yes, therapy helps!
Levomilnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug

Levomilnacipran: uses and side effects of this drug

August 17, 2022

Psychotropic drugs such as escitalopram, olanzapine or diazepam are relatively well known to the population, either by this name or by their different trademarks. These are different drugs that treat various disorders and alterations.

But even though these are some of the best known, they are not the only ones: new drugs have been continually being developed that combat the symptoms of different mental disorders. One of them, created and used in the treatment of depression, is the levomilnacipran .

  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

The levomilnacipran: type of substance

The levomilnacipran is a relatively recent antidepressant , being synthesized and approved its use in 2013. This substance is the enantiomer of milnacipran (something like the mirror image or the reflection in a mirror at the level of molecular organization, being easy to compare it with the differences between our left and right hands, which they have the same shape but different orientation), their molecules being rotated to the left.


This substance is a highly effective antidepressant that is part of the SNRIs or Specific Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline . It fights the typical symptoms of depression such as anhedonia and sad mood, but is characterized especially by producing a great improvement in motivation and cognitive symptoms.

Thus, it contributes to improve concentration and energy level, making the apathy and passivity typical of many subjects suffering from depressive disorders difficult. On the contrary that many other psychotropic drugs, does not seem to generate relevant alterations with respect to the weight of those who take it.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

Mechanism of action

As mentioned above, levomilnacipran is a specific inhibitor of the reuptake of serotonin and norepinephrine or SNRI. This implies that its main action at the neuronal level is as an agonist of serotonin and noradrenaline, increasing its levels by preventing these neurotransmitters from being reabsorbed by the neuron that emitted them and increasing the time they remain accessible in the synaptic space.


In addition, the mechanism of action of levomilnacipran has a remarkable feature: unlike most antidepressants, which focus on serotonin and may or may not affect secondarily or with less range to other neurotransmitters, levomilnacipran has a much greater effect on noradrenaline than on serotonin (approximately in a 2: 1 ratio, ie double). This action is what would generate an improvement at the level of energy, motivation, and capacity for concentration, making difficult the passivity that usually appears in depression.

  • Related article: "Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification"

In what cases is it used?

Levomilnacepran is an antidepressant whose main indication is the treatment of major depression , being in this disorder especially effective in reducing emotional and cognitive symptoms. It is especially useful for those cases in which there is dysfunction and decreased socialization and reluctance and demotivation.


At the moment other uses have not been approved, although it is admitted that it can be effective in other problems. For example, research on its efficacy in cases of social phobia and chronic fatigue, as well as some anxiety disorders, may be useful. In some cases it has been used in subjects with bipolar disorder improving the situation of the subjects in the depressive phase, although there is a risk of exacerbating manic phases (with what is not recommended in these cases or at least it requires more research to the rest).

However, despite the fact that the medicine from which it is derived, the milnacepran, is used in the treatment of fibromyalgia, the levomilnacepran does not have such indication.

Side effects

Although very useful in the treatment of depression, the consumption of levomilnacipran has a series of possible side effects undesirable.

Generally, these side effects usually include nausea, vomiting, sweating, headache, tachycardia or irritability. Urinary problems such as difficulties with urination, typical symptoms of the common cold and sometimes (although not usual) erectile dysfunction or difficulties in ejaculation are also common. Hyper or hypotension, visual disturbances or weakness, insomnia and testicular pain may also appear.

In a much more serious way, One of the most relevant secondary symptoms is the possible appearance or increase of suicidal ideation , especially in the first moments and if it is a first use of antidepressants.

Hallucinations and seizures may also appear. Finally, although it occurs rarely and generally due to an interaction of this drug with other antidepressants or medications, one of the most serious risks is the possible appearance of a serotonin syndrome.

This syndrome is a serious condition in which fever, convulsions, alterations of consciousness that can lead to coma and even death can occur, making it especially important to monitor the dosage of the drug.

Contraindications

Levomilnacipran is a useful medicine, but for some people it could be a risk, which is why in some cases it is contraindicated.

They must take special care and ask if they can take it or not those people who present heart disease, hypertension, glaucoma, liver or kidney disease , urinary problems such as obstructions, seizures, hemophilia or coagulation problems or low levels of sodium in the body.

The consumption of levomilnacipran should be avoided if you suffer from allergy to this medication or if you are taking another antidepressant substance, especially in the case of MAOID antidepressants , due to the risk of serotonin syndrome. In the same way it should not be mixed with alcohol or other drugs. We must also take special care to avoid introducing methylene blue, a dye used in some medical tests and as an antiseptic in surgeries.

People with a history of suicide attempts should also not use this medication, as suicidal ideation may worsen. Regarding pregnant and lactating women , also have this medicine contraindicated. The use of this drug in patients with other mental disorders, such as bipolar disorder, should be discussed with the doctor.

Bibliographic references:

  • Asnis, G.M. & Henderson, M.A. (2015). Levomilnacipran for the treatment of major depressive disorder: a review. Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment, 11: 125-135.
  • Deardorff, W.J. & Grossberg, G.T. (2014). A review of the clinical efficacy, safety and tolerability of the antidepressants vilazodone, levomilnacipran and vortioxetine. Expert Opin. Pharmacother .; 15 (17): 2525-2542.

All About Serotonin & Norepinephrine Reuptake Inhibitors SNRIs Psychiatrist Robert D McMullen, MD (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Levomilnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Levomilnacipran: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Août 11, 2020

Les médicaments psychotropes tels que l'escitalopram, l'olanzapine ou le diazépam sont relativement bien connus de la population, soit sous ce nom, soit sous leurs différentes marques. Ce sont différents médicaments qui traitent divers troubles et altérations.

Mais même s’ils sont parmi les plus connus, ils ne sont pas les seuls: de nouveaux médicaments ont été mis au point pour combattre les symptômes de différents troubles mentaux. L’un d’eux, créé et utilisé dans le traitement de la dépression, est le levomilnacipran .

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Le levomilnacipran: type de substance

Le levomilnacipran est un antidépresseur relativement récent , en cours de synthèse et d’approbation de son utilisation en 2013. Cette substance est l’énantiomère du milnacipran (quelque chose comme l’image miroir ou le reflet dans un miroir au niveau de l’organisation moléculaire, il est facile de le comparer aux différences entre nos mains gauche et droite, qui elles ont la même forme mais une orientation différente), leurs molécules étant tournées vers la gauche.


Cette substance est un antidépresseur très efficace qui fait partie des IRSN ou inhibiteurs spécifiques de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline . Il combat les symptômes typiques de la dépression tels que l'anhédonie et l'humeur triste, mais il se caractérise notamment par une nette amélioration de la motivation et des symptômes cognitifs.

Ainsi, il contribue à améliorer la concentration et le niveau d'énergie, rendant difficile l'apathie et la passivité typiques de nombreux sujets souffrant de troubles dépressifs. Bien au contraire, de nombreux autres médicaments psychotropes ne semblent pas générer de modifications importantes en ce qui concerne le poids de ceux qui en prennent.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Mécanisme d'action

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le lévomilnacipran est un inhibiteur spécifique de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline ou IRSN. Cela implique que son action principale au niveau neuronal consiste à agir comme agoniste de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline, en augmentant ses niveaux en empêchant ces neurotransmetteurs d'être résorbés par le neurone qui les a émis et en augmentant le temps pendant lequel ils restent accessibles dans l'espace synaptique.


En outre, le mécanisme d’action du lévomilnacipran présente une caractéristique remarquable: contrairement à la plupart des antidépresseurs, qui se concentrent sur la sérotonine et qui peuvent ou non avoir une incidence secondaire ou moins importante sur d’autres neurotransmetteurs, le lévomilnacipran a un effet beaucoup plus important sur la noradrénaline que sur la sérotonine (approximativement dans un rapport 2: 1, c’est-à-dire double). Cette action est ce qui générerait une amélioration au niveau de l'énergie, de la motivation et de la capacité de concentration, rendant difficile la passivité qui apparaît habituellement dans la dépression.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification"

Dans quels cas est-il utilisé?

Levomilnacepran est un antidépresseur dont l'indication principale est le traitement de la dépression majeure , étant dans ce trouble particulièrement efficace pour réduire les symptômes émotionnels et cognitifs. Il est particulièrement utile dans les cas de dysfonctionnement, de socialisation réduite, de réticence et de démotivation.


À l'heure actuelle, d'autres utilisations n'ont pas été approuvées, bien qu'il soit admis que cela peut être efficace dans d'autres problèmes. Par exemple, des recherches sur son efficacité dans les cas de phobie sociale et de fatigue chronique, ainsi que dans certains troubles anxieux, peuvent être utiles. Dans certains cas, il a été utilisé chez des sujets présentant un trouble bipolaire améliorant la situation des sujets en phase dépressive, bien que il y a un risque d'exacerber les phases maniaques (avec ce qui n'est pas recommandé dans ces cas ou du moins cela nécessite plus de recherche pour le reste).

Cependant, malgré le fait que le médicament dont il est dérivé, le milnacepran, soit utilisé dans le traitement de la fibromyalgie, le lévomilnacepran n’a pas cette indication.

Effets secondaires

Bien que très utile dans le traitement de la dépression, la consommation de lévomilnacipran a une série d'effets secondaires possibles indésirable.

Généralement, ces effets secondaires comprennent habituellement des nausées, des vomissements, de la transpiration, des maux de tête, une tachycardie ou irritabilité. Des problèmes urinaires tels que des difficultés à uriner, des symptômes typiques du rhume et parfois un dysfonctionnement érectile (bien que cela ne soit pas habituel) ou des difficultés d'éjaculation sont également fréquents. Une hyper ou hypotension, des troubles visuels ou une faiblesse, une insomnie et des douleurs testiculaires peuvent également apparaître.

D'une manière beaucoup plus sérieuse, L’apparition possible ou l’augmentation des idées suicidaires est l’un des symptômes secondaires les plus importants. , surtout dans les premiers instants et s’il s’agit d’une première utilisation d’antidépresseurs.

Des hallucinations et des convulsions peuvent également apparaître. Enfin, bien qu’il soit rare et généralement dû à une interaction de ce médicament avec d’autres antidépresseurs ou médicaments, l’un des risques les plus graves est l’apparition possible d’un syndrome sérotoninergique.

Ce syndrome est une maladie grave dans laquelle de la fièvre, des convulsions, des altérations de la conscience pouvant conduire au coma et même à la mort peuvent survenir, d'où l'importance de surveiller la posologie du médicament.

Contre-indications

Le lévomilnacipran est un médicament utile, mais il peut constituer un risque pour certaines personnes, raison pour laquelle il est parfois contre-indiqué.

Ils doivent prendre des précautions particulières et demander s'ils peuvent le faire ou non aux personnes qui présentent maladie cardiaque, hypertension, glaucome, maladie du foie ou des reins , des problèmes urinaires tels que des obstructions, des convulsions, une hémophilie ou des problèmes de coagulation ou de faibles taux de sodium dans le corps.

La consommation de lévomilnacipran doit être évitée si vous êtes allergique à ce médicament ou si vous prenez un autre antidépresseur. en particulier dans le cas des antidépresseurs MAOID , en raison du risque de syndrome sérotoninergique. De la même manière, il ne devrait pas être mélangé avec de l'alcool ou d'autres drogues. Nous devons également veiller à ne pas introduire de bleu de méthylène, un colorant utilisé dans certains tests médicaux et comme antiseptique lors de chirurgies.

Les personnes qui ont des antécédents de tentatives de suicide ne devraient pas non plus utiliser ce médicament, car les idées suicidaires peuvent s'aggraver. En ce qui concerne les femmes enceintes et allaitantes , ont également ce médicament contre-indiqué. L'utilisation de ce médicament chez les patients présentant d'autres troubles mentaux, tels que le trouble bipolaire, doit être discutée avec le médecin.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Asnis, G.M. & Henderson, M.A. (2015). Levomilnacipran pour le traitement du désordre dépressif majeur: une revue. Neuropsychiatric Disease and Treatment, 11: 125-135.
  • Deardorff, W.J. & Grossberg, G.T. (2014). Examen de l’efficacité clinique, de la sécurité et de la tolérabilité des antidépresseurs vilazodone, lévomilnacipran et vortioxétine. Expert Opin. Pharmacother. 15 (17): 2525-2542.

Levomilnacipran (Fetzima) Brief Overview (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes