yes, therapy helps!
Dialectic Behavioral Therapy: theory, phases and effects

Dialectic Behavioral Therapy: theory, phases and effects

October 4, 2022

The great amount of theories and currents of thought that have existed throughout the history of psychology has allowed that a high number of therapeutic techniques have been generated that allow facing different problems and disorders.

One of the most prevalent currents at present is the cognitive-behavioral, which through behavior modification aims to alter the patterns of thought and behavior of individuals with difficulties to make them more adaptive to the environment and reduce their suffering. Among the techniques that allow such a thing, especially in the face of self-destructive behaviors and severe personality alterations, there is behavioral dialectic therapy .


  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Dialectic Behavioral Therapy: theoretical bases

Experiencing impulses and emotions intensely is something that most people have done on occasion. However, in some cases the experience of exaggeratedly intense emotions can lead to exaggeratedly impulsive behaviors, including self-harm and attempted suicide, resulting from the lack of adequacy and the repression of the felt frustration.

In order to treat these problems in many patients, Marsha Linehan would try to apply behavior modification techniques proper to the cognitive-behavioral paradigm. However, these techniques would not have the expected effect, feeling the treated individuals little understood, emotionally ignored in their feelings of emptiness and even attacked before the attempt to change their behavior without further ado.


Linehan would be aware of this fact and the feelings of the patients who were treated, and in response would end up mixing these behavior modification techniques with a more focused approach to dialectics, which would end up being the fundamental axis of treatment Apply. Linehan would create what is now known as dialectical behavioral or dialectical behavioral therapy, especially dedicated to the treatment of self-destructive and addictive behaviors.

What is your objective?

It is a technique belonging to the third wave or generation of behavioral therapies, so that it does not focus so much on eliminating the behavior or characteristic that it produces difficulties but on, in addition to that, transforming the patient's relationship with it and guiding it from way that can accept it and go seeing reality in a different way to the original.

The basic objective of behavioral dialectic therapy is to ensure that the patient learns to correctly manage their emotions and behavior, so that they are able to control the impulsive behaviors caused by mental disorders while both the subject and the therapist who attends him accept their experience of the facts and what for him they suppose. Therefore, a balance between strategies of behavioral change of self-acceptance is sought.


This acceptance and validation of one's experience it increases by itself the capacity to manage in a more adaptive way the own emotions, which in turn decreases the impulsivity that ultimately leads to extreme behaviors. Within this therapy is very important the figure of (or of, since usually a team of professionals is employed) therapist, being the therapeutic relationship and acceptance on their part of those elements that make change an essential constant for success.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Behavioral Therapies: first, second and third wave"

Basic components

In dialectical behavioral therapy, it is used a lot of treatment modalities , working in two different ways, two basic aspects that this type of treatment tries to solve.

The first of these aspects is based mainly on the fact of causing the patient desire to continue forward and motivate to continue the treatment, by focusing on the reasons to improve and helping you to achieve vital goals to pursue and for which it is worth living.

The second component is based on training, training the patient in specific skills in order to be more able to accept and manage in a more adaptive way. This training is based on four main modules.

Among these modules we find a training in increase tolerance to discomfort in order to combat the tendency to perform impulsive behaviors , another in generating skills of self-awareness through techniques such as Mindfulness to treat the sensations of emptiness and the different cognitive-emotional alterations, a module dedicated to work emotional regulation and finally a module in which social skills are worked on. interpersonal relationships making these people less chaotic, more stable and lasting.

Psychotherapy is used at the individual level to try to find a solution to the problems experienced by the patient, while group therapy is used when training the client in different skills necessary to improve their self-acceptance. In the face of concrete problems of daily life, it is possible to establish telephone contact with the therapist so that it is possible to apply the situations worked in consultation to daily life.

Phases of therapy

The application of behavioral dialectic therapy is carried out through a series of three phases , later to orient the patient on the therapy, to make see his necessity and to promote the active participation of the treated individual facing some established objectives between patient and therapist.

In a first phase the work focuses on the increase of self-awareness and skills of both tolerance to discomfort and regulation of emotions and personal relationships , along with the control and management of impulsive behaviors, accepting and taking into account all those variables and behaviors that may affect the individual. In general, most of the activities aimed at achieving both self-acceptance and behavioral change are carried out.

In a second moment we proceed to act on stress that has produced and produces the situation in individuals.

Finally we proceed to help the subject to rebuild and create a more positive realistic self-concept and self-validating, contributing to the fixation and orientation towards vital goals important for each client.

Uses and clinical applications

Dialectical behavioral therapy has shown its usefulness in a large number of disorders, being especially effective in the control of impulsive behaviors and intense emotions. Some of the disorders in which it is most indicated are the following.

Borderline personality disorder

Dialectical behavioral therapy is mainly known as the type of therapy that has the most empirical support in the treatment of borderline personality disorder. From the perspective of dialectical behavioral therapy this disorder is understood as a continuous pattern of emotional deregulation due to the interaction between biological variables that predispose to emotional vulnerability and a restrictive invalidating environment of emotions that prevents them from being managed efficiently.

This causes the emotions to end up intensifying and getting out of control, having an extreme emotional lability together with an intense feeling of inner emptiness that can end up leading to self-injurious and even suicidal behaviors and dependent and unpredictable attitudes. Thus, in this disorder, dialectical behavioral therapy aims to work on the vulnerability and feelings of helplessness of the subject, the vital passivity that they end up showing and the expression of anguish and repressed feelings.

  • Related article: "Personality Limit Disorder (BPD): Causes, Symptoms and Treatment"

Mood disorders

Dialectical behavioral therapy has been applied successfully to a large number of disorders in which the main problem were difficulties in regulating emotions. For this reason, studies indicate that it seems to be of great help in the reduction of symptoms of mood disorders like major depression.

Eating Disorders

Eating disorders such as anorexia, bulimia and binge eating disorder they usually have serious emotional regulation problems linked to the acceptance of their own body image or to an inability to maintain control over their own eating behavior.

In this regard, dialectical behavioral therapy has shown that reduces the symptomatology of this type of disorders , especially binge eating disorder and bulimia nervosa in which massive food consumption occurs based on immediate impulses.

  • Related article: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

Substance abuse

It must be borne in mind that in a large number of cases the abusive use of substances is done with the intention of facing an existential vacuum, as a mechanism of escape, emotions that are difficult for the sufferer to suffer (such as fear or guilt) or to alleviate the compulsive desire to consume derived from abstinence to the substance to which one is addicted. Thus, in the cases in which behind the consumption there is a problem of regulation of the emotions the dialectic behavioral therapy It has also proven especially effective .

Others

Although not as successful as in the previous cases, behavioral dialectic therapy has been applied frequently in posttraumatic stress disorder as well as in anxiety disorders such as panic disorder.

Bibliographic references:

  • Almond, M.T. (2012). Psychotherapies CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Aramburu, B. (1996). Dialectical behavioral therapy for borderline personality disorder. Behavioral Psychology, 4, 123-140.
  • Linehan, M. M. & Dimeff, L. (2001). Dialectical Behavior Therapy in a nutshell.The California Psychologist, 34, 10-13.
  • Soler, J .; Elices, M. and Carmona, C. (2016). Dialectic Behavioral Therapy: clinical applications and empirical evidence. Analysis and modification of Conduct, vol.42, nº165-166. 35-49.

Dialectical Behavior Therapy - Assisting our Clients in Regulating Their Emotions (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie comportementale dialectique: théorie, phases et effets

Thérapie comportementale dialectique: théorie, phases et effets

Septembre 23, 2022

La grande quantité de théories et de courants de pensée qui ont existé au cours de l'histoire de la psychologie a permis de générer un grand nombre de techniques thérapeutiques permettant de faire face à différents problèmes et troubles.

L’un des courants les plus répandus à l’heure actuelle est le comportement cognitivo-comportemental qui, par la modification du comportement, vise à modifier les schémas de pensée et de comportement des personnes éprouvant des difficultés à les rendre plus adaptables à l’environnement et à réduire leurs souffrances. Parmi les techniques qui permettent une telle chose, notamment face à des comportements autodestructeurs et à de graves altérations de la personnalité, il y a une thérapie dialectique comportementale .


  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Thérapie comportementale dialectique: bases théoriques

Expérimenter intensément les pulsions et émotions est quelque chose que la plupart des gens ont fait à l'occasion. Cependant, dans certains cas, l'expérience d'émotions exagérément intenses peut conduire à des comportements exagérément impulsifs, notamment des actes d'automutilation et des tentatives de suicide, résultant de l'insuffisance et de la répression de la frustration ressentie.

Afin de traiter ces problèmes chez de nombreux patients, Marsha Linehan essaierait d'appliquer des techniques de modification du comportement propre au paradigme cognitivo-comportemental. Cependant, ces techniques n’auraient pas l’effet escompté, car elles auraient été mal comprises, ignorées émotionnellement et même attaquées avant la tentative de changer de comportement sans plus attendre.


Linehan serait au courant de ce fait et des sentiments des patients traités et, en réponse, mélangerait ces techniques de modification du comportement à une approche plus ciblée de la dialectique, qui constituerait l'axe de base du traitement. Appliquer Linehan créerait ce que l'on appelle maintenant la thérapie comportementale dialectique ou dialectique comportementale, spécialement dédiée au traitement des comportements autodestructeurs et addictifs.

Quel est ton objectif?

C'est une technique appartenant à la troisième vague ou génération de thérapies comportementales, de sorte qu'elle ne s'attache pas tant à éliminer le comportement ou la caractéristique que cela crée des difficultés, mais à transformer en outre la relation du patient avec celle-ci et de la guider manière qui peut l’accepter et voir la réalité différemment de l’original.

L'objectif de base de la thérapie dialectique comportementale est de veiller à ce que le patient apprenne à bien gérer ses émotions et son comportement, de manière à pouvoir contrôler les comportements impulsifs causés par des troubles mentaux, tandis que le sujet et le thérapeute qui l'accompagne acceptent leur expérience des faits et ce pour lui ils supposent. Par conséquent, un équilibre entre les stratégies de changement de comportement de l'acceptation de soi est recherché.


Cette acceptation et validation de son expérience il augmente par lui-même la capacité de gérer de manière plus adaptative ses propres émotions, ce qui diminue l'impulsivité qui conduit finalement à des comportements extrêmes. Au sein de cette thérapie est très important la figure de thérapeute (ou de, puisqu'une équipe de professionnels est généralement employée), étant la relation thérapeutique et l'acceptation de leur part de ces éléments qui font du changement une constante essentielle. pour le succès.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Thérapies comportementales: première, deuxième et troisième vagues"

Composants de base

En thérapie comportementale dialectique, il est utilisé beaucoup de modalités de traitement , travaillant de deux manières différentes, deux aspects fondamentaux que ce type de traitement tente de résoudre.

Le premier de ces aspects repose principalement sur le fait de provoquer le patient désir de continuer et de motiver poursuivre le traitement en vous concentrant sur les raisons d’amélioration et en vous aidant à atteindre des objectifs vitaux à poursuivre et pour lesquels il vaut la peine d’être vécus.

La deuxième composante est basée sur la formation, former le patient à des compétences spécifiques afin de mieux accepter et gérer de manière plus adaptative. Cette formation est basée sur quatre modules principaux.

Parmi ces modules, nous trouvons une formation en augmenter la tolérance au malaise afin de lutter contre la tendance à adopter des comportements impulsifs , un autre moyen de générer des compétences de conscience de soi grâce à des techniques telles que la pleine conscience pour traiter les sensations de vide et les différentes altérations cognitives-émotionnelles, un module dédié à la régulation émotionnelle du travail et enfin un module dans lequel les compétences sociales sont travaillées. relations interpersonnelles rendant ces personnes moins chaotiques, plus stables et durables.

La psychothérapie est utilisée au niveau individuel pour essayer de trouver une solution aux problèmes rencontrés par le patient, tandis que la thérapie de groupe est utilisée lors de la formation du client aux différentes compétences nécessaires pour améliorer son acceptation de soi. Face à des problèmes concrets de la vie quotidienne, il est possible d'établir un contact téléphonique avec le thérapeute afin de pouvoir appliquer les situations travaillées en consultation à la vie quotidienne.

Phases de thérapie

L’application de la thérapie dialectique comportementale est réalisée à travers une série de trois phases , plus tard pour orienter le patient sur la thérapie, pour faire voir sa nécessité et pour promouvoir la participation active de la personne traitée face à des objectifs établis entre le patient et le thérapeute.

Dans une première phase, le travail se concentre sur l’augmentation de la conscience de soi et des compétences à la fois de tolérance à l’inconfort et régulation des émotions et des relations personnelles , ainsi que le contrôle et la gestion des comportements impulsifs, en acceptant et en tenant compte de toutes les variables et comportements pouvant affecter la personne. En général, la plupart des activités visant à parvenir à l'acceptation de soi et à un changement de comportement sont réalisées.

Dans un second moment nous procédons pour agir sur le stress qui a produit et produit la situation chez les individus.

Enfin, nous procédons pour aider le sujet à reconstruire et créer un concept de soi réaliste et plus positif et auto-validation, contribuant à la fixation et à l'orientation vers des objectifs vitaux importants pour chaque client.

Utilisations et applications cliniques

La thérapie comportementale dialectique a montré son utilité dans un grand nombre de troubles, en particulier dans le contrôle des comportements impulsifs et des émotions intenses. Certains des troubles dans lesquels il est le plus indiqué sont les suivants.

Trouble de la personnalité limite

La thérapie comportementale dialectique est principalement connue comme le type de thérapie qui bénéficie du soutien le plus empirique dans le traitement du trouble de la personnalité limite. Du point de vue de la thérapie comportementale dialectique, ce trouble est compris comme un schéma continu de dérégulation émotionnelle en raison de l’interaction entre les variables biologiques qui prédisposent à la vulnérabilité émotionnelle et d’un environnement émotionnel invalidant qui les empêche d’être gérées efficacement.

Cela provoque une intensification et une perte de contrôle des émotions, une instabilité émotionnelle extrême et un sentiment intense de vide intérieur pouvant conduire à des comportements auto-dommageables, voire suicidaires, et à des attitudes dépendantes et imprévisibles. Ainsi, dans ce trouble, la thérapie comportementale dialectique vise à travailler sur la vulnérabilité et les sentiments d'impuissance du sujet, la passivité vitale qu'ils finissent par montrer et l'expression de l'angoisse et des sentiments refoulés.

  • Article associé: «Trouble limite de la personnalité (DBP): causes, symptômes et traitement»

Troubles de l'humeur

La thérapie comportementale dialectique a été appliquée avec succès à un grand nombre de troubles pour lesquels le principal problème était la difficulté à réguler les émotions. Pour cette raison, des études indiquent qu'il semble être d'une grande aide dans la réduction des symptômes des troubles de l'humeur comme une dépression majeure.

Troubles de l'alimentation

Troubles de l'alimentation comme l'anorexie, la boulimie et l'hyperphagie boulimique ils ont généralement de graves problèmes de régulation émotionnelle liés à l'acceptation de leur propre image corporelle ou à leur incapacité à garder le contrôle de leur propre comportement alimentaire.

À cet égard, la thérapie comportementale dialectique a montré que réduit la symptomatologie de ce type de troubles , en particulier, les crises de boulimie et la boulimie dans lesquelles une consommation massive de nourriture se produit, sur la base d’impulsions immédiates.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

Toxicomanie

Il convient de garder à l’esprit que, dans un grand nombre de cas, l’usage abusif de substances est fait dans l’intention de faire face à un vide existentiel, en tant que mécanisme de fuite, émotions difficiles à ressentir pour le patient (comme la peur ou la pour alléger le désir compulsif de consommation provenant de l'abstinence à la substance à laquelle on est accro. Ainsi, dans les cas où, derrière la consommation, se pose un problème de régulation des émotions, la thérapie comportementale dialectique Il s'est également révélé particulièrement efficace .

Autres

Bien que moins efficace que dans les cas précédents, la thérapie dialectique comportementale a été fréquemment appliquée dans le trouble de stress post-traumatique ainsi que dans les troubles anxieux comme le trouble panique.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amande, M.T. (2012). Psychothérapies Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 06. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Aramburu, B. (1996). Thérapie comportementale dialectique pour le trouble de la personnalité limite. Comportemental Psychology, 4, 123-140.
  • Linehan, M. M. & Dimeff, L. (2001). Comportement comportemental dialectique en bref.The California Psychologist, 34, 10-13.
  • Soler, J .; Elices, M. et Carmona, C. (2016). Thérapie comportementale dialectique: applications cliniques et preuves empiriques. Analyse et modification de la conduite, vol.42, nº165-166. 35-49.

Prise en charge TCC des troubles de la personnalite Dr Bernard PASCAL (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes