yes, therapy helps!
Primary progressive aphasia (APP): causes and symptoms

Primary progressive aphasia (APP): causes and symptoms

December 3, 2022

One of the definitions of language is that of the human being's own capacity that he uses to express thoughts and feelings through the word. Unfortunately, there are cases in which this ability is truncated. One of these cases are aphasias, which are known to disable people for speech.

A type of aphasia that is rare is primary progressive aphasia (APP) which is characterized by a progressive degeneration of speech capacity in patients who maintain relatively intact the rest of their cognitive, instrumental or behavioral skills.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Causes of primary progressive aphasia

Primary progressive aphasia (APP), also called Mesulam aphasia, is a neurodegenerative disease that materializes in a pathology of the linguistic domain .


This develops gradually and occurs in people who do not suffer any other alteration in the other cognitive areas, nor experience alterations in behavior or are limited to the performance of their daily activities.

During the first stages of development of the disease, the patient is completely autonomous in terms of achieving any task, however the degenerative course of this pathology finally leads to generalized dementia.

Contrary to what happens with secondary aphasias, primary aphasias seem to have no specific origin or cause. Even so, certain studies have tried to detect the presence of atrophy patterns associated with this aphasia. Through the use of magnetic resonances, characteristic atrophies of each of the types of aphasia have been observed:


  • Lower frontal and insular frontal atrophy in the grammatical APP
  • Bilateral anterior temporal atrophy with predominance left in the semantic variant
  • Left temporoparietal atrophy in the logopenic variant

Types of primary progressive aphasia

Researchers in this field detail three variants of this type of aphasia in which, as mentioned in the previous section, each of them is associated with an anatomical functional pattern.

These variants are ungrammatical / non-flowing, the semantic variant and the logopenic variant.

1. Agramatical variant

This variant is characterized by presenting itself in the form of very difficult speech and a completely agrammatic production.

To clarify this concept, it should be noted that the agrammatism consists of the emission of short phrases with a very simple structure; omitting the functional expressions, which are those that serve as a link between the words.


The first symptom of the disease tends to be difficulty in planning speech . Which begins to become slow and very laborious.

Certain grammatical errors that are not very important can be detected early by applying oral production tests. In which patients with APP generally make some mistake in sentences with a complex grammatical construction.

2. Semantic variant

Also called semantic dementia, in which the patient presents enormous difficulties when it comes to naming any object or thing ; presenting a normal performance in the rest of the linguistic functions, at least at the beginning of the illness.

During the course of the disease semantic memory deteriorates gradually, while other difficulties appear in understanding the meaning of objects. These difficulties when identifying and accessing knowledge occur independently of the sensory modality in which the stimuli are presented.

There is usually a gradual decrease in the body of knowledge that the patient has about the world around him.

3. Logopenic variant

It is considered the least common variant of the three, which has two characteristic features:

  • Difficulty accessing vocabulary
  • Errors in phrase repetition

The clearest way to exemplify this type of aphasia is to represent it as the constant feeling of "having something on the tip of the tongue". The patient does not suffer from an agramatism, but rather he finds recurrent difficulties when it comes to finding the words he is looking for; presenting, in addition, phonological errors .

This last point makes us suspect that patients suffering from primary progressive aphasia also present a deterioration in the phonological store; since the understanding of isolated words and short sentences is correct, but difficulties appear when interpreting long sentences.

Diagnosis: Mesulam criteria

There are two different stages when making a diagnosis of primary progressive aphasia:

  1. Patients must meet the characteristics of Mesulam for the APP without considering any specific variant.
  2. Once the APP is diagnosed, it will be determined which variant is treated by the evaluation of linguistic cognitive processes.

Mesulam criteria for the APP

These criteria described by Mesulam in 2003 take into account both the diagnostic inclusion criteria and the exclusion criteria. These criteria are the following:

  • The language becomes a slow and progressive speech. Both when naming objects, as in syntax or oral comprehension.
  • Other activities and functions that do not imply communicative competences intact.
  • Aphasia as the most prominent deficit at the onset of the disease. Although the rest of psychological functions may be affected during the course of this, the language is the most damaged from the beginning.
  • The APP is discarded if there is presence of strokes, tumors or trauma related to aphasia in the patient's history.
  • If there are strange behavioral changes and more evident than the aphasic alteration, the APP is discarded.
  • If there are significant alterations in episodic memory, non-verbal memory or visuospatial processes, it will not be considered APP.
  • In the presence of parkinsonian symptoms such as stiffness or tremor, APP is ruled out.

Treatment

There is no cure or medication for the APP. However, there are logopedic therapies that help improve and maintain the patient's communication capacity.

These therapies focus on the person's effort to compensate for the deterioration of language skills . In this way, although the evolution of the disease can not be stopped, the condition can be controlled.

Evolution and prognosis

Although PPP can occur over a wide age range, it is more likely to occur in people between 50 and 70 years of age . As mentioned above, for now there is no cure for PPP, so prognosis of this disease is somewhat demoralizing.

Once the disease has been established, this aphasic disorder tends to progress in a way that eventually leads to severe cases of mutism. But unlike other dementias the patient becomes dependent much later.

Regarding the presence of other additional deficits, language is the only clinical manifestation or, at least, the most predominant. But if there are cases of other alterations at the cognitive, behavioral, extrapyramidal, etc. level. However, it is unknown how frequently dementias become generalized during the course of the disease.


Primary Progressive Aphasia (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aphasie progressive primaire (APP): causes et symptômes

Aphasie progressive primaire (APP): causes et symptômes

Août 21, 2019

L'une des définitions du langage est celle de la capacité propre de l'être humain qu'il utilise pour exprimer des pensées et des sentiments à travers le mot. Malheureusement, il existe des cas dans lesquels cette capacité est tronquée. L'un de ces cas est l'aphasie, connue pour rendre les personnes incapables de parler.

L'aphasie progressive primaire (APP) est un type d'aphasie rare. qui se caractérise par une dégénérescence progressive de la capacité de parole chez les patients qui maintiennent relativement intact le reste de leurs compétences cognitives, instrumentales ou comportementales.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Causes de l'aphasie progressive primaire

Aphasie progressive primaire (APP), également appelée aphasie de Mesulam, est une maladie neurodégénérative qui se matérialise dans une pathologie du domaine linguistique .


Cela se développe progressivement et se produit chez les personnes qui ne subissent aucune autre altération des autres domaines cognitifs, ne subissent aucune altération de leur comportement ou se limitent à l'exécution de leurs activités quotidiennes.

Au cours des premiers stades de développement de la maladie, le patient est complètement autonome en termes de réalisation de toute tâche, mais l'évolution de cette pathologie dégénérative conduit finalement à une démence généralisée.

Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec les aphasies secondaires, les aphasies primaires semblent n'avoir aucune origine ou cause spécifique. Malgré cela, certaines études ont tenté de détecter la présence de modèles d’atrophie associés à cette aphasie. Grâce à l'utilisation de résonances magnétiques, des atrophies caractéristiques de chacun des types d'aphasie ont été observées:


  • Atrophie frontale inférieure et insulaire frontale dans l'APP grammaticale
  • Atrophie temporale antérieure bilatérale avec prédominance dans la variante sémantique
  • Atrophie temporopariétale gauche dans la variante logopénique

Types d'aphasie progressive primaire

Les chercheurs de ce domaine détaillent trois variantes de ce type d’aphasie dans lesquelles, comme mentionné dans la section précédente, chacune d’elles est associée à un schéma fonctionnel anatomique.

Ces variantes sont non grammaticales / non coulantes, la variante sémantique et la variante logopénique.

1. variante agramatique

Cette variante se caractérise en se présentant sous la forme d'un discours très difficile et d'une production complètement agrammatique.

Pour clarifier ce concept, il convient de noter que l'agrammatisme consiste en l'émission de phrases courtes avec une structure très simple; omettant les expressions fonctionnelles, qui sont celles qui servent de lien entre les mots.


Le premier symptôme de la maladie a tendance à être une difficulté à planifier le discours . Ce qui commence à devenir lent et très laborieux.

Certaines erreurs grammaticales peu importantes peuvent être détectées rapidement en appliquant des tests de production orale. Dans lesquels les patients atteints de PPA font généralement des erreurs dans les phrases à structure grammaticale complexe.

2. variante sémantique

Aussi appelé démence sémantique, dans laquelle le patient présente d'énormes difficultés pour nommer un objet ou une chose ; présentant une performance normale dans le reste des fonctions linguistiques, au moins au début de la maladie.

Au cours de la maladie, la mémoire sémantique se détériore progressivement, tandis que d'autres difficultés apparaissent pour comprendre le sens des objets. Ces difficultés lors de l'identification et de l'accès à la connaissance se produisent indépendamment de la modalité sensorielle dans laquelle les stimuli sont présentés.

Il y a généralement une diminution progressive du corpus de connaissances du patient sur le monde qui l’entoure.

3. variante logopénique

Elle est considérée comme la variante la moins commune des trois, qui présente deux caractéristiques:

  • Difficulté d'accès au vocabulaire
  • Erreurs dans la répétition de phrases

Le moyen le plus clair d’illustrer ce type d’aphasie est de le représenter comme le sentiment constant «d’avoir quelque chose sur le bout de la langue». Le patient ne souffre pas d'un agramatisme, mais plutôt il rencontre des difficultés récurrentes lorsqu'il s'agit de trouver les mots qu'il recherche; présentant, en outre, des erreurs phonologiques .

Ce dernier point laisse penser que les patients souffrant d’aphasie progressive primaire présentent également une détérioration de la mémoire phonologique; puisque la compréhension de mots isolés et de phrases courtes est correcte, mais des difficultés apparaissent lors de l’interprétation de phrases longues.

Diagnostic: critères de Mesulam

Le diagnostic d’aphasie progressive primaire se déroule en deux étapes:

  1. Les patients doivent répondre aux caractéristiques de Mesulam pour l’APP sans tenir compte d’une variante spécifique.
  2. Une fois que l’APP est diagnostiquée, il sera déterminé quelle variante est traitée par l’évaluation des processus cognitifs linguistiques.

Critères de Mesulam pour le PPA

Ces critères décrits par Mesulam en 2003 tiennent compte à la fois des critères d’inclusion diagnostiques et des critères d’exclusion. Ces critères sont les suivants:

  • La langue devient un discours lent et progressif. Les deux lors de la désignation d'objets, comme dans la syntaxe ou la compréhension orale.
  • Autres activités et fonctions qui n'impliquent pas des compétences communicatives intactes.
  • L'aphasie est le déficit le plus important au début de la maladie. Bien que le reste des fonctions psychologiques puisse être affecté au cours de cette opération, la langue est la plus endommagée depuis le début.
  • L'APP est abandonnée en cas de présence d'AVC, de tumeurs ou de traumatismes liés à l'aphasie dans les antécédents du patient.
  • S'il y a des changements de comportement étranges et plus évidents que l'altération aphasique, l'APP est abandonnée.
  • S'il y a des altérations importantes dans la mémoire épisodique, la mémoire non verbale ou les processus visuospatiaux, cela ne sera pas considéré comme une APP.
  • En présence de symptômes parkinsoniens tels que raideurs ou tremblements, l’APP est exclue.

Traitement

Il n'y a pas de remède ou de médicament pour l'APP. Cependant, il existe des thérapies logopédiques qui aident à améliorer et à maintenir la capacité de communication du patient.

Ces thérapies se concentrent sur les efforts de la personne pour compenser la détérioration des compétences linguistiques . De cette façon, bien que l'évolution de la maladie ne puisse être stoppée, la maladie peut être contrôlée.

Évolution et pronostic

Bien que le PPP puisse toucher une large tranche d’âge, il est plus susceptible de se produire chez les personnes âgées de 50 à 70 ans. . Comme mentionné ci-dessus, pour l'instant, il n'y a pas de traitement curatif pour le PPP, donc le pronostic de cette maladie est quelque peu démoralisant.

Une fois la maladie établie, ce trouble aphasique a tendance à évoluer de manière à conduire éventuellement à des cas graves de mutisme. Mais contrairement aux autres démences, le patient devient dépendant beaucoup plus tard.

En ce qui concerne la présence d'autres déficits supplémentaires, la langue est la seule manifestation clinique ou, du moins, la plus prédominante. Mais s'il y a des cas d'autres altérations au niveau cognitif, comportemental, extrapyramidal, etc. Cependant, on ignore à quelle fréquence les démences se généralisent au cours de l'évolution de la maladie.


Aphasie : bilan patient aphasique (aphasie Broca, Wernicke, globale) - examen neurologique (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes