yes, therapy helps!
Disorders of the orientation: symptoms, types and treatment

Disorders of the orientation: symptoms, types and treatment

July 23, 2024

Where are you? What are you doing there? On what date are we? Who are you? A large majority of people will be able to answer these questions.

However, if these same issues are made to someone with brain injuries or who are intoxicated with some drugs or drugs it is possible to find that they do not know how to answer them, that there are serious doubts or that the answers are completely wrong (for example, a person can say that we are in 1970 or that you are in a mall when you are actually in a hospital). It's about people who manifest the existence of orientation disorders .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

The orientation

Before defining the different disorders of orientation, it is necessary to specify what this concept refers to. It is considered guidance to the cognitive ability that allows us to be able to determine our position in space and time from the environmental references, as well as who we are and what we do in said space-time position.


Most people identify with the guidance concept only with the ability to determine our relationship with the environment and place ourselves in a specific space and time. This type of orientation is called the alopsychic .

However, there is another type of orientation, the autopsychic orientation. This refers to the orientation linked to the self: we know that we are ourselves, or that our hand or other parts of our body are part of us and not belonging to another person.

The orientation is very linked to other processes such as awareness, attention and memory , and may be influenced by failures in any of these skills or processes. For example, through memory we are able to establish and organize our experiences in time or remember the meaning or the concept of the place where it is.


  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

The main orientation disorders

Once we understand what the term orientation means, we can identify different processes of pathological orientation: orientation disorders. In this sense we can find the following pathologies or problems .

1. Disorientation

Disorientation refers to the loss of the ability to place oneself in space and / or time correctly. The subject does not identify his situation and does not know how to respond if they ask him where he is or the date. Said disorientation may be only temporary or spatial, or appear together both.

It is also possible that such disorientation is not complete : for example the patient can know that we are in 2017, but not the month or the day.


The disorientation can also occur (either alone or together with the previous ones) at the autopsychic level, not knowing who it is, what it does in that place or not recognizing itself.

  • You may be interested: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

2. Double orientation

The double orientation occurs when the subject is able to orient at certain times or makes a mixture between the real situation and unreal or abnormal elements . For example, you can say that you are in a hospital in a colony on Mars, it is true that you are in a hospital.

3. Counter-orientation or false orientation

The subject is considered oriented and provides data regarding its location, temporary space or who it is, but the answers it provides are unreal and elaborated by the subject himself ignoring the real answers.

Some brain elements affected

The alterations in the orientation can come from the involvement of different brain. For example, the management of orientation in space has been linked to the functioning of the hippocampus, which allows establish a mental map of space . Time and its measurement are often linked to the striatum, the suprachiasmatic nucleus and the management of the biorhythms.

A malfunction of the nerve connections that go from the thalamus to the cortex and vice versa can generate alterations such as confabulation. Lesions of the parietal lobe may also explain the presence of disorientation.

In what contexts do they appear?

Orientation disorders can appear in a wide variety of situations. It is common for them to appear in any situation where there are alterations of conscience. As well are linked to cortical and subcortical degeneration and to memory and attention problems.

One of the disorders in which they usually appear is schizophrenia along with other psychotic disorders, being possible to observe in many cases the conspiracy orientation or the double orientation. In some manic episodes they can also be observed. It is also very common that any of the above disorders appear in neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's or other dementias.

Organic intoxication from the consumption of toxic substances, drugs or some medications can also generate orientation disorders. It is not uncommon for it to appear in Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, or in withdrawal syndromes.

Finally, the disorientation can be generated mentally in disorders like dissociative (for example, derealization or depersonalization), agnosias or in some cases of mood or anxiety disorders.

Possible treatments

The treatment to be used in cases of disorders of the orientation will depend to a great extent on the causes of said disorder, circumscribing each treatment to the corresponding situations.

In general, it is usually tried that the subject is oriented indicating the data that is unknown , encouraging you to observe contextual clues and / or trying to make the person link the data that fails to something known. It is also useful to explain the situation to the affected person and their relatives in order to reassure them.

Bibliographic references:

  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. Madrid. McGraw Hill. (vol 1) Revised edition.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE: Madrid.

Psychological Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #28 (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Troubles de l'orientation: symptômes, types et traitement

Troubles de l'orientation: symptômes, types et traitement

Juin 20, 2019

Où êtes-vous? Que faites vous là A quelle date sommes nous? Qui êtes-vous? Une grande majorité de personnes sera en mesure de répondre à ces questions.

Cependant, si les mêmes problèmes se posent à une personne souffrant de lésions cérébrales ou de personnes intoxiquées par certaines drogues, il est possible de découvrir qu'elle ne sait pas comment y répondre, qu'il existe de sérieux doutes ou que les réponses sont complètement fausses (par exemple, une personne peut disons que nous sommes en 1970 ou que vous êtes dans un centre commercial alors que vous êtes à l’hôpital). C'est à propos des gens qui manifester l'existence de troubles de l'orientation .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

L'orientation

Avant de définir les différents troubles de l’orientation, il est nécessaire de préciser à quoi se réfère ce concept. Il est considéré comme une orientation pour la capacité cognitive qui nous permet de déterminer notre position dans l'espace et dans le temps des références environnementales, ainsi que de qui nous sommes et ce que nous faisons dans ladite position spatio-temporelle.


La plupart des gens s'identifient au concept de guidage uniquement avec la capacité de déterminer notre relation avec l'environnement et de nous situer dans un espace et un temps spécifiques. Ce type d'orientation s'appelle l'alopsychique. .

Cependant, il existe un autre type d’orientation, l’orientation autopsychique. Cela fait référence à l'orientation liée au moi: nous savons que nous sommes nous-mêmes, ou que notre main ou d'autres parties de notre corps font partie de nous et n'appartiennent pas à une autre personne.

L'orientation est très liés à d'autres processus tels que la sensibilisation, l'attention et la mémoire , et peuvent être influencés par des échecs dans l’une de ces compétences ou processus. Par exemple, grâce à la mémoire, nous sommes en mesure d’établir et d’organiser nos expériences dans le temps ou de nous rappeler le sens ou le concept du lieu où il se trouve.


  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

Les principaux troubles de l'orientation

Une fois que nous comprenons ce que le terme orientation signifie, nous pouvons identifier différents processus d’orientation pathologique: les troubles d’orientation. Dans ce sens on peut trouver les pathologies ou problèmes suivants .

1. désorientation

La désorientation fait référence à la perte de la capacité de se placer correctement dans l’espace et / ou dans le temps. Le sujet n'identifie pas sa situation et ne sait pas comment répondre s'il lui demande où il se trouve ou quelle date. Cette désorientation peut n'être que temporaire ou spatiale, ou apparaître ensemble les deux.

Il est également possible que cette désorientation ne soit pas complète : par exemple, le patient peut savoir que nous sommes en 2017, mais pas le mois ou le jour.


La désorientation peut également se produire (seule ou avec les précédentes) au niveau autopsychique, ne sachant pas qui c'est, que fait-il à cet endroit ou ne se reconnaissant pas.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

2. Double orientation

La double orientation se produit lorsque le sujet est capable de s’orienter à certains moments ou fait un mélange entre la situation réelle et des éléments irréels ou anormaux . Par exemple, vous pouvez dire que vous êtes à l'hôpital dans une colonie sur Mars, il est vrai que vous êtes à l'hôpital.

3. Contre orientation ou fausse orientation

Le sujet est considéré orienté et fournit des données sur son emplacement, son espace temporaire ou son identité, mais les réponses qu'il fournit sont irréelles et élaboré par le sujet lui-même en ignorant les vraies réponses.

Quelques éléments cérébraux affectés

Les modifications d'orientation peuvent provenir de l'implication de différents cerveaux. Par exemple, la gestion de l’orientation dans l’espace a été liée au fonctionnement de l’hippocampe, ce qui permet établir une carte mentale de l'espace . Le temps et sa mesure sont souvent liés au striatum, au noyau suprachiasmatique et à la gestion des biorythmes.

Un dysfonctionnement des connexions nerveuses allant du thalamus au cortex et inversement peut générer des altérations telles que la confabulation. Les lésions du lobe pariétal peuvent également expliquer la présence de désorientation.

Dans quels contextes apparaissent-ils?

Les troubles d'orientation peuvent apparaître dans une grande variété de situations. Il est courant qu'ils apparaissent dans toutes les situations où il y a des altérations de conscience. Aussi sont liés à la dégénérescence corticale et sous-corticale et aux problèmes de mémoire et d'attention.

L'un des troubles dans lesquels ils apparaissent habituellement est la schizophrénie et d'autres troubles psychotiques, étant donné qu'il est possible d'observer dans de nombreux cas l'orientation du complot ou la double orientation. Dans certains épisodes maniaques, ils peuvent également être observés. Il est également très courant que l’un des troubles ci-dessus apparaisse dans les maladies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’autres démences.

L'intoxication organique liée à la consommation de substances toxiques, de drogues ou de certains médicaments peut également générer des troubles de l'orientation. Il n’est pas rare qu’il apparaisse dans le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff ou dans les syndromes de sevrage.

Enfin, le dépaysement peuvent être générés mentalement dans des troubles comme dissociatifs (par exemple, déréalisation ou dépersonnalisation), agnosies ou, dans certains cas, de troubles de l'humeur ou d'anxiété.

Traitements possibles

Le traitement à utiliser en cas de troubles de l'orientation dépendra dans une large mesure des causes de ce trouble, en limitant chaque traitement aux situations correspondantes.

En général, on essaie habituellement que le sujet est orienté en indiquant les données inconnues , en vous encourageant à observer des indices contextuels et / ou en essayant de faire en sorte que la personne relie les données qui échouent à quelque chose de connu. Il est également utile d’expliquer la situation à la personne concernée et à ses proches afin de les rassurer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Madrid McGraw Hill. (vol 1) Édition révisée.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE: Madrid.

Trouble de la personnalité limite : 4 types (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes