yes, therapy helps!
What types of intelligence help to be a good leader?

What types of intelligence help to be a good leader?

May 10, 2021

The ability to lead is a highly valued competition in today's society . In a world as competitive as ours, it is essential to be able to guide and motivate others towards the achievement of certain objectives, make them see that common objectives are compatible with their own and the need to ascribe and comply with them.

In this aspect, a high level of intelligence would seem to be very useful to represent the role of leader, since it is easy to assume that the more intelligent the person is, the more effectively he / she plays the role of leader. But is this really so?

Important intelligences in the leader

The logic and data obtained through various studies dictate that general intelligence (measured by the Intellectual Quotient) is useful when establishing a leadership, since a high level of intelligence allows a better situational analysis and consideration of alternatives .


However, this relationship between intelligence and efficient leadership has been found in a correlation between small and moderate. On the contrary, it is relatively frequent that those who are considered as geniuses in the intellectual do not turn out to be good leaders. This is because having high intellectual abilities does not guarantee that in critical situations one has the ability to overcome and know how to lead the group.

In fact, sometimes a greater intellectual capacity can produce counterproductive results , producing a leadership ineffective that ends up being ignored, in the case of situations in which the leader has much more capacity than the subordinates.


This is partly due to the emotional distance created by the difference between abilities and the fact that intelligence is a general construct that refers to a set of capabilities, it does not have to be similar to the set of skills needed to lead . For example, having a high IQ does not imply the ability to motivate and know how to treat people under their charge. What really implies greater effectiveness in leadership is the sense of competence and experience that the leader has.

Types of leadership

The studies carried out by different authors seem to demonstrate the existence of different types of leadership within the same group. Apart from these two types, depending on how the power is exercised, different styles of leadership can be found (one of the most outstanding being the transformational).

1. Leader focused on the task

Leader focused on meeting objectives and in production . It is a type of leader who specializes in the task to be carried out, being an expert component in charge of mobilizing the available resources. Although they raise productivity, the perception of workers towards them is usually negative.


This type of leader can have a very high academic and general intelligence, and tends to be poorly accepted by subordinates, which in spite of raising productivity in the long run can also increase unrealized productivity.

2. Social-emotional leader

This type of leader tends to focus his performance on the employee , achieving the maintenance of a stable and functional work network, establishing collaboration strategies among employees and helping to reduce tensions. They minimize unrealized productivity and tend to have greater appreciation and information than other types of leaders.

What makes a leadership efficient?

The researcher Fred Fiedler elaborated what is known as the contingency model, according to which the effectiveness of the leader is determined by the leadership style and situational control . This last element depends on the structuring of the task, the power of the leader and his relationship with the subordinates, the latter being the element of greatest relevance when it comes to producing an effect on the effectiveness of leadership.

Task-centered leaders are very useful in situations where situational control is very low or very high, while in intermediate situations the social-emotional leaders seem to work better. This differentiation shows that there is no more efficient leadership than another, but that The type of leadership indicated will depend on the type of activities and activity characteristics , company, goal, leader and staff.

The intelligence applied to effective leadership

As mentioned above, for a leadership to be considered efficient it is essential to take into account the type of relationship maintained with the subordinates, since the leader-subordinate relationship does not cease to be an interpersonal bond.

In this sense, general intelligence is not as relevant as one of several diverse intelligences, emotional intelligence and interpersonal intelligence, which are much better predictors of efficient leadership than the measure of general intelligence.

A charismatic leader with a high level of emotional intelligence will show a remarkable ability to communicate positively affecting the emotionality of the worker. This ability allows you to collaborate with subordinates to help them make decisions, make each one's performance as necessary and contribute to making the need to change attitudes and beliefs based on emotional regulation and empathy.

However, although this type of intelligence is fundamental to good leadership, the type of intelligence that best predicts the success of a leader is social intelligence. This type of intelligence refers to the ability to understand, participate and manage social situations, both formal and informal, as well as be able to visualize and deepen the perspectives of others . It also allows influencing others.

Despite all the above, we must bear in mind that the level of intelligence, both social and emotional as well as general, is an advantage in order to establish a clear, effective and efficient leadership.

conclusion

In short, intelligence plays an important role in establishing and maintaining a positive and functional leadership. Especially relevant in this aspect are social or interpersonal intelligence and emotional .

However, the presence of high intellectual capacities does not imply per se a better leadership, but the effectiveness of the leader will depend on many factors, derived both from the leader and the staff, activity and situation, being in fact better predictor of success. experience of the leader in the handling of the different situations.

Bibliographic references:

  • Goleman, D. (2006). Social intelligence The new science of human relations. Editorial Kairos, Madrid.
  • Riggio, R.E., Murphy, S.E., & Pirozzolo, F.J. (2002). Multiple intelligences and leadership. Erlbaum
  • Bass, Bernard M. (2008). The handbook of leadership (4th ed., With Ruth Bass). Free Press
  • Peir√≥, J.M. (1991). Psychology of the Organization. Volumes 1 and 2. UNED, Madrid.
  • Palac√≠, F. (2004). Psychology of the Organization. Ed. Pearson Prentice Hall. Madrid.

Emotional Intelligence: How Good Leaders Become Great -- UC Davis Executive Leadership Program (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quels types de renseignements aident à être un bon leader?

Quels types de renseignements aident à être un bon leader?

Mars 2, 2021

La capacité à diriger est une compétition hautement valorisée dans la société d'aujourd'hui . Dans un monde aussi compétitif que le nôtre, il est essentiel de pouvoir guider et motiver les autres vers la réalisation de certains objectifs, de leur faire comprendre que les objectifs communs sont compatibles avec les leurs et avec la nécessité de les attribuer et de les respecter.

Dans cet aspect, un haut niveau d'intelligence semblerait très utile pour représenter le rôle de leader, car il est facile de supposer que plus la personne est intelligente, plus elle joue efficacement le rôle de leader. Mais est-ce vraiment comme ça?

Intelligences importantes dans le chef

La logique et les données obtenues à travers diverses études indiquent que l'intelligence générale (mesurée par le quotient intellectuel) est utile pour établir un leadership, car un haut niveau d'intelligence permet une meilleure analyse de la situation et une meilleure prise en compte des alternatives .


Cependant, cette relation entre intelligence et leadership efficace a été trouvée dans une corrélation entre petit et modéré. Au contraire, il est relativement fréquent que ceux qui sont considérés comme des génies dans l'intellectuel ne se révèlent pas être de bons dirigeants. En effet, avoir de grandes capacités intellectuelles ne garantit pas que dans des situations critiques, on a la capacité de vaincre et de savoir diriger le groupe.

En fait parfois, une plus grande capacité intellectuelle peut produire des résultats contre-productifs , produisant un leadership inefficace qui finit par être ignoré, dans le cas de situations dans lesquelles le leader a beaucoup plus de capacités que les subordonnés.


Ceci est en partie dû à la distance émotionnelle créée par la différence entre les capacités et au fait que l'intelligence est une construction générale qui fait référence à un ensemble de capacités, il n'est pas nécessaire qu'elle soit similaire à l'ensemble de compétences nécessaires pour diriger. . Par exemple, avoir un QI élevé n'implique pas la capacité de motiver et de savoir comment traiter les personnes sous leur responsabilité. Ce qui implique réellement une plus grande efficacité du leadership, c'est le sens des compétences et de l'expérience du leader.

Types de leadership

Les études réalisées par différents auteurs semblent démontrer l’existence de différents types de leadership au sein d’un même groupe. En dehors de ces deux types, en fonction de la manière dont le pouvoir est exercé, différents styles de leadership peuvent être trouvés (l'un des plus remarquables étant la transformation).

1. Leader concentré sur la tâche

Leader centré sur l'atteinte des objectifs et en production . C'est un type de leader spécialisé dans la tâche à accomplir, constituant un élément expert chargé de la mobilisation des ressources disponibles. Bien qu'ils augmentent la productivité, la perception des travailleurs à leur égard est généralement négative.


Ce type de dirigeant peut avoir une très grande intelligence académique et générale et a tendance à être mal accepté par ses subordonnés, ce qui, en dépit d’une augmentation de la productivité à long terme, peut également augmenter la productivité non réalisée.

2. Leader social-émotionnel

Ce type de leader a tendance à concentrer sa performance sur l'employé , assurant le maintien d’un réseau de travail stable et fonctionnel, établissant des stratégies de collaboration entre les employés et contribuant à réduire les tensions. Ils minimisent la productivité non réalisée et ont tendance à avoir une appréciation et des informations plus grandes que les autres types de dirigeants.

Qu'est-ce qui rend un leadership efficace?

Le chercheur Fred Fiedler a élaboré ce que l’on appelle le modèle de contingence, selon lequel l'efficacité du leader est déterminée par le style de leadership et le contrôle de la situation . Ce dernier élément dépend de la structuration de la tâche, du pouvoir du dirigeant et de ses relations avec les subordonnés, ces derniers étant l’élément le plus pertinent pour produire un effet sur l’efficacité du leadership.

Les leaders centrés sur les tâches sont très utiles dans les situations où le contrôle de la situation est très faible ou très élevé, tandis que dans les situations intermédiaires, les leaders socio-émotionnels semblent mieux fonctionner. Cette différenciation montre qu’il n’existe pas de leadership plus efficace, mais que Le type de leadership indiqué dépendra du type d’activité et de ses caractéristiques. , entreprise, objectif, leader et personnel.

L'intelligence appliquée à un leadership efficace

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, pour qu'un leadership soit considéré comme efficace, il est essentiel de prendre en compte le type de relation entretenue avec les subordonnés, car la relation leader-subordonné ne cesse pas d'être un lien interpersonnel.

En ce sens, l’intelligence générale n’est pas aussi pertinente que l’une des intelligences diverses, l’intelligence émotionnelle et l’intelligence interpersonnelle, qui sont bien mieux prédicteurs d’un leadership efficace que la mesure de l’intelligence générale.

Un leader charismatique doté d'un haut niveau d'intelligence émotionnelle démontrera une capacité remarquable à communiquer positivement affectant l'émotivité du travailleur. Cette capacité vous permet de collaborer avec des subordonnés pour les aider à prendre des décisions, à exécuter chaque performance si nécessaire et à contribuer à créer le besoin de changer les attitudes et les croyances en fonction de la régulation émotionnelle et de l'empathie.

Cependant, bien que ce type d'intelligence soit fondamental pour un bon leadership, l'intelligence sociale est le type d'intelligence qui prédit le mieux le succès d'un dirigeant. Ce type d'intelligence fait référence à la capacité de comprendre, de participer et de gérer des situations sociales, formelles et informelles, ainsi que être capable de visualiser et d'approfondir les perspectives des autres . Cela permet également d'influencer les autres.

Malgré tout ce qui précède, nous devons garder à l'esprit que le niveau d'intelligence, à la fois social et émotionnel, ainsi que général, est un avantage pour établir un leadership clair, efficace et efficient.

conclusion

En bref, l'intelligence joue un rôle important dans l'établissement et le maintien d'un leadership positif et fonctionnel. L’intelligence sociale ou interpersonnelle et les émotions sont particulièrement importantes à cet égard. .

Cependant, la présence de capacités intellectuelles élevées n'implique pas nécessairement un meilleur leadership, mais l'efficacité du leader dépendra de nombreux facteurs, liés à la fois au leader et au personnel, à l'activité et à la situation, qui sont en fait un meilleur prédicteur du succès. expérience du leader dans le traitement des différentes situations.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Goleman, D. (2006). Intelligence sociale La nouvelle science des relations humaines. Éditorial Kairos, Madrid.
  • Riggio, R.E., Murphy, S.E., & Pirozzolo, F.J. (2002). Multiples intelligences et leadership. Erlbaum
  • Bass, Bernard M. (2008). Le manuel du leadership (4e éd., Avec Ruth Bass). Presse gratuite
  • Peiró, J.M. (1991). Psychologie de l'organisation. Volumes 1 et 2. UNED, Madrid.
  • Palací, F. (2004). Psychologie de l'organisation. Ed. Pearson Prentice Hall. Madrid

Myron C. Fagan - Les Illuminati et le CFR (1967) (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes