yes, therapy helps!
Triglycerides: what they are and how they affect our health

Triglycerides: what they are and how they affect our health

September 7, 2022

Among the various substances that constantly travel through our blood are the lipids, molecules with very important functions for living organisms. The most common type of these molecules are triglycerides .

At adequate levels, the latter can keep our body in balance, but otherwise, triglycerides can cause serious health risks. For this reason they are one of the most medically controlled molecules.

In this article we will see what triglycerides are, what their function and risks are for the organism and how we can maintain their levels in balance.

  • Related article: "Types of fats (good and bad) and their functions"

What are triglycerides and what function do they have?

Triglycerides are the most common type of lipid in our bloodstream. As such, it is about sets of molecules composed mainly of carbon, hydrogen and oxygen . They are, likewise, molecules insoluble in water and found in different living beings, fulfilling different functions according to the specific type of lipid in question.


For example, lipids such as steroid hormones can be used to regulate the functioning of specific cells. Another type of lipid, which we know as structural function lipids, can be used to shape cell membranes. Likewise, the type of lipids that we know as triglycerides can serve to generate the reserves of energy necessary for our daily activity.

For absorption, transport and metabolism from the latter, organs such as the small intestine and the liver participate; anatomical structures such as the lymphatic system; and molecules such as lipoproteins.

How do we get them?

As with other nutrients, triglycerides reach our body through food and substances that we consume daily. The substances that most frequently give us triglycerides are butter and oils , although they are also generated from the consumption of calories that come from different foods.


According to its components, and the frequency or quantity in which they are consumed, some foods and substances favor the process of absorption of lipids. However, there are others that can hinder this process, causing its accumulation.

Specifically, when we consume calories that our body does not need immediately (additional calories), the latter are converted into triglycerides and are deposited in different cells and tissues. When it occurs moderately, this process has the objective of maintain our body with the necessary reserves of energy For the day to day.

That is, when we have an activity that requires high levels of energy, cells that contain triglycerides are released and travel to different tissues, to nourish them and keep them active. However, when triglycerides accumulate excessively and unnecessarily, they can cause serious health problems.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology and Nutrition: the importance of emotional feeding"

Normal level and high level

As we see, triglycerides have both a function and an important risk in our body. Your concentration levels they are measured by a test that also allows us to know cholesterol levels . In your case, triglycerides are measured in milligrams per deciliter (abbreviated as follows: mg / dL).

The triglyceride levels measured from Normal to Very High for the adult are as follows:

  • Normal: less than 150 mg / dL.
  • High limit: 150 to 199 mg / dL.
  • High: 200 to 499 mg / dL.
  • Very high: from 500 mg / dL.

These levels can be detected through an analysis that consists of extracting blood from the vein that is in the inner part of the elbow. The blood can also be extracted from the back of the hands. In any case, the test is done after 12 hours of fasting.

Consequences of high triglyceride levels

From a high limit of triglyceride concentration increase the risks of developing a heart disease and / or a metabolic syndrome ; which is when the same person presents the set of cardiovascular disease risk factors: central obesity, diabetes, high triglycerides and low lipoprotein levels and low density, and high blood pressure.

In addition, if triglyceride levels increase to 150 mg / dL or higher, these levels are considered hypertriglyceridemia. As the name implies, it is the very high concentration of triglycerides in the blood. The presence of hypertriglyceridemia indicates that the risk of developing coronary heart disease has increased, although it is also a risk factor for acute pancreatitis if it occurs at even higher levels (when it reaches 1000 mg / dL or more).

Likewise, hypertriglyceridemia has been associated with the development of arteriosclerosis; both by the levels of triglycerides and by the cholesterol content of the remaining lipoproteins (protein and lipid groups that carry fat through the body, and that being remnants, it is the lipoproteins converted into fatty acids and accumulated throughout of the day).

In this sense, although hypertriglyceridemia refers only to the increase of triglycerides, in some cases it may be related to hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol levels), which may indicate a high risk of suffering from different types of cardiovascular disease, as ischemic heart disease and myocardial infarction .

Causes and treatment of high triglycerides

The main cause of high triglyceride levels is the intake of more calories than we can burn. This amount is caused mainly by the excessive consumption of sugar and saturated fats. Likewise, some lifestyles, such as smoking or consuming alcohol frequently, are two risk factors for high triglyceride levels .

On the other hand, some medical conditions that can generate high triglycerides are the following:

  • Overweight and obesity .
  • Diseases of the thyroid.
  • Type 2 diabetes.
  • Kidney or liver diseases .
  • Genetic conditions, such as combined familial hyperlipidemia.
  • Alterations in the activity of lipoproteins (those that regulate the metabolism of lipids in the body).

In this sense, the prevention and treatment of high triglyceride levels consists of prevent lipids from accumulating in our blood and tissues , by preventing the risk factors mentioned above.

One of the most important treatments is to make changes in lifestyles. For example, it is essential to maintain control of our weight through regular physical activity combined with a balanced diet. Specifically, it is important to limit the consumption of added sugars, saturated fats, and flours or refined foods, as well as alcoholic beverages, since all this produces additional calories that are converted into triglycerides, and often accumulate excessively within our organism. Instead of saturated fats, easily absorbed fats derived from olive oil or fish can be used .

Likewise, and in the event that high levels of triglycerides require medical treatment for their reduction, it is common to prescribe drugs that are also used to treat cholesterol. Among these are nicotinic acid, fibrates and inhibitors of cholesterol absorption.

Bibliographic references:

  • MedlinePlus (2018). Triglycerides. MedlinePlus Retrieved August 20, 2018. Available at //medlineplus.gov/spanish/triglycerides.html.
  • Texas Heart Institute (2018). Metabolic syndrome. Texas Heart Institute. Retrieved August 20, 2018. Available at //www.texasheart.org/heart-health/heart-information-center/topics/sindrome-metabolico/.
  • González-Chávez-A., Simental-Mendía, L.E. and Elizondo-Argueta, S. (2011). Triglycerides / high HDL-cholesterol ratio and insulin resistance. Surgery and surgeons, 79: 126-131.
  • Nordestgaard, B., Benn, M., Schnohr, P., et al. (2007). Nonfasting triglycerides and risk of myocardial infarction, ischemic heart disease, and death in men and women. JAMA, 298 (3): 299-308.
  • Gan, Sl., Edwards, AL., Symonds, C.J., et al. (2006). Hypertriglyceridemia-induced pancreatitis: A case-based review. World, J. Gastroenterology, 12 (44): 7197-7202.

Understanding Triglycerides | Nucleus Health (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les triglycérides: ce qu'ils sont et comment ils affectent notre santé

Les triglycérides: ce qu'ils sont et comment ils affectent notre santé

Septembre 23, 2019

Parmi les différentes substances qui circulent constamment dans notre sang figurent les lipides, molécules ayant des fonctions très importantes pour les organismes vivants. Le type le plus commun de ces molécules sont les triglycérides .

À des niveaux adéquats, ces derniers peuvent maintenir notre corps en équilibre, mais sinon, les triglycérides peuvent entraîner des risques graves pour la santé. Pour cette raison, ils sont l’une des molécules les plus contrôlées sur le plan médical.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce que sont les triglycérides, leurs fonctions et leurs risques pour l'organisme, et comment nous pouvons maintenir leurs niveaux en équilibre.

  • Article connexe: "Types de graisses (bonnes et mauvaises) et leurs fonctions"

Que sont les triglycérides et quelle fonction ont-ils?

Les triglycérides sont le type de lipide le plus courant dans notre circulation sanguine. En tant que tel, il s'agit de ensembles de molécules composées principalement de carbone, d'hydrogène et d'oxygène . Ce sont également des molécules insolubles dans l'eau et présentes chez différents êtres vivants, remplissant différentes fonctions en fonction du type spécifique de lipide en question.


Par exemple, des lipides tels que des hormones stéroïdes peuvent être utilisés pour réguler le fonctionnement de cellules spécifiques. Un autre type de lipide, connu sous le nom de lipides à fonction structurelle, peut être utilisé pour former les membranes cellulaires. De même, le type de lipides que nous connaissons sous le nom de triglycérides peut servir à générer les réserves d'énergie nécessaires à notre activité quotidienne.

Pour absorption, transport et métabolisme de ce dernier, des organes tels que l'intestin grêle et le foie participent; structures anatomiques telles que le système lymphatique; et des molécules telles que les lipoprotéines.

Comment pouvons-nous les obtenir?

Comme les autres nutriments, les triglycérides atteignent notre corps par le biais des aliments et des substances que nous consommons quotidiennement. Les substances les plus fréquentes en triglycérides sont le beurre et les huiles. , bien qu’elles proviennent également de la consommation de calories provenant de différents aliments.


Selon ses composants et la fréquence ou la quantité à laquelle ils sont consommés, certains aliments et substances favorisent l'absorption des lipides. Cependant, il y en a d'autres qui peuvent entraver ce processus, provoquant son accumulation.

En particulier, lorsque nous consommons des calories dont notre corps n’a pas besoin immédiatement (calories supplémentaires), celles-ci sont converties en triglycérides et sont déposées dans des cellules et des tissus différents. Lorsqu'il se produit modérément, ce processus a pour objectif de maintenir notre corps avec les réserves d'énergie nécessaires pour au jour le jour.

C'est-à-dire que lorsque nous avons une activité qui nécessite des niveaux d'énergie élevés, des cellules contenant des triglycérides sont libérées et se propagent dans différents tissus, afin de les nourrir et de les maintenir actives. Toutefois, une accumulation excessive et inutile de triglycérides peut entraîner de graves problèmes de santé.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie et nutrition: l'importance de l'alimentation émotionnelle"

Niveau normal et niveau élevé

Comme nous le voyons, les triglycérides ont à la fois une fonction et un risque important pour notre corps. Vos niveaux de concentration ils sont mesurés par un test qui nous permet également de connaître le taux de cholestérol . Dans votre cas, les triglycérides sont mesurés en milligrammes par décilitre (abrégé comme suit: mg / dL).

Les taux de triglycérides mesurés de la normale à la très haute chez l'adulte sont les suivants:

  • Normal: moins de 150 mg / dL.
  • Limite haute: 150 à 199 mg / dL.
  • Élevé: 200 à 499 mg / dL.
  • Très élevé: à partir de 500 mg / dL.

Ces niveaux peuvent être détectés grâce à une analyse qui consiste à extraire le sang de la veine située dans la partie interne du coude. Le sang peut également être extrait du dos des mains. Dans tous les cas, le test est effectué après 12 heures de jeûne.

Conséquences des taux élevés de triglycérides

A partir d'une limite haute de concentration en triglycérides augmenter les risques de développer une maladie cardiaque et / ou un syndrome métabolique ; c'est à ce moment que la même personne présente l'ensemble des facteurs de risque de maladie cardiovasculaire: obésité centrale, diabète, taux de triglycérides élevés et taux de lipoprotéines faibles, faible densité et hypertension.

De plus, si les taux de triglycérides augmentent à 150 mg / dL ou plus, ils sont considérés comme une hypertriglycéridémie. Comme son nom l'indique, il s'agit de la très forte concentration de triglycérides dans le sang. La présence d'hypertriglycéridémie indique que le risque de développer une maladie coronarienne a augmenté, bien que ce soit également un facteur de risque de pancréatite aiguë si elle survient à des niveaux encore plus élevés (quand elle atteint 1 000 mg / dL ou plus).

De même, l'hypertriglycéridémie a été associée au développement de l'artériosclérose; à la fois par les taux de triglycérides et par la teneur en cholestérol des lipoprotéines restantes (protéines et groupes lipidiques qui transportent les graisses dans le corps, et qui sont des résidus, ce sont les lipoprotéines transformées en acides gras et accumulées tout au long de la vie. du jour).

En ce sens, bien que l'hypertriglycéridémie concerne uniquement l'augmentation des triglycérides, elle peut parfois être liée à l'hypercholestérolémie (taux de cholestérol élevé), pouvant indiquer un risque élevé de souffrir de différents types de maladies cardiovasculaires, cardiopathie ischémique et infarctus du myocarde .

Causes et traitement des triglycérides élevés

La principale cause des taux élevés de triglycérides est la consommation de plus de calories que nous ne pouvons en brûler. Cette quantité est principalement due à la consommation excessive de sucre et de graisses saturées. De même, certains modes de vie, comme le tabagisme ou la consommation fréquente d’alcool, sont deux facteurs de risque pour les niveaux élevés de triglycérides .

D'autre part, certaines conditions médicales pouvant générer des triglycérides sont les suivantes:

  • Surpoids et obésité .
  • Maladies de la thyroïde.
  • Diabète de type 2
  • Maladies rénales ou hépatiques .
  • Conditions génétiques, telles que l'hyperlipidémie familiale combinée.
  • Altérations de l'activité des lipoprotéines (celles qui régulent le métabolisme des lipides dans l'organisme).

En ce sens, la prévention et le traitement des niveaux élevés de triglycérides consistent en: empêcher les lipides de s'accumuler dans notre sang et nos tissus , en prévenant les facteurs de risque mentionnés ci-dessus.

L'un des traitements les plus importants consiste à modifier les modes de vie. Par exemple, il est essentiel de garder le contrôle de notre poids grâce à une activité physique régulière associée à une alimentation équilibrée. En particulier, il est important de limiter la consommation de sucres ajoutés, de graisses saturées, de farines ou d’aliments raffinés, ainsi que de boissons alcoolisées, car tout cela produit des calories supplémentaires qui sont converties en triglycérides et s’accumulent souvent excessivement dans notre organisme. organisme Au lieu de graisses saturées, on peut utiliser des graisses dérivées de l'huile d'olive ou du poisson facilement absorbées .

De même, et dans le cas où des taux élevés de triglycérides nécessiteraient un traitement médical pour les réduire, il est courant de prescrire des médicaments également utilisés pour traiter le cholestérol. Parmi ceux-ci figurent l'acide nicotinique, les fibrates et les inhibiteurs de l'absorption du cholestérol.

Références bibliographiques:

  • MedlinePlus (2018). Triglycérides. MedlinePlus Récupéré le 20 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //medlineplus.gov/spanish/triglycerides.html.
  • Texas Heart Institute (2018). Syndrome métabolique. Texas Heart Institute. Récupéré le 20 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.texasheart.org/heart-health/heart-information-center/topics/sindrome-metabolico/.
  • González-Chávez-A., Simental-Mendía, L.E. et Elizondo-Argueta, S. (2011). Triglycérides / HDL-cholestérol élevé et résistance à l'insuline. Chirurgie et chirurgiens, 79: 126-131.
  • Nordestgaard, B., Benn, M., Schnohr, P., et al. (2007). Triglycérides insuffisants et risque d'infarctus du myocarde, de cardiopathie ischémique et de décès chez les hommes et les femmes. JAMA, 298 (3): 299-308.
  • Gan, Sl., Edwards, AL., Symonds, C.J., et al. (2006). Pancréatite induite par l'hypertriglycéridémie: une revue basée sur des cas. World, J. Gastroenterology, 12 (44): 7197-7202.

Jettez un regard à vos pieds et voyez ce qu’ils vous disent sur votre santé (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes