yes, therapy helps!
Vocational Guidance: what it is and what it is for

Vocational Guidance: what it is and what it is for

June 25, 2022

Vocational guidance has recently positioned itself as one of the necessary tools to ensure a successful professional life. In the above have participated the knowledge of different disciplines, such as psychology, pedagogy, business administration, among others. At present, vocational guidance is even one of the areas most worked with young people in pre-university age.

Next we will see what vocational guidance is and what its main objectives and tools are.

  • Related article: "The 5 benefits of teamwork"

What is vocational guidance?

The word vocation means "related to vocation". In turn, "vocation" means special inclination or inspiration to adopt a way of life . The latter based on a conviction and important identification towards what is adopted.


On the other hand, the term "orientation" refers to the action of placing something in a certain position. In this context, guidance is also the act of informing someone about an issue, so that such information serves as a guide or guide to take action .

The above has been specifically transferred to the choice of a professional career, since in large part, this is what marks a long-term life trajectory, at least in the industrialized countries.

Thus, vocational guidance can be understood as a process that helps the choice of profession (Vidal and Fernández, 2009). It deals with the activity in charge of covering the needs that prepare said election, and that goes from favoring the knowledge of one's own interests to the evaluation of the real possibilities of access to its exercise, its evaluation and its follow-up.


It is also a set of knowledge and practices that seek to ensure that young adults are trained in professional activities that correspond to their personal interest, and at the same time, ensure efficient performance in their future work environments.

This process is not only aimed at incorporating a young adult into the professional workforce and guiding it during their exercise, but also requires recognize the interest of the person and facilitate their learning about the work environment .

It's components

We have seen that vocational guidance is not a process solely centered on the individual. Because vocational guidance is strongly focused on favoring and broadening work and professional opportunities, this orientation should also know the real opportunities for access to the labor market , its relationship with the different study programs and the skills or competences that are necessary to access them.


So we can speak of two specific dimensions and necessary for the exercise of vocational guidance: one focused on knowing the individual, and the other focused on knowing the characteristics of the environment where their professional development is expected to occur.

1. Explore the interests of the person

In the context of vocational guidance it is common for the interests of the person they are explored from the application of psychometric tests , and sometimes, from in-depth interviews. The first allow evaluating from the different personality profiles, attitudes or performance, to specific preferences.

For the most part, these tests determine a range of possibilities with which it is possible to consider, for example, If the person has the necessary skills to perform the work of interest , or if, on the contrary, the profession of their interest does not correspond with their abilities or with their real possibilities of success. Thus, there are usually a series of options that are arranged from highest to lowest, and from which the person can make certain decisions. This is how these tools seek precisely to guide the decision of the person.

Then, the vocational guidance consists of providing all the information that allows the individual to recognize their own interests, abilities and areas of opportunity, or in some cases, also facilitate the recognition of the competencies that need to be strengthened in order to insert themselves in a specific labor context. or long term.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

2. Analyze the characteristics of the context

On the other hand, it may happen that the interests of the person correspond to their abilities or available skills to carry out the professional activity of interest. But, not necessarily the opportunities of access to this activity correspond to interests or skills .

In this sense, part of the vocational orientation consists of evaluating precisely the real opportunities of access and making them see the interested person, so that she herself is the one who proposes the alternatives that she considers pertinent.

The information and tools that help meet this need range from sociodemographic studies that show the number of professionals exercising a specific activity, to labor and market studies where it is possible to see which professions are more or less competitive, or with greater or lesser possibility of economic remuneration, or what is the economic cost of studying certain professions, among other characteristics.

Bibliographic references:

  • Vidal, M. and Fernández, B. (2009). Vocational orientation. Higher Secondary Education (23) 2: 1-11.

Monty Python - Vocational Guidance Counsellor (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Orientation professionnelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et à quoi ça sert

Orientation professionnelle: qu'est-ce que c'est et à quoi ça sert

Janvier 26, 2023

L’orientation professionnelle s’est récemment positionnée comme l’un des outils nécessaires au succès de la vie professionnelle. Dans ce qui précède ont participé à la connaissance de différentes disciplines, telles que la psychologie, la pédagogie, la gestion des affaires, entre autres. Actuellement, L'orientation professionnelle est même l'un des domaines les plus travaillés avec les jeunes en âge pré-universitaire.

Nous verrons ensuite ce qu'est l'orientation professionnelle et quels sont ses principaux objectifs et outils.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 avantages du travail d'équipe"

Qu'est-ce que l'orientation professionnelle?

Le mot vocation signifie "lié à la vocation". A son tour, "vocation" signifie inclination ou inspiration particulière pour adopter un mode de vie . Ce dernier repose sur une conviction et une identification importante vers ce qui est adopté.


Par ailleurs, le terme "orientation" désigne l'action de placer quelque chose dans une certaine position. Dans ce contexte, l’orientation consiste également à informer une personne d’un problème, que ces informations servent de guide ou de guide pour prendre des mesures .

Ce qui précède a été spécifiquement transféré au choix d’une carrière professionnelle, car c’est en grande partie ce qui marque une trajectoire de vie à long terme, du moins dans les pays industrialisés.

Ainsi, l’orientation professionnelle peut être comprise comme un processus qui aide le choix du métier (Vidal et Fernández, 2009). Il s’agit de l’activité chargée de couvrir les besoins qui préparent ladite élection et cela va de la promotion de la connaissance de ses propres intérêts à l’évaluation des possibilités réelles d’accès à son exercice, son évaluation et son suivi.


C'est également un ensemble de connaissances et de pratiques visant à garantir que les jeunes adultes sont formés à des activités professionnelles correspondant à leurs intérêts personnels, tout en garantissant une performance efficace dans leurs futurs environnements de travail.

Ce processus ne vise pas seulement à intégrer un jeune adulte dans l’effectif professionnel et à le guider tout au long de leur exercice, mais nécessite également: reconnaître l'intérêt de la personne et faciliter son apprentissage du milieu de travail .

Ses composants

Nous avons vu que l’orientation professionnelle n’est pas un processus uniquement centré sur l’individu. L’orientation professionnelle étant fortement axée sur la promotion et l’élargissement des opportunités professionnelles et professionnelles, cette orientation devrait également: connaître les véritables opportunités d'accès au marché du travail , sa relation avec les différents programmes d’études et les aptitudes ou compétences nécessaires pour y accéder.


Nous pouvons donc parler de deux dimensions spécifiques nécessaires à l'exercice de l'orientation professionnelle: l'une axée sur la connaissance de l'individu et l'autre sur la connaissance des caractéristiques de l'environnement dans lequel leur développement professionnel est attendu.

1. Explorer les intérêts de la personne

Dans le contexte de l'orientation professionnelle, il est courant que l'intérêt de la personne ils sont explorés à partir de l'application de tests psychométriques , et parfois d’entrevues approfondies. Les premiers permettent d’évaluer les différents profils de personnalité, attitudes ou performances, en fonction de préférences spécifiques.

Pour la plupart, ces tests déterminent un éventail de possibilités avec lesquelles il est possible d’envisager, par exemple, Si la personne a les compétences nécessaires pour effectuer le travail qui l'intéresse ou si, au contraire, la profession qui les intéresse ne correspond pas à leurs capacités ni à leurs possibilités réelles de succès. Ainsi, il existe généralement une série d'options organisées du plus haut au plus bas et à partir desquelles la personne peut prendre certaines décisions. C’est ainsi que ces outils cherchent précisément à guider la décision de la personne.

Ensuite, l'orientation professionnelle consiste à fournir toutes les informations permettant à l'individu de reconnaître ses propres intérêts, capacités et possibilités, ou, dans certains cas, de faciliter la reconnaissance des compétences qui doivent être renforcées pour s'intégrer dans un contexte de travail spécifique. ou à long terme.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les types de tests psychologiques: leurs fonctions et leurs caractéristiques"

2. Analyser les caractéristiques du contexte

Par ailleurs, il peut arriver que les intérêts de la personne correspondent à ses capacités ou aux compétences disponibles pour mener à bien l’activité d’intérêt professionnel. Mais pas nécessairement les opportunités d'accès à cette activité correspondent à des intérêts ou des compétences .

En ce sens, une partie de l'orientation professionnelle consiste à évaluer précisément les possibilités d'accès réelles et à les faire voir la personne intéressée, de sorte qu'elle soit elle-même celle qui propose les alternatives qu'elle considère pertinentes.

Les informations et outils permettant de répondre à ce besoin vont d’études sociodémographiques montrant le nombre de professionnels exerçant une activité donnée à études du travail et du marché où il est possible de voir quelles professions sont plus ou moins compétitives, ou avec plus ou moins de possibilité de rémunération économique, ou quel est le coût économique d'étudier certaines professions, entre autres caractéristiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Vidal, M. et Fernández, B. (2009). Orientation professionnelle. Enseignement secondaire supérieur (23) 2: 1-11.

Orientation : que faire quand je ne sais pas quoi faire ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes