yes, therapy helps!
What is the ideology?

What is the ideology?

June 24, 2021

Politics is an aspect of life in common that, despite affecting everyone in our lives, seems to be widely disowned. The linking of the sphere of politics to the exercise of elites that are responsible for synthesizing the chaotic "popular will" through a kind of electoral alchemy is something that, at least, generates disdain for its inefficiency at the time of introducing satisfactory changes for the entire population in the economic and social fields.

However, there are still few people who question classical participatory democracy, adhering to the logic of the lesser evil. It is, apparently, a position of centers, which does not fall into extremism. One might wonder, however, what is the psychological nature of the political center , and to what extent it is differentiated from alternative ways of thinking. For this, we would first have to address the concept of ideology.


What is the ideology?

Classically, the ideology as a system of fundamental ideas that define a way of political, religious, cultural, identity, etc. own of a person or community. That is to say, in a certain way the accent is placed on the timeless and on the degree to which these ideas define and are defined by the person or group that holds them.

From the point of view of cognition it is very easy to understand the concept of ideology as something immutable . Stationary and fixed categories do not lead towards contradiction, they promote conservative ways of thinking: being an anarchist implies not going to vote in general elections, being of the right implies defending labor flexibility. "I do not vote because I am an anarchist, I am an anarchist because I do not vote. It is a practically tautological reasoning with internal gears perfectly greased.


The complexity of our conception of the world

Without a doubt, c reer in the ideologies fixed a priori is comfortable and . However, this belief has the problem of being totally unreal. To think that people have concepts, systems of categories and "circuits of thought" fixed in time or even "proper to our being" is a form of dualism that goes against everything we know about psychology and neuroscience. Today we know that any idea is actually the result of a network of neuronal relationships in continuous change, even during old age. There are no fixed ways of seeing reality, and therefore even fewer ways of thinking "own ..." if we take into account that these are constantly changing. Similarly, the definitions of political ideologies of the academic literature do not exist in the margin of a reader who will internalize these ideas in the light of their past and present experiences and who will also guide their conclusions according to their objectives and interests.


Between ideas, prejudices and wills

Any idea exists because certain associations between ideas and perceptions of lower hierarchy silence other possible associations of ideas. What happens is that there are associations of ideas within a process of competition and convergence of various pieces of knowledge, biological impulses, subjective assessments and conclusions of deliberate thinking, as noted by Joaquín M. Fuster in Brain and Freedom (2014 ). This happens continuously, even while we sleep. As a consequence, our thought is not rigidly guided by a single integrating principle such as "being of the right" or "being pacifist", etc.

The term "ideology" it refers only to those general guidelines that define ways of thinking, but at the same time it implies an inevitable reductionism when it comes to studying something, comparing it with other things, etc. It is useful to talk about ideologies, but we must bear in mind that what is given in reality is something else : unique and unrepeatable thoughts, deeply original even in spite of being based on experiences, memories and previous knowledge, guided only in part by deliberate thought.

This conclusion It has serious implications . To consciously renounce our ability to reduce politics to hermetic and autonomous philosophical systems proposed "from above" implies thinking of politics as a function that is not proper of central decision-making bodies. It implies, at the end of the day, saying goodbye to ideological monism, to manual policy.


What Is Ideology? (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelle est l'idéologie?

Quelle est l'idéologie?

Décembre 7, 2022

La politique est un aspect de la vie qui, même si elle touche tout le monde dans notre vie, semble être largement reniée. Le rattachement de la sphère politique à l’exercice des élites chargées de synthétiser la "volonté populaire" chaotique à travers une sorte d’alchimie électorale est, au moins, génère du dédain pour son inefficacité au moment d'introduire des changements satisfaisants pour l'ensemble de la population dans les domaines économique et social.

Cependant, il y a encore peu de gens qui remettent en question la démocratie participative classique, adhérant à la logique du moindre mal. C'est apparemment une position de centres qui ne tombe pas dans l'extrémisme. On peut toutefois se demander quelle est la nature psychologique du centre politique et dans quelle mesure elle se différencie des autres modes de pensée. Pour cela, il faudrait d’abord aborder le concept d’idéologie.


Quelle est l'idéologie?

Classiquement, le idéologie comme un système d'idées fondamentales qui définissent une voie politique, religieuse, culturelle, identitaire, etc. posséder une personne ou une communauté. C'est-à-dire que l'accent est mis d'une certaine manière sur l'intemporel et sur la mesure dans laquelle ces idées définissent et sont définies par la personne ou le groupe qui les contient.

Du point de vue de la cognition il est très facile de comprendre le concept d'idéologie comme quelque chose d'immuable . Les catégories fixes et fixes ne mènent pas à la contradiction, elles promeuvent des modes de pensée conservateurs: être anarchiste implique de ne pas voter aux élections générales, être de droite implique de défendre la flexibilité du travail. "Je ne vote pas parce que je suis anarchiste, je suis anarchiste parce que je ne vote pas. C’est un raisonnement pratiquement tautologique avec des engrenages internes parfaitement graissés.


La complexité de notre conception du monde

Sans aucun doute, c reer dans les idéologies fixées a priori est confortable e . Cependant, cette conviction a le problème d'être totalement irréel. Penser que les gens ont des concepts, des systèmes de catégories et des "circuits de pensée" fixés dans le temps ou même "propres à notre être" est une forme de dualisme qui va à l'encontre de tout ce que nous savons de la psychologie et des neurosciences. Aujourd'hui, nous savons que toute idée est en réalité le résultat d'un réseau de relations neuronales en mutation constante, même au cours de la vieillesse. Il n'y a pas de manière fixe de voir la réalité, et donc encore moins de façons de penser "propre ..." si l'on tient compte du fait qu'elles changent constamment. De même, les définitions des idéologies politiques de la littérature académique n'existent pas en marge d'un lecteur qui intériorisera ces idées à la lumière de ses expériences passées et présentes et qui guidera également ses conclusions en fonction de ses objectifs et de ses intérêts.


Entre idées, préjugés et volontés

Toute idée existe parce que certaines associations entre les idées et les perceptions de la hiérarchie inférieure font taire d'autres associations d'idées possibles. Ce qui se passe, c’est qu’il existe des associations d’idées dans un processus de concurrence et de convergence de différentes connaissances, impulsions biologiques, évaluations subjectives et conclusions de la pensée délibérée, comme le note Joaquín M. Fuster dans Brain and Freedom (2014). ). Cela se produit continuellement, même pendant que nous dormons. En conséquence, notre la pensée n'est pas guidée de manière rigide par un seul principe intégrateur tel que "être de droite" ou "être pacifiste", etc.

Le terme "idéologie" il se réfère uniquement aux directives générales qui définissent les modes de pensée, mais il implique en même temps un réductionnisme inévitable lorsqu'il s'agit d'étudier quelque chose, de le comparer à d'autres choses, etc. Il est utile de parler d'idéologies, mais il ne faut pas oublier que ce qui est donné en réalité est autre chose. : pensées uniques et irremplaçables, profondément originales même malgré le fait qu’elles soient basées sur des expériences, des mémoires et des connaissances antérieures, guidées seulement en partie par une pensée délibérée.

Cette conclusion Cela a de graves implications . Renoncer consciemment à notre capacité de réduire la politique à des systèmes philosophiques autonomes et hermétiques proposés «d'en haut» implique de penser que la politique est une fonction qui n'est pas propre aux organes décisionnels centraux. Cela implique, au bout du compte, de dire adieu au monisme idéologique, à la politique manuelle.


Les idéologies sont-elles vraiment dépassées ? - Politikon #8 (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes