yes, therapy helps!
Toxic marriages: 10 signals to detect them

Toxic marriages: 10 signals to detect them

January 29, 2024

Getting married and forming a family is a goal and desire of many people, because the idea of ​​getting married is practically a social level imposition. But marriage, in many cases, can be a very rewarding experience. Without a doubt, finding that person that makes you so happy and with whom spending the rest of your life by your side is really sensational.

But nevertheless, Marriages do not always come out as one expects , and the suffering they cause while living this type of toxic relationship can seriously affect their emotional health. Toxic marriages exist, and in this article we explain 11 signs to detect them.

  • Related article: "The 4 types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Signs to detect a toxic marriage

A toxic marriage is one in which the rights of some member of the relationship seem to disappear, and the relationship is characterized by constant suffering and conflict . It is usual that when people are immersed in this toxic situation, they are not really aware of it, largely due to inertia, custom and because, in many cases, there is a certain emotional dependence on the spouse.


Below you can find a list of signs that indicate if you are living a toxic marriage. However, it is necessary to emphasize that all couples can go through bad stages and that the manifestation of any of these characteristics in a timely manner does not necessarily refer to a toxic marriage. That said, the signs to detect a toxic marriage are the following.

1. Dependence and emotional codependence

Emotional dependence turns marriage into an asymmetric relationship, and causes one of the two members to gain ground and exercise control over the other. The cause of this phenomenon is usually found in the insecurity of the dependent person, who is unable to connect with himself, and his happiness depends on others, causing a great fixation or addiction to the couple.


Emotional codependence, however, despite being a phenomenon as harmful as the previous one, occurs when a member of the couple is "addicted" to the dependence of their partner, that is, the need to help and care for their welfare . It is a kind of controller and manipulator, but more silent. Both phenomena interfere in the proper functioning of the marriage and, therefore, cause much pain to the spouses .

  • Related article: "11 characteristic symptoms of emotional codependence"

2. Possessive and control behaviors

In the toxic marriages there are certain behaviors of control and possession on the part of one of the members of the couple . This one exerts a great influence on the other, who loses voice and opinion in the relationship and observes how his freedom is affected. For example, the decisions of the marriage are usually of a single member, who controls the accounts and the expenses of the other and even their social networks. All decisions go through him, and he is usually aggressive if the other gives his opinion about it.


3. Limited social life

Limited social life is also characteristic of toxic marriages , so that one or both members of the couple no longer have close ties with other people. This may occur as a result of the aforementioned control behaviors, but also due to excessive emotional dependence or fixation by the couple. Healthy behaviors are those in which the members of the couple continue to maintain their own space, and that includes, among other things, having their own friendships.

4. Latticework

One of the toxic behaviors that causes the most damage in marriages is jealousy. The low self-esteem is usually one of the origins of this type of behavior, which make in the mind of the jealous unfounded beliefs arise about reality and, consequently, they carry out obsessive behaviors. Jealousy causes suffering to both spouses, and with the passage of time they make the marriage become a hell.

To a greater or lesser extent it is possible to experience a certain degree of latticework when we care about someone. But in a marriage of this kind toxic jealousy can manifest, for example, with behaviors such as: when a spouse constantly asks about the schedules and questions the facts of their partner, gets angry when the other spends time with friends, controls the messages of facebook secretly and is even able to go in search of the other spouse when he doubts his word.

5. Frequent conflicts

Logically, all these previous points lead to frequent conflicts . But, in addition, the communication in this type of marriages is usually inefficient and, therefore, can cause serious relational problems.In the toxic relationship, a climate of tolerance is not breathed and reconciliation is not encouraged, but quite the opposite: the problem tends to grow larger and the suffering increases.

6. It makes you suffer

Therefore, toxic marriages cause a lot of suffering and pain . And the more time spent in the relationship of this type, the worse may be the emotional level or the self-esteem of one of the two spouses. Since the relationship is asymmetric, it is inevitable that suffering appears.

7. Handling

Manipulative behaviors and emotional blackmail frequently appear in toxic marriages , because one of the two members acts in accordance with their interests, and blames, annoys and causes fear to the other.

The causes of these behaviors can be varied, but usually due to low self-esteem, which makes one of the spouses constantly seek confirmation of the love of their partner, causing demonstrations that the other person will not leave.

  • To deepen this topic, I invite you to read our article: "Emotional blackmail: a powerful form of manipulation in the couple"

8. Loss of personal growth

People who live immersed in a toxic marriage stop growing as people. Either because they are emotionally dependent, because suffering can or because they enjoy a fragile self-esteem. The truth is that they put aside personal development behaviors and they drown in the toxic dynamics of marriage .

9. Disrespect

Respect is basic in any type of relationship, be it a couple, family or friendship. When respect is lost, it is impossible for the relationship to work and for the spouses to be happy in the marriage . The lack of respect can manifest itself in different ways, for example: when one of the members of the marriage constantly humiliates the other both in public and in private or simply is not interested in the achievements of their partner.

10. Obsession for the relationship

Toxic relationships end up becoming a vicious circle from which it is difficult to leave. Low self-esteem and emotional dependence cause that, despite the suffering, the spouses continue together, eroding more and more the relationship.

These can become obsessed with the relationship , so that no one breathes and there is neither respect nor communication and, therefore, love disappears and conflicts are present again and again.


10 Early Signs of a Toxic Relationship (January 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mariages toxiques: 10 signaux pour les détecter

Mariages toxiques: 10 signaux pour les détecter

Septembre 3, 2022

Se marier et fonder une famille est un objectif et un désir de nombreuses personnes, car l’idée de se marier est pratiquement une imposition de niveau social. Mais dans de nombreux cas, le mariage peut être une expérience très enrichissante. Trouver la personne qui vous rend si heureuse et avec qui passer le reste de votre vie à vos côtés est sans aucun doute sensationnel.

Cependant, Les mariages ne sortent pas toujours comme on s'y attend et les souffrances qu’ils causent en vivant avec ce type de relation toxique peuvent sérieusement affecter leur santé émotionnelle. Les mariages toxiques existent et, dans cet article, nous expliquons 11 signes pour les détecter.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Signes pour détecter un mariage toxique

Un mariage toxique est un mariage dans lequel les droits d’un membre de la relation semblent disparaître et la relation est caractérisée par des souffrances et des conflits constants . Il est habituel que lorsque les gens sont plongés dans cette situation toxique, ils ne le sachent pas vraiment, en grande partie à cause de l'inertie, de la coutume et parce que, dans de nombreux cas, il existe une certaine dépendance affective à l'égard du conjoint.


Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de signes indiquant si vous vivez un mariage toxique. Cependant, il est nécessaire de souligner que tous les couples peuvent traverser de mauvaises étapes et que la manifestation de l'une de ces caractéristiques en temps voulu ne fait pas nécessairement référence à un mariage toxique. Cela dit, les signes pour détecter un mariage toxique sont les suivants.

1. Dépendance et codépendance émotionnelle

La dépendance émotionnelle transforme le mariage en une relation asymétrique et amène l'un des deux membres à gagner du terrain et à exercer un contrôle sur l'autre. La cause de ce phénomène se trouve généralement dans l'insécurité de la personne dépendante, qui est incapable de se connecter avec elle-même, et son bonheur dépend des autres, ce qui provoque une grande fixation ou dépendance du couple.


Cependant, bien qu’il s’agisse d’un phénomène aussi néfaste que le précédent, la codépendance émotionnelle se produit lorsqu'un membre du couple est "accro" à la dépendance de son partenaire, c’est-à-dire au besoin d’aider et de prendre soin de son bien-être. . C'est une sorte de contrôleur et de manipulateur, mais plus silencieux. Les deux phénomènes interfèrent dans le bon fonctionnement du mariage et causent donc beaucoup de peine aux époux. .

  • Article connexe: "11 symptômes caractéristiques de la codépendance émotionnelle"

2. Comportement possessif et contrôle

Dans les mariages toxiques, il existe certains comportements de contrôle et de possession de la part de l'un des membres du couple . Celui-ci exerce une grande influence sur l'autre, qui perd la voix et l'opinion dans la relation et observe comment sa liberté est affectée. Par exemple, les décisions du mariage concernent généralement un seul membre, qui contrôle les comptes et les dépenses de l’autre et même de ses réseaux sociaux. Toutes les décisions passent par lui, et il est généralement agressif si l'autre donne son avis à ce sujet.


3. Vie sociale limitée

La vie sociale limitée est aussi caractéristique des mariages toxiques , afin qu’un des membres du couple ou les deux n’aient plus de liens étroits avec d’autres personnes. Cela peut être dû aux comportements de contrôle susmentionnés, mais également à une dépendance émotionnelle excessive ou à la fixation par le couple. Les comportements sains sont ceux dans lesquels les membres du couple continuent de conserver leur espace, ce qui inclut, entre autres, le fait de créer leurs propres amitiés.

4. treillis

L'un des comportements toxiques qui cause le plus de dommages dans les mariages est la jalousie. La faible estime de soi est généralement l’une des origines de ce type de comportement, qui fait naître dans l’esprit des croyances jalouses non fondées sur la réalité et, par conséquent, des comportements obsessionnels. La jalousie fait souffrir les deux époux et, avec le temps, ils font du mariage un véritable enfer.

Dans une plus ou moins grande mesure, il est possible de faire l'expérience d'un certain degré de travail en réseau lorsque nous nous soucions de quelqu'un. Mais dans un mariage de ce genre, la jalousie toxique peut se manifester, par exemple, avec des comportements tels que: quand un époux pose constamment des questions sur les horaires et remet en question les faits de son partenaire, se fâche quand l'autre passe du temps avec des amis, contrôle les messages de facebook secrètement et est même capable d'aller à la recherche de l'autre conjoint quand il doute de sa parole.

5. Conflits fréquents

Logiquement, tous ces points précédents conduisent à de fréquents conflits . Mais, en outre, la communication dans ce type de mariage est généralement inefficace et peut donc causer de graves problèmes relationnels.Dans la relation toxique, un climat de tolérance n’est pas respiré et la réconciliation n’est pas encouragée, bien au contraire: le problème tend à s’aggraver et la souffrance à s’accroître.

6. ça te fait souffrir

Par conséquent, les mariages toxiques causent beaucoup de souffrance et de douleur . Et plus le temps passé dans une relation de ce type est long, plus le niveau émotionnel ou l'estime de soi d'un des deux conjoints peut être pire. Comme la relation est asymétrique, il est inévitable que la souffrance apparaisse.

7. Manipulation

Les comportements de manipulation et le chantage émotionnel apparaissent fréquemment dans les mariages toxiques , parce que l’un des deux membres agit conformément à leurs intérêts et blâme, agace et fait peur à l’autre.

Les causes de ces comportements peuvent être variées, mais généralement en raison d'une faible estime de soi, ce qui pousse l'un des conjoints à rechercher constamment la confirmation de l'amour de leur partenaire, provoquant ainsi des manifestations que l'autre personne ne quittera pas.

  • Pour approfondir ce sujet, je vous invite à lire notre article: "Chantage émotionnel: une puissante forme de manipulation dans le couple"

8. Perte de croissance personnelle

Les personnes qui vivent dans un mariage toxique cessent de grandir en tant que personnes. Soit parce qu'ils sont émotionnellement dépendants, soit parce qu'ils souffrent, soit parce qu'ils jouissent d'une estime de soi fragile. La vérité est qu'ils ont mis de côté les comportements de développement personnel et ils se noient dans la dynamique toxique du mariage .

9. manque de respect

Le respect est fondamental dans tout type de relation, que ce soit un couple, une famille ou une amitié. Quand le respect est perdu, il est impossible pour la relation de travailler et pour que les époux soient heureux dans le mariage . Le manque de respect peut se manifester de différentes manières, par exemple: lorsqu'un des membres du mariage humilie constamment l'autre en public ou en privé, ou ne s'intéresse tout simplement pas aux réalisations de leur partenaire.

10. Obsession pour la relation

Les relations toxiques finissent par devenir un cercle vicieux d'où il est difficile de sortir. Une faible estime de soi et une dépendance émotive font que, malgré la souffrance, les époux continuent à vivre ensemble, érodant de plus en plus la relation.

Ceux-ci peuvent devenir obsédés par la relation , afin que personne ne respire et qu’il n’y ait ni respect ni communication et que, par conséquent, l’amour disparaisse et les conflits reviennent encore et encore.


10 Signes Précoces D'une Relation Toxique (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes