yes, therapy helps!
How to be a good coach? The 11 competitions of the coach

How to be a good coach? The 11 competitions of the coach

June 17, 2024

Various associations have tried to define the competences of the coach that are necessary for the good performance of their work. The term competence is very widespread in the workplace since it is a predictor of good performance in the workplace where you work.

Although the concept of competence is used in the occupational field , is also used in other areas such as Personal Development and the education .

The coach's competences: what are they?

This article presents the 11 most extended coach competitions, and for this the list of the International Coach Federation (ICF). These competencies have been established for different purposes: to provide a reference framework for good professional performance or to compare and improve a coaching training program.


  • To know more about the concept of competence, you can read our article: "How to face an interview by competences: 4 keys to get the job".

How to be a good coach

After clarifying that they are the skills of the coach, the following shows the skills, skills and attitudes necessary for a good professional work:

1. Respect ethical and deontological norms

This competence refers to the ability to understand professional ethics and standards of coaching, as well as adhering to the deontological code of the profession. Not only is it necessary to understand these norms and values, but it is necessary to apply them for good professional practice. In addition, the deontological code is specific and is an important aspect of coaching skills, as it clearly communicates the differences between coaching, consulting, psychotherapy and other support professions.


2. Establish the coaching agreement

It is the ability to understand what is required in each concrete interaction coach-coachee and establish an agreement with the client about the process and the coaching relationship . Therefore, the coache that dominates this competition understands and effectively presents the client with the guidelines and specific parameters of the coaching relationship (logistics, fees, schedule, third party participation, etc.). It also achieves an agreement about what is and what is not appropriate in the relationship, about the service that the coach will offer and the method that will be used.

3. Establish trust and intimacy with the client

It is the ability to create an enabling environment that Contribute to the development of respect and mutual trust . This competence is manifested because the coach shows genuine interest in the client, continuously demonstrates professional and personal integrity, establishes clear agreements, shows respect for the opinions of the client, supports the client in their decisions and respects the privacy of the coachee at all times. (client of the coach).


4. Being present in coaching

It is the ability to be fully aware and to create a spontaneous relationship with the client using a style Open, flexible and safe . The coach uses his intuition and trusts in his inner knowledge, is able to recognize that he does not know everything and shows confidence when dealing with strong emotions. The coach has the necessary self-control to guide the client without being overwhelmed.

5. Active listening

The coach knows how to focus completely on what the client says and does not understand, and understands the meaning of their words in context. This is one of the coach's competences that have to do with the communicative skills , since active listening pays more attention to what the client says, but also helps the coachee to express himself.

6. Question strongly

This is one of the competences of the most representative coach of his work, since he must perform powerful questions , that is, questions that reveal the information necessary to obtain the greatest benefit for the coachee. These types of questions make the coachee reflect, that is, they favor self-knowledge and self-reflection and help the client to commit to the action. In coaching, Socratic questions are used.

7. Direct communication

It is the ability to communicate effectively during coaching sessions and the ability to use language that is positive and efficient in the relationship with the coachee. The coach who dominates this type of competition performs a effective feedback It is clear and direct, clearly indicates the objectives of the coach-coachee relationship and uses appropriate and respectful language, fostering excellent rapport.

8. Create awareness

It is the ability to accurately integrate and evaluate different sources of information and to make interpretations that help the client to be aware and thus fulfill the agreed goals. The coach creates awareness in different ways, for example, proposing reflections in search of greater understanding on the part of the coachee or helping the coachee to identify limiting beliefs that do not allow you to grow.

9. Design actions

Ability to create continuous learning opportunities with the client during coaching and in work and life in general. This competition refers to the work of the coach what should provide the coachee with the knowledge of new actions that lead in the most effective way to the agreed results of the coaching. In this way, the coach helps the coachee to define new actions that allow him to demonstrate, deepen and acquire new learning. It also commits the client to explore new ideas and alternative situations, promoting opportunities for experiential learning.

10. Plan and establish goals and objectives

It is the ability to develop and maintain an effective coaching plan with the coachee. The coach consolidates the information collected and establishes a coaching plan to achieve the objectives. The objectives are achievable, measurable, specific and are achieved in a given time . The good coach has the ability to make adjustments to the planned and helps the client to access the resources necessary for the acquisition and fulfillment of goals.

11. Manage progress and responsibility

Within the competencies of the coach, is the ability to maintain attention on what is important to the client and to transfer the responsibility of the action to it. For it, the coach raises and asks the client for actions that direct him to the desired goal and planned, promotes the self-discipline of the coachee, gives efficient feedback and positively confronts the client when it does not comply with the agreed actions.


How To Choose a Bikini Competition | How To Find a Bikini Coach (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment être un bon entraîneur? Les 11 compétitions de l'entraîneur

Comment être un bon entraîneur? Les 11 compétitions de l'entraîneur

Juillet 21, 2022

Diverses associations ont tenté de définir les compétences du coach nécessaires à la bonne exécution de leur travail. Le terme de compétence est très répandu sur le lieu de travail car il permet de prédire la bonne performance sur le lieu de travail où vous travaillez.

Bien que le concept de compétence soit utilisé dans les domaine professionnel , est également utilisé dans d'autres domaines tels que développement du personnel et la éducation .

Les compétences du coach: de quoi s'agit-il?

Cet article présente les 11 compétitions d’entraîneurs les plus étendues, et pour cela la liste des Fédération Internationale de Coachn (ICF). Ces compétences ont été établies à différentes fins: fournir un cadre de référence pour de bonnes performances professionnelles ou comparer et améliorer un programme de formation de coaching.


  • Pour en savoir plus sur le concept de compétence, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Comment faire face à un entretien par compétences: 4 clés pour décrocher un emploi".

Comment être un bon entraîneur

Après avoir clarifié qu’il s’agit des compétences de l’entraîneur, vous trouverez ci-dessous les compétences, aptitudes et attitudes nécessaires à un bon travail professionnel:

1. Respecter les normes éthiques et déontologiques

Cette compétence fait référence à la capacité à comprendre l'éthique professionnelle et les normes du coaching, ainsi que du respect du code déontologique de la profession. Non seulement il est nécessaire de comprendre ces normes et valeurs, mais il est également nécessaire de les appliquer pour de bonnes pratiques professionnelles. De plus, le code déontologique est spécifique et constitue un aspect important des compétences en coaching, car il communique clairement les différences entre les domaines du coaching, du conseil, de la psychothérapie et des autres professions de support.


2. Établir l'entente de coaching

C’est la capacité de comprendre ce qui est requis dans chaque interaction concrète coach-coaché ​​et établir un accord avec le client sur le processus et la relation de coaching . Par conséquent, le coaching qui domine cette compétition comprend et présente efficacement au client les directives et les paramètres spécifiques de la relation de coaching (logistique, frais, calendrier, participation de tiers, etc.). Il permet également de parvenir à un accord sur ce qui est approprié ou non dans la relation, sur le service que l’entraîneur offrira et sur la méthode qui sera utilisée.

3. Établissez la confiance et l'intimité avec le client

C’est la capacité de créer un environnement favorable qui Contribuer au développement du respect et de la confiance mutuelle . Cette compétence se manifeste par le fait que le coach manifeste un intérêt sincère pour le client, fait constamment preuve d'intégrité professionnelle et personnelle, établit des accords clairs, respecte les opinions du client, soutient le client dans ses décisions et respecte à tout moment la vie privée du coaché. (client de l'entraîneur).


4. Etre présent dans le coaching

C’est la capacité d’être pleinement conscient et de créer une relation spontanée avec le client en utilisant un style Ouvert, flexible et sûr . Le coach utilise son intuition et fait confiance à ses connaissances intérieures, est capable de reconnaître qu'il ne sait pas tout et montre de la confiance lorsqu'il est confronté à des émotions fortes. Le coach dispose de la maîtrise de soi nécessaire pour guider le client sans être submergé.

5. écoute active

Le coach sait se concentrer entièrement sur ce que le client dit et ne comprend pas, et comprend le sens de ses mots dans son contexte. C’est l’une des compétences de l’entraîneur liée au compétences de communication , car l’écoute active accorde plus d’attention à ce que dit le client, mais aide également le coaché ​​à s’exprimer.

6. Question fortement

C’est l’une des compétences du coach le plus représentatif de son travail, car il doit accomplir questions puissantes , c’est-à-dire des questions qui révèlent les informations nécessaires pour obtenir le plus grand bénéfice pour le coaché. Ce type de questions fait réfléchir le coaché, c'est-à-dire qu'il favorise la connaissance de soi et la réflexion sur soi, et aide le client à s'engager dans l'action. En coaching, les questions socratiques sont utilisées.

7. Communication directe

C'est la capacité de communiquer efficacement lors des séances de coaching et la capacité d'utiliser un langage qui est positif et efficace dans la relation avec le coaché. L’entraîneur qui domine ce type de compétition effectue un rétroaction efficace Il est clair et direct, indique clairement les objectifs de la relation coach-coaché ​​et utilise un langage approprié et respectueux, favorisant ainsi d’excellentes relations.

8. Créer une prise de conscience

C’est la capacité d’intégrer et d’évaluer avec précision différentes sources d’information et de faire des interprétations qui aident le client à prendre conscience des objectifs convenus et à les atteindre. Le coach crée une prise de conscience de différentes manières, par exemple: proposer des réflexions à la recherche d'une meilleure compréhension de la part du coaché ​​ou d'aider le coaché ​​à identifier les croyances limitantes cela ne vous permet pas de grandir.

9. Actions de conception

Capacité à créer des opportunités d'apprentissage continu avec le client pendant le coaching et dans le travail et la vie en général. Ce concours fait référence au travail de l'entraîneur qui doit fournir au coaché ​​la connaissance de nouvelles actions qui mènent de la manière la plus efficace aux résultats convenus du coaching. De cette manière, le coach aide le coaché ​​à définir de nouvelles actions lui permettant de démontrer, d’approfondir et d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances. Il engage également le client à explorer de nouvelles idées et des situations alternatives, en promouvant des opportunités d'apprentissage par l'expérience.

10. Planifier et établir des buts et objectifs

C'est la capacité d'élaborer et de maintenir un plan de coaching efficace avec le coaché. Le coach consolide les informations collectées et établit un plan de coaching pour atteindre les objectifs. Les objectifs sont réalisables, mesurables, spécifiques et sont réalisés dans un temps donné . Le bon coach a la capacité de faire des ajustements à la planification et aide le client à accéder aux ressources nécessaires à l’acquisition et à la réalisation de ses objectifs.

11. Gérer le progrès et la responsabilité

La capacité de l’entraîneur à maintenir l’attention sur ce qui est important pour le client et à lui transférer la responsabilité de l’action. Pour cela, le coach soulève et demande au client des actions qui le dirigent vers le but souhaité et planifié, encourage l'autodiscipline du coaché, donne un retour efficace et confronte le client de manière positive lorsqu'il ne se conforme pas aux actions convenues.


Aldon Baker - A quoi sert un ENTRAINEUR pour les PILOTES de MOTOCROSS? (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes