yes, therapy helps!
Type C personality: features of this behavior pattern

Type C personality: features of this behavior pattern

January 22, 2022

The type C personality pattern, characterized by the inhibition of negative emotions and the presence of depressive features, has been associated with the evolution of cancer once this disease has appeared.

However, the most recent research on the relationship between personality and cancer has diminished the credibility of this hypothesis.

  • Related article: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

The personality patterns A, B, C and D

In 1959 cardiologists Meyer Friedman and Ray Rosenman described the type A personality pattern , characterized by its role as a risk factor in the development of cardiovascular disorders. Distinctive features of this personality style include anxiety, ambition, rigidity, impatience, competitiveness and hostility.


Later on, the concept of "type B personality pattern" was also used to describe individuals with a lower tendency to engage in stressful situations. People with this personality tend to be thoughtful and creative , they try to enjoy their lives more than those of type A and are not always oriented towards achievement.

To these two personality patterns were also added type C and type D. The type C personality, of which we will discuss in depth below, includes emotional repression and despair as defining features, and has been attributed a certain capacity predictive in the evolution of cancer, although not in its appearance.


Finally we find the type D personality pattern, which was described by Denollet et al. (1996) and worsen the evolution of heart problems. The letter "D" comes from the word "distressed", which means "distressed". It is defined as a combination between the tendency to social inhibition and to feel negative emotions, such as sadness, irritability and worry.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

Character characteristics of type C

The descriptions that have been made of the type C personality pattern vary depending on the research or the specific literature. In general we can highlight five main personality traits: emotional control, emotional repression, understanding, rationality and the need for harmony. Each description highlights some or other factors.


The key point of this personality style is the inhibition or repression of negative emotions; we refer to sadness, fear and especially to anger. In addition, a marked absence of dominance and hostility behaviors and a tendency to stoic acceptance of negative life events are detected.

People who fit the type C pattern often have difficulty coping with stress situations , especially in a direct and active way. This trait causes psychological reactions of a depressive nature, such as expectations of helplessness or despair about the future.

From this it follows that the pattern of personality type C leads to the fact that, faced with the appearance of cancer, the affected person faces the disease and the negative emotions derived from it in an insufficient manner, which could seriously interfere in the treatment.

The characteristics attributed to the type C personality pattern bring it closer to other similar constructs. They deserve a special mention Types 1 and 5 of the classification of reactions to stress developed by Eysenck and Grossarth-Maticek (1990), both associated with an increased risk of cancer, according to these authors.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to know if you tend towards introversion or extraversion"

Scientific evidence in this regard

Although the research has confirmed the predictive capacity of the type A personality pattern with respect to cardiovascular diseases, the same can not be said of the type C pattern. Even at its origin it was still an attempt to apply the Friedman hypothesis and Rosenman to medical disorders other than those of the circulatory system.

In the 90s this construct was accepted in a preliminary way by many members of the scientific community, but soon began to be evident the lack of consistency in the findings around its predictive capacity in cancer. Among other aspects, the irregularity in the definition of the personality pattern C makes comparison between studies difficult.

It is currently believed that the supposed association between emotional inhibition and the development or evolution of cancer, if any, would be mediated by certain adaptive coping styles or by other intermediary variables, and it would not be in any specific case of this disease.

The prospective macroestudy of Nakaya et al. (2003), like many other investigations, belies the idea that personality traits associated with neuroticism have a causal role in cancer. It is also suggested that in the relationship found by other authors between this disease and anxiety, there may be an inverse causality to the one studied.

Bibliographic references:

  • Blatný, M. & Adam, Z. (2008). Type C personality (cancer personality): current view and implications for future research. Vnitr̆ní lékar̆ství, 54 (6): 638-45.
  • Cardona Serna, E. J., Jaramillo, A.C. & Diaz Facio Lince, V. E. (2013). Relationship between type C personality and cancer: State of the art. Psychospaces: Virtual Journal of Social and Human Sciences, 7 (10): 66-92.
  • Denollet, J., Sys, S. U., Stroobant, N., Rombouts, H., Gillebert, T. C., & Brutsaert, D. L. (February 1996). Personality as independent predictor of long-term mortality in patients with coronary heart disease. Lancet, 347 (8999): 417-21.
  • Friedman, M. & Rosenman, R. (1959). Association of specific overt behavior with blood and cardiovascular findings. Journal of the American Medical Association, 169: 1286-1296.
  • Grossarth-Maticek, R. & Eysenck, H. J. (1990). Personality stress and disease: Description and validation of a new inventory. Psychological Reports, 66: 355-73.
  • Nakaya, N., Tsubono, Y., Hosokawa, T., Nishino, Y., Ohkubo, T., Hozawa, A., Shibuya, D., Fukudo, S., Fukao, A., Tsuji, I. Hisamichi, S. (2003). Personality and the risk of cancer. Journal of the National Cancer Institute, 95 (11): 799-805.

10 Traits of a Psychopath (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité de type C: caractéristiques de ce comportement

Personnalité de type C: caractéristiques de ce comportement

Juin 2, 2022

Le modèle de personnalité de type C, caractérisé par l'inhibition des émotions négatives et la présence de caractéristiques dépressives, a été associée à l'évolution du cancer une fois que cette maladie est apparue.

Cependant, les recherches les plus récentes sur la relation entre la personnalité et le cancer ont diminué la crédibilité de cette hypothèse.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

Les modèles de personnalité A, B, C et D

En 1959, cardiologues Meyer Friedman et Ray Rosenman ont décrit le modèle de personnalité de type A , caractérisé par son rôle en tant que facteur de risque dans le développement de troubles cardiovasculaires. Les caractéristiques distinctives de ce style de personnalité comprennent l’anxiété, l’ambition, la rigidité, l’impatience, la compétitivité et l’hostilité.


Par la suite, le concept de «modèle de personnalité de type B» a également été utilisé pour décrire les personnes moins susceptibles de vivre des situations stressantes. Les personnes ayant cette personnalité ont tendance à être réfléchies et créatives , ils essaient de profiter de leur vie plus que ceux du type A et ne sont pas toujours orientés vers la réussite.

A ces deux modèles de personnalité ont également été ajoutés les types C et D. La personnalité de type C, dont nous discuterons plus en détail ci-dessous, inclut la répression émotionnelle et le désespoir comme caractéristiques déterminantes, et se voit attribuer une certaine capacité. prédictif dans l'évolution du cancer, mais pas dans son apparence.


Finalement on trouve le modèle de personnalité de type D décrit par Denollet et al. (1996) et aggrave l'évolution des problèmes cardiaques. La lettre "D" vient du mot "en détresse", qui signifie "en détresse". Il est défini comme une combinaison entre la tendance à l'inhibition sociale et à ressentir des émotions négatives, telles que la tristesse, l'irritabilité et l'inquiétude.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et névrotisme"

Caractéristiques du type C

Les descriptions du schéma de personnalité de type C varient en fonction de la recherche ou de la littérature. En général, nous pouvons souligner cinq traits de personnalité principaux: contrôle émotionnel, refoulement émotionnel, compréhension, rationalité et le besoin d'harmonie. Chaque description met en évidence certains ou d’autres facteurs.


Le point clé de ce style de personnalité est l'inhibition ou la répression des émotions négatives; nous nous référons à la tristesse, la peur et surtout à la colère. En outre, une nette absence de comportements de domination et d'hostilité et une tendance à l'acceptation stoïque d'événements de vie négatifs sont détectées.

Personnes qui correspondent au modèle de type C ont souvent de la difficulté à faire face aux situations de stress , surtout de manière directe et active. Ce trait provoque des réactions psychologiques de nature dépressive, telles que des attentes d'impuissance ou de désespoir quant à l'avenir.

Il en résulte que le schéma de type de personnalité C conduit au fait que, face à l’apparition du cancer, la personne touchée est confrontée à la maladie et aux émotions négatives qui en dérivent de manière insuffisante, ce qui pourrait sérieusement entraver le traitement.

Les caractéristiques attribuées au modèle de personnalité de type C le rapprochent d'autres concepts similaires. Ils méritent une mention spéciale Types 1 et 5 de la classification des réactions au stress développée par Eysenck et Grossarth-Maticek (1990), tous deux associés à un risque accru de cancer, selon ces auteurs.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Comment savoir si vous avez tendance à l'introversion ou à l'extraversion"

Preuves scientifiques à cet égard

Bien que la recherche ait confirmé la capacité prédictive du schéma de personnalité de type A en ce qui concerne les maladies cardiovasculaires, on ne peut pas en dire autant du schéma de type C. Même à l'origine, il s'agissait encore d'une tentative d'appliquer l'hypothèse de Friedman Rosenman à des troubles médicaux autres que ceux de l'appareil circulatoire.

Dans les années 90, de nombreux membres de la communauté scientifique ont accepté cette construction de manière préliminaire. commencé à être évident le manque de cohérence dans les résultats autour de sa capacité prédictive dans le cancer. Parmi d'autres aspects, l'irrégularité dans la définition du schéma de personnalité C rend difficile la comparaison entre les études.

On pense actuellement que l'association supposée entre l'inhibition émotionnelle et le développement ou l'évolution du cancer, le cas échéant, serait médiée par certains styles d'adaptation adaptatifs ou par d'autres variables intermédiaires, et il ne s'agirait d'aucun cas spécifique de cette maladie.

La macro-étude prospective de Nakaya et al. (2003), à l'instar de nombreuses autres enquêtes, réfute l'idée que les traits de personnalité associés au neuroticisme jouent un rôle causal dans le cancer. Il est également suggéré que dans la relation trouvée par d'autres auteurs entre cette maladie et l'anxiété, il pourrait exister une causalité inverse à celle étudiée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Blatný, M. et Adam, Z. (2008). Personnalité de type C (personnalité cancéreuse): vision actuelle et implications pour les recherches futures. Vnitr̆ní lékar̆ství, 54 (6): 638-45.
  • Cardona Serna, E.J., Jaramillo, A.C. et Diaz Facio Lince, V.E. (2013). Relation entre la personnalité de type C et le cancer: état de la technique. Psychospaces: Revue virtuelle de sciences sociales et humaines, 7 (10): 66-92.
  • Denollet, J., Sys, S. U., Stroobant, N., Rombouts, H., Gillebert, T. C., et Brutsaert, D. L. (février 1996). La personnalité en tant que facteur indépendant de prédiction de la mortalité à long terme chez les patients atteints de maladie coronarienne. Lancet, 347 (8999): 417-21.
  • Friedman, M. & Rosenman, R. (1959). Association de comportements manifestes spécifiques avec les résultats sanguins et cardiovasculaires. Journal de l'American Medical Association, 169: 1286-1296.
  • Grossarth-Maticek, R. & Eysenck, H. J. (1990). Stress de la personnalité et maladie: Description et validation d'un nouvel inventaire. Psychological Reports, 66: 355-73.
  • Nakaya, N., Tsubono, Y., Hosokawa, T., Nishino, Y., Ohkubo, T., Hozawa, A., Shibuya, D., Fukudo, S., Fukao, A., Tsuji, I. Hisamichi, S. (2003). Personnalité et risque de cancer. Journal de l'Institut national du cancer, 95 (11): 799-805.

9 Signes Caractéristiques D'une Personne Émotionnellement Instable (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes