yes, therapy helps!
Is it possible to forgive an infidelity?

Is it possible to forgive an infidelity?

October 28, 2020

An important aspect of infidelity is the fact that, in general, it is given in secret. So, usually implies a betrayal of the compromise agreed between the parties involved, the spouses . This is a fundamental element when breaking the trust on which the relationship is established.

When an infidelity occurs, the "aggrieved" suffers a deep wound in his self-esteem that will be necessary to heal. One of the most difficult challenges you will have to expose will be to forgive what happened, regardless of whether you want to restore the relationship or not.

What is forgiveness?

Forgiveness is a process that has a healthy effect on the person who forgives, thus promoting their mental health. But nevertheless, forgiveness is a complex issue that will take time , desire to forgive, determination and commitment.


In this process we will have to change attitudes, thoughts and behaviors. Through this cognitive restructuring, we will be able to reconcile ourselves with those feelings that were violated, and return to normality.

The process of forgiveness after infidelity

The first step will be to recognize the damage suffered . It is important not to deceive yourself minimizing what happened, on the contrary, it will be from the importance of the event from where the "aggrieved" will be given the opportunity to forgive.

In the analysis of what happened, it is necessary to understand the circumstances in which infidelity occurs. In this way, we know that external attributions (attributing responsibility to external circumstances to the person), unstable (that vary) and specific (concrete and specific) infidelity facilitate forgiveness against internal attributions (attribute responsibility to character of the person), stable (that does not change) and global (generalizable) that make it difficult.


It may interest you: "What does science reveal about infidelity?"

The second step is to show interest in forgiving what happened , at least as a possibility.

Misconceptions about the forgiveness process

For this we will have to analyze and recognize what it means for us to forgive to detect possible thoughts or ideas that can negatively interfere with the forgiveness process. Some of these misconceptions can be:

1. "Forgiving implies forgetting what happened"

Memory is a brain function that intervenes in all learning processes of the human being. When we learn something, it is not deleted from our "warehouse", we can not make it disappear. The goal is not to forget what happened, the end will be to remember it without hurting us.

2. "Forgiveness is synonymous with reconciliation"

This is one of the most widespread ideas in consultation: "If you do not want to go back with me, it's because you have not forgiven me, if you had, we would be together". Forgiveness does not necessarily include restoring the relationship with someone , it is necessary, but not enough.


3. "To forgive is to minimize or justify what happened"

How many times have we heard phrases of the type: "it's not that bad", "try to see the positive", "these things happen", ...? Forgiving does not imply changing the assessment of the fact ; so it is very likely that it is always valued in a negative and unjustifiable way. However, what will change will be that, although the assessment of the fact is negative, the attitude toward the "offender" will not imply any desire for revenge or the need to "return the damage caused" in search of justice.

4. "Forgiveness is a sign of not being valued or of weakness"

When they hurt us, we learn that it is necessary to protect ourselves from the person who has hurt us . Anger is a defense mechanism that protects us from the other (hatred allows me to "control" part of what happened, makes you feel important and restores part of the trust lost in oneself).

Changing our thoughts to be able to forgive

The third step that leads us to forgive, and this happens by changing our behavior (what we do) and accepting suffering and anger . In the case of infidelity, is to stop doing open and explicit destructive behavior (seek revenge or justice, lash out against the "aggressor", ...) or disguised and implicit (bad wish the aggressor, ruminate on the betrayal and damage infringed ...)

The fourth stage involves establishing strategies aimed at self-protection . Forgiveness does not mean "blind faith in the other", precisely implies recognizing that there are no certainties that will not happen again and that risk is part of what it means to live and share life with another, even if one tries to reduce the likelihood that To happen again. It is important not to fall into excessive control that leads us to manifest a jealous behavior.

Overcoming a complicated situation

Forgiving an infidelity, therefore, it is possible . However, this will not mean retaking the relationship again, it is a necessary but not sufficient requirement.

On the other hand, it is important to take time, forgiveness is only possible once we have passed the process of mourning that will lead to the loss of trust both in the couple and in oneself, given the devastating effects it has on self-esteem.

We help you: "Overcome an infidelity: the 5 keys to get it"

Dr. Phil's Advice for Couples Coping with Infidelity | Oprah's Lifeclass | Oprah Winfrey Network (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Est-il possible de pardonner une infidélité?

Est-il possible de pardonner une infidélité?

Février 18, 2019

Un aspect important de l’infidélité est le fait qu’elle est donnée en secret. Pourtant, implique généralement une trahison du compromis convenu entre les parties en cause, les conjoints . Ceci est un élément fondamental pour rompre la confiance sur laquelle la relation est établie.

Lorsqu'une infidélité se produit, le "lésé" souffre d'une profonde blessure à l'estime de soi qu'il sera nécessaire de guérir. L’un des défis les plus difficiles que vous aurez à relever sera de pardonner ce qui s’est passé, que vous souhaitiez rétablir la relation ou non.

Qu'est-ce que le pardon?

Le pardon est un processus qui a un effet bénéfique sur la personne qui pardonne, favorisant ainsi sa santé mentale. Cependant, le pardon est une question complexe qui prendra du temps , désir de pardonner, détermination et engagement.


Dans ce processus, nous devrons changer les attitudes, les pensées et les comportements. Grâce à cette restructuration cognitive, nous pourrons nous réconcilier avec les sentiments qui ont été violés et revenir à la normale.

Le processus du pardon après l'infidélité

La première étape sera de reconnaître le préjudice subi . Il est important de ne pas vous tromper vous-même en minimisant ce qui s'est passé. Au contraire, ce sera à cause de l'importance de l'événement où les "lésés" auront l'occasion de pardonner.

Dans l'analyse de ce qui s'est passé, il est nécessaire de comprendre les circonstances dans lesquelles l'infidélité se produit. De cette manière, nous savons que des attributions externes (attribuant la responsabilité à des circonstances extérieures à la personne), une infidélité instable (qui varie) et spécifique (concrète et spécifique) facilitent le pardon contre les attributions internes (attribution de la responsabilité au personnage). de la personne), stable (qui ne change pas) et global (généralisable) qui le rend difficile.


Cela peut vous intéresser: "Qu'est-ce que la science révèle sur l'infidélité?"

La deuxième étape consiste à montrer de l'intérêt à pardonner ce qui s'est passé , au moins comme une possibilité.

Idées fausses sur le processus de pardon

Pour cela, nous devrons analyser et reconnaître ce que cela signifie pour nous de pardonner afin de détecter d'éventuelles pensées ou idées susceptibles d'interférer négativement avec le processus de pardon. Certaines de ces idées fausses peuvent être:

1. "Pardonner, c'est oublier ce qui s'est passé"

La mémoire est une fonction cérébrale qui intervient dans tous les processus d'apprentissage de l'être humain. Lorsque nous apprenons quelque chose, il n'est pas supprimé de notre "entrepôt", nous ne pouvons pas le faire disparaître. Le but n'est pas d'oublier ce qui s'est passé, le but sera de s'en souvenir sans nous faire mal.

2. "Le pardon est synonyme de réconciliation"

C'est l'une des idées les plus répandues en consultation: "Si vous ne voulez pas revenir avec moi, c'est parce que vous ne m'avez pas pardonné, sinon, nous serions ensemble". Le pardon n'inclut pas nécessairement la restauration de la relation avec quelqu'un , c’est nécessaire, mais pas assez.


3. "Pardonner, c'est minimiser ou justifier ce qui s'est passé"

Combien de fois avons-nous entendu des phrases du type: "ce n'est pas si mal", "essayez de voir le positif", "ces choses se passent", ...? Pardonner n'implique pas de changer l'appréciation du fait ; il est donc très probable que sa valeur soit toujours négative et injustifiable. Cependant, ce qui va changer, c'est que, même si l'évaluation du fait est négative, l'attitude envers le "contrevenant" n'impliquera aucun désir de vengeance ni la nécessité de "restituer le préjudice causé" en quête de justice.

4. "Le pardon est un signe de non valorisation ou de faiblesse"

Quand ils nous font du mal, nous apprenons qu'il est nécessaire de nous protéger de la personne qui nous a fait du mal . La colère est un mécanisme de défense qui nous protège de l'autre (la haine me permet de "contrôler" une partie de ce qui s'est passé, vous fait sentir important et restaure une partie de la confiance perdue en vous-même).

Changer nos pensées pour pouvoir pardonner

La troisième étape qui nous amène à pardonner, et cela se produit en changeant notre comportement (ce que nous faisons) et en acceptant la souffrance et la colère . Dans le cas de l'infidélité, il faut cesser d'avoir un comportement destructeur ouvert et explicite (chercher vengeance ou justice, s'en prendre à "l'agresseur", ...) ou déguisé et implicite (mauvais souhait de l'agresseur, ruminer la trahison et causer des dommages ...)

La quatrième étape consiste à établir des stratégies visant à l'autoprotection . Le pardon ne signifie pas «confiance aveugle en l'autre», mais implique en effet de reconnaître qu'il n'existe aucune certitude qui ne se reproduira plus et que le risque fait partie de ce que signifie vivre et partager sa vie avec un autre, même si l'on essaie de réduire le risque que arriver à nouveau Il est important de ne pas tomber dans un contrôle excessif qui nous amène à manifester un comportement jaloux.

Surmonter une situation compliquée

Pardonner une infidélité, donc, il est possible . Toutefois, cela ne signifie pas que nous devons reprendre la relation, c’est une condition nécessaire mais non suffisante.

D'autre part, il est important de prendre du temps, le pardon n'est possible qu'une fois que nous avons passé le processus de deuil qui conduira à la perte de confiance dans le couple et en soi-même, compte tenu des effets dévastateurs qu'il a sur l'estime de soi.

Nous vous aidons: "Surmonter une infidélité: les 5 clés pour l'obtenir"

Couple : l'infidélité est-elle pardonnable ? (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes