yes, therapy helps!
Types of people: 13 basic personality characteristics

Types of people: 13 basic personality characteristics

May 20, 2024

One of the most famous branches of psychology is the Psychology of individual differences , also known as Differential Psychology.

This is responsible for investigating about the psychological differences that exist between individuals and, sometimes, about the way in which these are related to other individual characteristics of a non-psychological type. In other words, allows us to distinguish between types of people attending to different characteristics of his body or his behavior.

However, throughout the history of this psychological field different criteria have been created with which to classify different types of people. In fact, there is not a single model or personality test, but several, which are used depending on the objective sought. For example, there is the 16 PF, the model of the 5 great personality traits, etc.


The main types of people

In this article we will make a general review of the main types of person defined by several of the most commonly used personality dimensions . That means that each category of which a portion of these types of people can live inside of oneself in certain quantities, although one of them will stand out more than the rest, depending on each case.

1. Extraverts

This type of person is defined by the constant need to look for sources of activation through interaction with the environment . In practice, this means that extraverted people enjoy the company of others, because dialogue (verbal or non-verbal) is a source of constant stimuli. In the same way, they usually prefer to move to stay in one place.


2. Introverts

Although they are often confused, introverts are not, technically, shy people, although very often they are both. What defines introverts is that they do not need to be exposed to external stimuli constantly , and that if these are very intense or extend over time, they tend to cause discomfort before the rest of people.

Introverts live towards their mental life, their imagination and their memories, that is, the actions that can be performed only through mental processes that do not produce muscle movements.

3. Emotionally stable

This is one of the types of people with a greater capacity to manage difficult or stressful moments, since this type of experiences they do not have such a noticeable impact on their way of thinking, feeling and acting . However, this does not mean that they must necessarily be cheerful. In fact, in some cases they may seem the opposite and present emotional flattening.


4. Rebels

Although these days it seems that the word "rebel" is only used in advertising campaigns and marketing strategies, it is also part of one of the most used personality measurement instruments: Cattell's 16PF. This type of person tends to be more receptive to ways of thinking and doing that are shocking and innovative , and shows much less respect for authority than the rest.

5. Conservatives

Conservative people also appear in the 16PF, and are the antithesis of the rebels. They tend to take for good the customs and ways of doing that have been practiced for a long time and they distrust the news.

6. Cyclothymics

Cyclothymia is a concept that is used to refer to a high affectivity and a great sensitivity in general. This type of persons are able to experience the most intense emotions from the most ordinary and insignificant experiences. For example, they might cry with some ease when remembering a movie.

7. Schizothymic

These types of people are the opposite face of the cyclothymics, and they experience emotions in a very weak way. In addition, they show a tendency to isolation, among other things because informal interaction with others does not give them such a sense of well-being.

This is a characteristic that, when it is very extreme, is linked to schizophrenia, although in all cases it is not necessary to make the transition to this disease.

8. Cunning

Crafty people are characterized by having the ability to see things with a distancing that allows them to discover alternative explanations about what is happening and what may happen. In this way, they will not think from a mental frame that comes to them from other people , but they build their own.

9. Naive

Naive people are the opposite of the clever. They are much more confident and they take for good the ideas and the proposals of the others , thinking from this kind of discourse imposed from the outside.This means that they can be manipulated relatively easily, or that they even apologize for what is not their fault. They are also sensitive to a type of cheating called gaslighting.

10. Obsessive

Obsessive people tend to get stuck in loops of thoughts that they have trouble getting out of, a phenomenon known as rumination. For that reason they have a harder time making decisions and putting their proposals into practice , or they are stagnant because of the paralysis of the analysis.

11. Hostiles

Hostile people experience anger more easily than the rest, and Your tolerance threshold to frustration tends to be low . Therefore, they are especially prone to create conflicting situations and to express their disagreement with the opinions, intentions or attitudes of others. This is a characteristic of the personality that is usually high in people with disorders such as Intermittent Explosive Disorder, although this is a clearly pathological category.

12. Cynics

This is one of the types of people that could be related to pessimism although they are not exactly the same. Cynical people tend to think that others have not noble motivations that they want to hide, although without falling into the extreme of persecutory mania, since they do not place themselves at the center of a specific narration about what is happening around them.

13. Neurotic

Neuroticism is a broad concept that groups several psychological characteristics related to emotions and the way in which stress is experienced, some of which are already represented in the rest of personality dimensions. Specifically, neurotic people are those who have a low tolerance for frustration, experience anger easily, are prone to depression and anxiety, change mood easily and often feel unpleasant emotions such as fear .


2017 Personality 14: Introduction to Traits/Psychometrics/The Big 5 (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de personnes: 13 caractéristiques de personnalité de base

Types de personnes: 13 caractéristiques de personnalité de base

Juin 22, 2022

L’une des branches les plus célèbres de la psychologie est la Psychologie des différences individuelles , également connu sous le nom de psychologie différentielle.

Il est chargé d’enquêter sur les différences psychologiques existant entre les individus et, parfois, sur la manière dont elles sont liées à d’autres caractéristiques individuelles de type non psychologique. En d'autres termes, nous permet de distinguer les types de personnes s'occuper de différentes caractéristiques de son corps ou de son comportement.

Cependant, tout au long de l'histoire de ce champ psychologique, différents critères ont été créés pour classer différents types de personnes. En fait, il n’existe pas un seul modèle ou test de personnalité, mais plusieurs, qui sont utilisés en fonction de l’objectif recherché. Par exemple, il y a le 16 PF, le modèle des 5 grands traits de personnalité, etc.


Les principaux types de personnes

Dans cet article, nous ferons une revue générale des principaux types de personnes défini par plusieurs des dimensions de la personnalité les plus couramment utilisées . Cela signifie que chaque catégorie sur laquelle une partie de ces types de personnes peut vivre à l'intérieur de soi en certaines quantités, bien que l'une d'elles se démarque plus que les autres, selon les cas.

1. Extraverts

Ce type de personne est défini par le besoin constant de rechercher des sources d'activation par interaction avec l'environnement . En pratique, cela signifie que les personnes extraverties apprécient la compagnie des autres, car le dialogue (verbal ou non verbal) est une source de stimuli constants. De la même manière, ils préfèrent généralement déménager pour rester au même endroit.


2. Introvertis

Bien qu'ils soient souvent confus, les introvertis ne sont pas techniquement des gens timides, bien qu'ils soient très souvent les deux. Ce qui définit les introvertis est que ils n'ont pas besoin d'être constamment exposés à des stimuli externes , et que si elles sont très intenses ou s’étalent dans le temps, elles ont tendance à être gênantes pour le reste du monde.

Les introvertis vivent vers leur vie mentale, leur imagination et leurs souvenirs, c'est-à-dire des actions qui ne peuvent être accomplies que par des processus mentaux ne produisant pas de mouvements musculaires.

3. émotionnellement stable

C’est l’un des types de personnes ayant une plus grande capacité à gérer des moments difficiles ou stressants, car ce type d’expérience ils n'ont pas un impact aussi notable sur leur façon de penser, de ressentir et d'agir . Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'ils doivent nécessairement être de bonne humeur. En fait, dans certains cas, ils peuvent sembler le contraire et présenter un aplatissement émotionnel.


4. Les rebelles

Bien que, de nos jours, il semble que le mot "rebelle" ne soit utilisé que dans les campagnes publicitaires et les stratégies marketing, il fait également partie de l'un des instruments de mesure de la personnalité les plus utilisés: le 16PF de Cattell. Ce type de personne a tendance à être plus réceptif à façons de penser et de faire qui sont choquantes et novatrices et montre beaucoup moins de respect pour l'autorité que les autres.

5. conservateurs

Les conservateurs apparaissent également dans le 16PF et sont l'antithèse des rebelles. Ils ont tendance à prendre pour de bon les coutumes et les façons de faire qui sont pratiquées depuis longtemps et ils se méfient des nouvelles.

6. Cyclothymics

La cyclothymie est un concept utilisé pour désigner une forte affectivité et une grande sensibilité en général. Ce genre de personnes sont capables de vivre les émotions les plus intenses des expériences les plus ordinaires et les plus insignifiantes. Par exemple, ils peuvent pleurer avec une certaine facilité lorsqu'ils se souviennent d'un film.

7. Schizothymie

Ces types de personnes sont le visage opposé des cyclothymiques et ils éprouvent des émotions très faiblement. En outre, ils manifestent une tendance à l'isolement, notamment parce que les interactions informelles avec les autres ne leur procurent pas un tel sentiment de bien-être.

C'est une caractéristique qui, lorsqu'elle est extrême, est liée à la schizophrénie, bien que dans tous les cas, il ne soit pas nécessaire de procéder à la transition vers cette maladie.

8. ruse

Les personnes astucieuses se caractérisent par la capacité de voir les choses avec une distance qui leur permet de découvrir des explications alternatives sur ce qui se passe et ce qui peut se passer. De cette façon, ils ne penseront pas à partir d'un cadre mental qui leur vient d'autres personnes , mais ils construisent leur propre.

9. naïf

Les personnes naïves sont le contraire de l'intelligent. Ils sont beaucoup plus confiants et ils prennent pour de bon les idées et les propositions des autres , pensant à ce genre de discours imposé de l’extérieur.Cela signifie qu'ils peuvent être manipulés relativement facilement, ou qu'ils s'excusent même pour ce qui n'est pas de leur faute. Ils sont également sensibles à un type de tricherie appelé éclairage au gaz.

10. Obsessive

Les personnes obsessionnelles ont tendance à rester bloquées dans des boucles d'idées dont elles ont du mal à sortir, un phénomène connu sous le nom de rumination. Pour cette raison ils ont plus de difficulté à prendre des décisions et à mettre leurs propositions en pratique , ou ils sont stagnants à cause de la paralysie de l'analyse.

11. Hostiles

Les personnes hostiles ressentent la colère plus facilement que les autres et Votre seuil de tolérance à la frustration a tendance à être bas . Par conséquent, ils sont particulièrement enclins à créer des situations conflictuelles et à exprimer leur désaccord avec les opinions, les intentions ou les attitudes des autres. Il s'agit d'une caractéristique de la personnalité généralement élevée chez les personnes atteintes de troubles tels que le trouble explosif intermittent, bien qu'il s'agisse d'une catégorie clairement pathologique.

12. Cyniques

C’est l’un des types de personnes qui pourrait être lié au pessimisme bien qu'ils ne soient pas exactement les mêmes. Les personnes cyniques ont tendance à penser que les autres n'ont pas de motivations nobles à cacher, bien que sans tomber dans l'extrême manie de la persécution, puisqu'elles ne se placent pas au centre d'un récit spécifique sur ce qui se passe autour d'eux.

13. névrotique

Le névrotisme est un concept large qui regroupe plusieurs caractéristiques psychologiques liées aux émotions et à la manière dont le stress est vécu, dont certaines sont déjà représentées dans le reste des dimensions de la personnalité. Plus précisément, les personnes névrotiques sont celles qui ont une faible tolérance à la frustration, qui éprouvent facilement de la colère, sont sujettes à la dépression et à l’anxiété, changent facilement d’humeur et éprouvent souvent des émotions désagréables telles que la peur .


12 énigmes qui testeront ton type de personnalité (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes