines

Une des réactions physiologiques que notre corps provoque face à la menace d’une maladie est l'augmentation des cytokines . Cette protéine provoque une inflammation avec l'intention de transmettre à notre corps qu'il est en état d'alerte ou de menace.

Si nous prenons en compte le fait que, habituellement, dans les troubles avec symptomatologie dépressive, les taux de cytokines sont beaucoup plus élevés que d'habitude, nous pouvons émettre l'hypothèse d'une sorte de relation entre ces deux facteurs.

En outre, dans le cas spécifique du trouble bipolaire, Les niveaux de cytokines diminuent pendant les épisodes de manie ou la rémission des symptômes dépressifs , donc cela renforce cette association.

3. Action des antidépresseurs

Les antidépresseurs exercent un effet sur les taux de cytokines, en particulier la diminution. Cela renforce donc l’idée que la cause principale de la dépression endogène réside dans les effets de ces protéines sur l’organisme.

4. Le système de réponse inflammatoire et la dépression

Certaines études ont montré que l’inoculation en laboratoire de substances ou d’agents inflammatoires, provoque une série de symptômes typiques des tableaux cliniques de dépression et d'anxiété .

De plus, une relation claire a été établie entre l'activation du système de réponse inflammatoire de notre organisme et la dépression; car il est activé en permanence pendant ce trouble.

Le système de réponse inflammatoire fonctionne par l'activation de l'axe hypothalamo-hypophyso-surrénalien, qui affecte la régulation de certains neurotransmetteurs tels que la sérotonine et les catécholamines, directement liés aux états de dépression.

5. Action antidépressive des anti-inflammatoires

Enfin, certaines recherches ont montré que l’administration de médicaments anti-inflammatoires dans certains cas de dépression endogène non seulement en améliore significativement les symptômes, mais aussi en plus grande proportion que certains antidépresseurs.

Que se passe-t-il s'il y a une dépression mais pas une maladie inflammatoire?

La principale critique du modèle explicatif de la théorie du malaise dans la dépression est que il existe un grand nombre de cas dans lesquels une cause physique n'a pas pu être trouvée ou signal d'inflammation organique chez le patient.

Cependant, selon cette théorie, il est défendu que les processus de stress psychologique puissent provoquer cette inflammation, comme le fait tout type d'infection, provoquant ainsi les symptômes de la dépression.

L'expérimentation de niveaux élevés de stress sur une longue période a été liée à une augmentation des niveaux de cytokines proinflammatoires. Comme nous l'avons expliqué précédemment, ils ont un effet direct sur les taux de sérotonine et d'autres neurotransmetteurs liés à la dépression.


Diagnostic autiste asperger part1 - l'avant diagnostic: depression et 1er psy (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes