yes, therapy helps!
Why are there people who do not know how to express love?

Why are there people who do not know how to express love?

June 3, 2022

The world of love and relationships is already complicated, but there are times when dealing with it becomes even more difficult for problems of expression and communication .

In fact, for some people something as simple (theoretically) as saying "I love you" can become a challenge. In part, this may be due to fear of commitment, but it may also have to do with difficulties expressing feelings in general. Then we will see what happens when the love life stumbles upon this second obstacle.

  • Maybe you're interested: Empathy, much more than putting yourself in the other's shoes

When love is a hollow word

Imagine that the word love does not mean anything to you , and that the same thing happens with hatred, fear, guilt, or happiness. When you listen to them they sound empty, devoid of the emotional tinge that characterizes them. Feelings are just more words to add to the dictionary, hollow words, you know what they mean because you've learned it, but they do not tell you anything.


You do not know how to interpret emotions, maybe you know that you feel bad in general, but you can not specify if you are sad, angry, scared, etc. You do not know if you're in love or have ever been, never been born to say "I love you" . You do not understand the looks, the gestures, the silences, the non-verbal language is another puzzle that you can not decipher.

Although it seems a curious and rare phenomenon, the Spanish Society of Neurology estimates that, at least according to prevalence studies, 10% of the world population suffers from this situation, that is, one in 10 people have a psychological condition called alexitimia .

Characteristics of alexithimia

The term alexithymia literally means "lack of words for feelings" and denotes a difficulty in identifying and verbally describing emotions and feelings in oneself and in others. This limitation in non-verbal language is also observed.


Some of the symptoms or characteristics of alexithymia are:

  • Difficulty identifying the different types of emotions and feelings.
  • Difficulty connecting emotions with physical or bodily sensations and expressing one's affections.
  • Constrained or restricted thinking style.
  • Difficulty detecting emotions in others and recognizing their facial or gestural signals.
  • Little or no fantasy, daydreams and imaginative activity.
  • Rigid communication style, posture and limited body expressions, without gestures, monotonous tone of voice and without intonation.

People too cold in relationships?

People with alexitimia they are often described by others as cold and distant . They lack empathy and often experience problems when they recognize and respond appropriately to the moods and feelings of the people around them, so family, couple and social relationships are often very affected.


In addition, they present a very pragmatic way of thinking, based on logic, where the affective aspects have no place . They have reduced capacity to enjoy and for them it is almost impossible to experience fantasies and dreams or to think imaginatively.

It is not the alexithymics that do not have emotions; they have them, their difficulty is that they can not recognize them and express them with words or gestures. The inability to express the affects causes them to somatize, presenting headaches, stomach pains, tachycardia, muscle tension, etc. They reflect in their physical state what they can not say with words or gestures . Therefore, alexithymic people find it very difficult to differentiate what emotions are from what bodily sensations are.

  • Related article: "Alexitimia: the inability to say" I love you ""

Types of difficulties to talk about feelings

Alexithymia can be divided into two categories-

1. Primary Alexithymia

It is related to organic factors . Here patients with Autism Spectrum Disorders would be framed. In fact, a high percentage of patients with autism spectrum disorders (between 80% and 90%) show features of alexithymia. It is also related to injuries or neurological diseases, such as stroke, multiple sclerosis, parkinson, etc.

In neurological terms, it may be due to a communication dysfunction between the limbic system (responsible for regulating emotions) and the neocortex (regulates abstract intelligence, reasoning and logic), or between the left hemisphere (it is responsible for language, logical reasoning, etc.) and law (is responsible for emotions, creativity, art, etc).

2. Secondary Alexithymia

Related to purely psychological factors, It is observed in people who have suffered emotional traumas , such as childhood abuse, situations of post-traumatic stress (war, sexual abuse, mistreatment, etc.), or simply that they have not had adequate emotional learning in childhood (children who have not been adequately taught to tag and identify your emotions).

It is also frequent in subjects with depression, cyclothymia, eating disorders, such as anorexia nervosa, or people with addictions. The secondary alexithymia, unlike the primary one, can be reversible through psychotherapy, and sometimes with the help of antidepressant drugs.

Treatment

Although people with alexithymia do not usually go to therapy, and if they do, it is because of the insistence of their immediate environment, cognitive-behavioral therapy and interpersonal therapy can help them develop their emotional awareness.

The main objective of psychological treatment it will help the patient to identify, label and properly understand emotions. It is important that they know how to endow emotions with meaning, verbalize them and identify the sensations associated with them.

It will also be necessary to compensate for the poor emotional regulation capacity by teaching the person to self-regulate emotionally , and adequately express the affections.


11 Proven Ways Dogs Say "I Love You" (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui ne savent pas comment exprimer leur amour?

Pourquoi y a-t-il des gens qui ne savent pas comment exprimer leur amour?

Mai 11, 2021

Le monde de l’amour et des relations est déjà compliqué, mais il est parfois difficile de traiter avec lui. problèmes d'expression et de communication .

En fait, pour certaines personnes, quelque chose d'aussi simple (théoriquement) que de dire "je t'aime" peut devenir un défi. Cela peut être dû en partie à la peur de l’engagement, mais aussi à la difficulté d’exprimer ses sentiments en général. Ensuite, nous verrons ce qui se passera lorsque la vie amoureuse tombera sur ce deuxième obstacle.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: l'empathie, bien plus que de se mettre à la place de l'autre

Quand l'amour est un mot creux

Imaginez que le mot amour ne vous dit rien et que la même chose arrive avec la haine, la peur, la culpabilité ou le bonheur. Quand vous les écoutez, ils paraissent vides, dépourvus de la nuance émotionnelle qui les caractérise. Les sentiments ne sont que plus de mots à ajouter au dictionnaire, des mots creux, vous savez ce qu’ils veulent dire parce que vous l’avez appris, mais ils ne vous disent rien.


Vous ne savez pas comment interpréter les émotions, peut-être savez-vous que vous vous sentez mal en général, mais vous ne pouvez pas spécifier si vous êtes triste, en colère, effrayé, etc. Vous ne savez pas si vous êtes amoureux ou avez déjà été, jamais né pour dire "je t'aime" . Vous ne comprenez pas les regards, les gestes, les silences, le langage non verbal est un autre casse-tête que vous ne pouvez pas déchiffrer.

Bien que cela semble un phénomène curieux et rare, la société espagnole de neurologie estime que, du moins selon les études de prévalence, 10% de la population mondiale souffre de cette situation, c'est-à-dire une personne sur 10 a une maladie psychologique appelée alexitimia .

Caractéristiques de l'alexithimie

Le terme alexithymie signifie littéralement "manque de mots pour exprimer des sentiments" et dénote une difficulté à identifier et à décrire verbalement des émotions et des sentiments en soi et chez les autres. Cette limitation en langage non verbal est également observée.


Certains des symptômes ou caractéristiques de alexithymia sont:

  • Difficulté à identifier les différents types d’émotions et de sentiments.
  • Difficulté à relier les émotions à des sensations physiques ou corporelles et à exprimer ses affections.
  • Style de pensée contraint ou restreint.
  • Difficulté à détecter les émotions chez les autres et à reconnaître leurs signaux faciaux ou gestuels.
  • Peu ou pas de fantaisie, de rêveries et d’activités imaginatives.
  • Style de communication rigide, posture et expressions corporelles limitées, sans gestes, ton de voix monotone et sans intonation.

Des gens trop froids dans les relations?

Les gens avec alexitimia ils sont souvent décrits par d'autres comme froids et distants . Ils manquent d'empathie et éprouvent souvent des problèmes lorsqu'ils reconnaissent l'humeur et les sentiments des gens qui les entourent et réagissent de manière appropriée. Ainsi, les relations familiales, de couple et sociales sont souvent très affectées.


En outre, ils présentent une façon de penser très pragmatique, basé sur la logique, où les aspects affectifs n'ont pas leur place . Ils ont une capacité réduite à apprécier et pour eux, il est presque impossible de faire l'expérience de fantasmes et de rêves ou de penser de façon imaginative.

Ce ne sont pas les alexithymiques qui n'ont pas d'émotions; ils les ont, leur difficulté est qu’ils ne peuvent pas les reconnaître et les exprimer avec des mots ou des gestes. L'incapacité à exprimer les affects provoque leur somatisation, présentant des maux de tête, des douleurs abdominales, une tachycardie, une tension musculaire, etc. Ils reflètent dans leur état physique ce qu’ils ne peuvent pas dire avec des mots ou des gestes . Par conséquent, les personnes alexithymiques ont beaucoup de difficulté à différencier ce que sont les émotions de ce que sont les sensations corporelles.

  • Article connexe: "Alexitimia: l'impossibilité de dire" je t'aime ""

Types de difficultés pour parler de sentiments

Alexithymia peut être divisé en deux catégories-

1. Alexithymie primaire

Il est lié à des facteurs organiques . Ici, les patients atteints de troubles du spectre autistique seraient encadrés. En fait, un pourcentage élevé de patients atteints de troubles du spectre autistique (entre 80% et 90%) présentent des signes d'alexithymie. Elle est également liée à des blessures ou à des maladies neurologiques telles que les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, la sclérose en plaques, le parkinson, etc.

En termes neurologiques, cela peut être dû à un dysfonctionnement de la communication entre le système limbique (responsable de la régulation des émotions) et le néocortex (régulateur de l'intelligence abstraite, du raisonnement et de la logique) logique (etc.) et du droit (est responsable des émotions, de la créativité, de l’art, etc.).

2. Alexithymie secondaire

Liés à des facteurs purement psychologiques, Il est observé chez les personnes qui ont subi des traumatismes émotionnels tels que la maltraitance dans l’enfance, les situations de stress post-traumatique (guerre, abus sexuel, maltraitance, etc.), ou tout simplement le fait qu’ils n’avaient pas bénéficié d’un apprentissage émotionnel adéquat dans leur enfance taguer et identifier vos émotions).

Il est également fréquent chez les sujets souffrant de dépression, de cyclothymie, de troubles de l'alimentation, tels que l'anorexie mentale ou les toxicomanes. L’alexithymie secondaire, contrairement à la première, peut être réversible par la psychothérapie, et parfois avec l’aide d’antidépresseurs.

Traitement

Bien que les personnes souffrant d'alexithymie ne suivent généralement pas de traitement, et que si c'est le cas, c'est en raison de l'insistance de leur environnement immédiat, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et la thérapie interpersonnelle peuvent les aider à développer leur conscience émotionnelle.

L'objectif principal du traitement psychologique cela aidera le patient à identifier, étiqueter et bien comprendre les émotions. Il est important qu'ils sachent donner du sens aux émotions, les verbaliser et identifier les sensations qui leur sont associées.

Il sera également nécessaire de compenser la faible capacité de régulation émotionnelle en enseignant à la personne à s'autoréguler émotionnellement et exprimer adéquatement les affections.


Pourquoi les gens sont ingrats avec moi ? - Mustafa Hosny (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes